Moving Windows 7 to an SSD from HD - how to ensure alignment...

Joe Average

Ad Blocker - Banned
Ok, I've got a client coming tomorrow that's dropping off one of his entirely too many laptops and a brand spankin' new Corsair 128GB SSD (I don't know which one, unfortunately, until he shows up). He wants the current Windows 7 installation on a 160GB drive (he's not even using 25% of that one so...) moved to the SSD and checked for everything top to bottom.

Now, I've been doing disk clones for oh, what, 2 decades or so, but to be honest this will be the first time a client has brought me a current install where I'm "upgrading" to the SSD - I recently had someone with a MacBook Pro do the same thing but I was able to do a fresh clean install of Snow Leopard as well as Windows 7 so I know it was aligned properly from the gitgo.

That's not the case here, so I'm curious if anyone has advice, suggestions, or knows of a tool (if one exists) that will help to properly align the Windows 7 installation once it's cloned over to the SSD. I'm guessing it can't be that difficult to do but, before I go toying around with this guy's stuff, I figure I'd ask the more experienced folk about this particular situation.

As stated, this is not a clean install which would align the drive, it's just a cloning operation from hard drive to SSD, and I would obviously wish for the SSD alignment to be correct when everything is all said and done.

Would have asked earlier but I literally got off the phone a short time ago, did some research here and online in general and just couldn't find any decent information, hence me asking.

Thanks for any responses...

I thought you were fluent in free disk imaging tools, Joe? ^-^
Better not mention the word 'alignment' when talking about SSDs, it means a totally different thing (XP & 4 KB sectors.)