Starcraft 2 Performance - i7-4770k

Milena

Limp Gawd
I picked up SC2 a few weeks ago and finished the WoL campaign, great game I enjoy it a lot.

The last couple days I started playing around with custom games and let 4 A.I.'s fight each other with me in spectator mode to watch the battle. I noticed when they run into each other and start a heavy fight i'm getting massive framedrops, the game is going down from a solid 60 FPS to 30-35 sometimes, CPU load is at 90-95% on one core at that time.

Is the game really so CPU bound that even my 4770k at 4.4Ghz can't hold 60 FPS during heavy battles? I didn't have these issues when playing through the campaign so maybe its the A.I. calculations?

Yes! The game engine is so old that it only runs on one core. Really pathetic since Blizzard makes such a tremendous amount of money each year. The person that can take a single core game like SC2 and make it run across multiple cores without having to reprogram said game will be a millionaire.

as cage said, its not your fault its the game.
i believe it also has to do with blizzard not wanting people with better pcs to have an advantage against others.
for instance, when one person lags everyone lags.

as cage said, its not your fault its the game.
i believe it also has to do with blizzard not wanting people with better pcs to have an advantage against others.
for instance, when one person lags everyone lags.

That's just how P2P works and it has nothing to do with performance.

SC2 is not a single core game, or at least it does not play like that. On my I2600k it uses anywhere between 2-3 core's when it is at full use and I never hit that 90% on a single core situation.

Thanks for the replies everyone. I guess its just the game engine then, I see 2 cores being used but only one is at very high load during the framedrops.

Maybe for Legacy of the Void Blizzard will update their engine a bit. In the meanwhile i'm trying to get good at this game.