Need some advice on DAS and HBA cards

MrCrispy

2[H]4U
I want to use a SuperMicro 24 bay chassis as a DAS. It will be used with a server on which I want to use unRaid. The specs are as follows -

SuperMicro:
846E16-R1200B chassis
BPN-SAS2-846EL1 backplane
it also came with a LSI 9223-8i card

server:
HP Elitedesk 800 G4 SFF

I'm new to these things. I did some research and have a few questions -
  1. the HBA goes in the HP, and then connects to the 8087 port on the backplane. since its a SAS expander one port/cable can control all 24 drives?
  2. with the 9223-8i, there are no external ports, so I'd need an adapter which converts it to external 8088 like this - PCI adapter 8087-8088, and then a 8088 cable between the 2 machines?
  3. the other option is to buy an HBA card that has external ports. There are lots of LSI cards. e.g. 9207-8e, 9207-414e, 9205-4i4e. The newer HBA cards are going to be more expensive and support more expansion and higher speeds I guess, but are they needed for using regular SATA hdd's? Which one do you recommend?
  4. also do these cards need active cooling?
whats the best route here?

As an Amazon Associate, HardForum may earn from qualifying purchases.
1. Yes. If the expander has additional input ports, more bandwidth can be realized by using 2 cables.
2. Yes.
3. You're fine with the card you have and the internal-external adapter. You'll be more bottlenecked by 24 drives into a 4 (or 8 with 2 cables) drive port. There's not a substantial difference between 9200 series cards, buying a 4e or 8e card would only be visually cleaner.
4. If you are going to have heavy constant use, a 40mm fan is recommended, but for everything else, just make sure there is airflow from the case going over the heatsink.

1. Yes. If the expander has additional input ports, more bandwidth can be realized by using 2 cables.
2. Yes.