Thoughts on coding bootcamps and such

Aaron11

[H]ard|Gawd
I'm sorry if this has been asked here before, but I'm curious to know what your guys' thoughts are on these 9-12 week coding bootcamps that seem to be popping up. I'm not considering one of these, I'm actually a first year CPE student. I just thought it was interesting that people go to these bootcamps and seemingly end up with a software engineering job after attending.

I don't think most of them are worth their extreme price. If you want to spend 9-12 weeks learning software development for 40 hours a week, get an internship or a coop and get paid while you do it. In most cases, you can make enough money to offset some of the price of attending a university.

One of my employers actually does a 'bootcamp' style employee training program. The difference that makes this worth it is A.) They pay you well while you're doing the learning, and B.) The 'bootcamp' is really the first few weeks of your 'job', so once you're done you go on to working for us full time.