Building a server case

Cmoney90

Weaksauce
Im building a server case for a friend of mines small business. This server will be running windows server 2008 and windows dynamic CRM. There will only be a maximum of 5 computers logged onto this server at a time. The budget is between $500-$1000. I know thats a big margin but i would like to see something inbetween those numbers. This is my first time ever building a server so Im not really sure what to go for.

Before spending much time on this...make sure you have their approval to at least multiply that budget by a minimum of 4.

Dynamics CRM wants Exchange Server and SQL Server. Microsoft Small Business Server will be a good fit for that. Exchange and SQL need some nut to run on...so you'll want to start with a Xeon for 5 users, a single quad core will suffice.

You'll want a pair of drives, RAID 1, for the OS, and 3 or 4 drives in RAID 5 or RAID 10 for the data and mailstore. I'd recommend SAS drives, but if they will be tolerant of slower speeds...some SATA drives will sorta do...OK. Don't go cheap and just do a big RAID 1 for SBS...you and your clients will regret it.

8 gigs of RAM

APC battery backup
Proper server grade antivirus
E-Mail filtering
Backup hardware and software
SSL certificate for exchange and remote access.

Might want to do all a favor and snag an SMB grade Dell server with OEM software installed to save on costs. ;)

I'd buy the cheapest hardware possible and then overload it...no don't.

This is something by the sounds of it you need to take back to the drawing board.

You will spend your budget just on disks.

Wait, crm, you can get an act work group version which should come with its own sql lite install. For 5 users I would say look into this, I have not used it.

You mention nothing about mail, files, etc?

Thank you for the advice guys. Ive been looking at some of the dell servers now. What would be some of the benefits of going with SBS over windows server 2008?

Interesting. . . . .