Barebones vs others

ahmadmz

Weaksauce
Hi, i want to buy a 15.4" or 17" widescreen laptop for gaming etc. My budget is $1200. I was thinking about dell e1505 but i read about barebones, buying ur components seperately and making it urself, its cheaper etc. This is gonna be my first laptop and i have no knowledge about these things.. Are barebones better ? or should i get something like a Dell? And which is usually cheaper ? Any recommendations for the best laptop (build quality, screen, specs) thats under $1200?? Thanks :)

ahmadmz said:
Hi, i want to buy a 15.4" or 17" widescreen laptop for gaming etc. My budget is $1200. I was thinking about dell e1505 but i read about barebones, buying ur components seperately and making it urself, its cheaper etc. This is gonna be my first laptop and i have no knowledge about these things.. Are barebones better ? or should i get something like a Dell? And which is usually cheaper ? Any recommendations for the best laptop (build quality, screen, specs) thats under $1200?? Thanks :)
It's going to be hard to get a 17 inch laptop for under $1200 + shipping.

You could try configuring an e1705 on dells website and use this coupon:

Use code 8JVC1R9N6V8VC9 to save 20% off $999.00+ on this Dell Inspiron notebook. (valid 11/30/2006 - 12/7/2006 7:00:00 AM)
I was able to configure one by only upgrading to a 1.6ghz core 2 duo and a nvidia 7900gs (everything else at stock) which should be pretty darn good for gaming at a price of $1280 (included tax and shipping).

You could also try looking at the dell outlet, look for some e1705's with the nvidia 7900gs for around $1000-1100.

As for barebones laptops, check out this review from hardocp