Careers that don't need much math/coding skills

bubbles

Limp Gawd
This is slightly long winded but if you have 3 mins to spare I would really appreciate if you throw some opinions my way...:)

I recently became unemployed. I am really starting to feel down and depressed. I have no college or certs but I have about 8 years experience with random IT stuff. I've been racking my brain over what to do with myself career wise. I'm debt free and have about $100k in assets which I can make available for an education. Everyone says get a 4 year Bachelor's degree.

Truthfully I hate acedemic work and I absolutely HATE programming and math. I dropped out of a CS degree when I was 18. Now I'm 26. I have a wife and kid to support now. I never wanted to get "locked" into an IT career so I never got any certs and just loafed around. I would actually like to do Physical Therapy or someting outdoors or hand-ons but it's very competetive to get into PT school. They only have 70 slots a year in my State. Plus after 7 years of school you only make around $60k. As you can tell I'm not the most ambitious guy.

I'm thinking the network/server side of things may be good for me such as a UNIX admin. I'm not sure exactly what they do however. I'm already very familiar with Linux as a hobby. I'd like a job that's pretty easy and laid back, essentially just monitoring a network, troubleshooting, editing config files, making things effecient. Programming wise: minor bash scripting at the most.

Anyway what's a good route to get into that kind of job. I'd be satisfied with 40-50k a year out here in the midwest as long as I have low-stress and free time.

Any guidance appreciated.

A Helpdesk or intro-level NOC Tech might fit your level of ambition, but still allow for a possible upward path. Especially if you are willing to work odd-hours (late shift, etc).