Need a recommendation for a GPU

reimann3

Limp Gawd
my budget is no more than $250. I won't be doing SLI. I'm leaning towards the 560ti. The question is which incarnation. I might be will to pay the extra for the 2gb model from MSI or EGVA if its worth it. I won't be doing sli. I only play starcraft II and I hope to do it at 1920x1080.

It'll be going in a system configured as follows:

-Asus P8Z68-V deluxe mobo
-i7-2600K
-8gb Gskill ripjaw ram
-850w Corsair Enthusiast PSU
-Factal design Midi Black case
-2x60 sata III SSDs in a striped raid configuration
-Asus 24' 1920x1080 monitor

I decided against i7-990X because I can get a whole more for my money and do nearly as much with a Sandy Bridge.I planned on running stock speeds until I can get a Corsair H100. I will be overclocking just not immediately. Which ssd I get will be determined by how much I decide to spend on the GPU. I'm only going to run one GPU. I've been fixing and upgrading older machines for several years but his will be my first foray into dealing with cutting edge hardware.

i5 2500K is the best choice for games, the i7 2600K is a more powerful CPU, but only in the computing world, in games you'll never notice the difference. At 1920x1080, a 1GB GTX560Ti will suffice unless you play current high-end titles like Dragon Age 2 and Battlefield 3, in which case get a 2GB version.

I transcode video hence the i7. Is one brand of card better than the others?

Fair enough, then yes the i7 2600K will pay off handsomely :)
Some brands are better than others but it does vary, people generally tend to have good experiences with EVGA lately, so you're probably best off going with them.

The GTX560Ti can be had for $200-$210 after MIR. The XFX HD6870 is noisy as hell but very cheap for 75% of the price of the 560Ti yet 90%+ of the performance. Even the better dual-fan model's only $177, so 85% of the price, for 90%+ performance.