M Knight Shamalan's n00b WC thread (with a twist!)

jarhead

Gawd
Ok, so i've looked around in this forum and found a ton of great threads helping WC n00bs like myself out. I have learned a ton actually, but I have just a few more questions.

First and foremost, the rad placement idea for this build was come up with entirely by arnemetisover in SFF forum. see his post for a graphical guide. secondly, price, is not really an issue here. im a contractor in iraq, so i get paid a lot more than i should. thirdly, this whole case and setup will be (drained) and tossed into a suitcase or a pelican case or something for transport once every 3 months or so. perhaps more. ideally, it will be carryon, but we will see what final dimensions are after this. yes, i know it will be heavy as hell, even drained, but i was in the infantry for 6 years, so i can hack it.

Basically, I want to watercool this case. Thanks to arnemetis, i know that, with some cutting, i can fit 2x 240mm radiators on top of the case cover. however, due to clearance issues, if i were to install 38mm fans they would be pushing air directly into the bottom of what would have been the 5.25" bay with a whole 4mm or so of clearance. im no expert, but im pretty sure thats far from ideal.

So based on what I've learned, most 25mm fans running at something approaching quiet (a fan controller is likely not an option here) really lack the ability to push a good amount of air through rads with really dense FPI. this has led me to look at the thermochill series (though the thickness of them gives me pause, since they will be mounted on the outside of the case) or perhaps the new SR1 series from HW.

So my questions are threefold.

Which blocks, which rads, which pumps?

I plan on cooling an i7 960 mounted on a rampage II gene, with a 5970. yes, i know its overkill and i could save a ton of money going with a 920, 5870, etc. but, im an asshole and i like to overbuild my systems.