Authenticate Linux (Fedora C3) against AD

Relli

Weaksauce
I want to authenticate Fedora user accounts against active directory accounts, and eventually Samba accounts as well, but first things first. I've done a lot of reading and think I could do it if I was an administrator of the domain controller, but alas, I'm not. The DC's do not have Services for Unix installed, which is the problem I'm running into. The admin's will not install it either. I do have sufficient rights to create machine accounts and join machines to the domain though. I have a Windows Server 2003 machine that is not a DC, but is a member of the domain, that I could install Services for Unix on if that would help.

Basically, is there anyway to authenticate linux user accounts to AD without having Services for Unix installed?

or

authenticate linux user accounts to a Win2003 (non-DC) that authenticates to AD:
FedoraC3-->Win2003-->AD-->Win2003-->FedoraC3?

I hope that is clear enough. Any help you could provide would be appreciated.?.?

Don't think there is anyway you can do with without modifying the AD servers.

I don't know much about this I have just started looking into things, but I would check out using pam_winbind / samba to work as a go between for authentication between your FC boxes and the AD servers...

Kerberos 5 realms can be interoperable with AD's Kerbros 5 implementation. Its akin to having two domains that trust each other, albeit a bit more complicated.

Winbind is what you are looking for. It's been a while, so I may have some of this goofed up, but the general principles are the same:

Join the sambe server to the AD DC. Unfortunately, this is just like joining any other computer to the domain, in that you will need to have that privledge.

Tell linux to look to winbind for user/group records ( nsswitch? I think )

profit!