beginners Home Audio setup?

polonyc2

Fully [H]
don't know if this is the right section but I'm new to the Home Audio game as I've always been mainly concerned with video quality while leaving the audio to my TV speakers...it always sounded fine to me but I now want to listen to Audio the way it was meant to be heard...I currently have a 50" Samsung DLP (I'm also most likely going to upgrade soon to the Panasonic 58" VT25 series) along with the Panasonic DMP-BD60 Blu-ray player...currently have the TV connected to the Blu-ray player and my Tivo box via HDMI

I'm in the market for a quality home Audio system but because I live in an apartment in Manhattan I can't go all out and purchase a killer 5.1 or 7.1 system (too loud for my space)...but at the same time I want to have better sound then what is coming from my TV speakers...I know HTIB and soundbars aren't the best options but is that my only option at this point?...I would even be willing to buy a high quality 2.0 system as a starting point and upgrade in the future

but I'm a total Audio newb and have no idea what I need to look for...I have done a lot of reading online but am still uncertain on things...I believe uncompressed PCM and/or Dolby TrueHD and DTS-HD is what I need but I have no idea which parts to purchase that will give me the best sound quality and connection options now and in the future...does the receiver have to decode or can my Blu-ray player do it?...how many HDMI inputs are needed etc

can anyone recommend a beginners Home Audio setup...I really have no budget, either a separate speaker/receiver combo or even a HTIB or soundbar (although cheaper is always better) but I do want to get a noticable upgrade in audio quality...I watch a lot of Blu-ray's and also HD channels using my Tivo box...I purchased a ZVOX 325 system a few months back and honestly was not that impressed and returned it

any help would be appreciated...Thanks