Looking for some advice - will more RAM help?

ParkyRFC

n00b
My desktop PC is getting on a bit and it's starting to slow down, particularly when I have a lot of tabs open which I need for work. I have two extra slots I can install more RAM into, would that speed it up? Or should I start looking for a new PC? Ideally, I would like to keep it going for a bit longer.

I'm not really tech savvy so if you think some extra RAM would work I'd appreciate some recommendations. My spec is in the images below. If any more info is needed let me know. Thanks.

Spec 1.jpg

Spec 2.jpg

Spec 3.jpg

Spec 4.jpg

What does task manager look like when it's going slow? If you're actually low on memory, more will help, but 16GB isn't too bad, and you're rocking a 10 year old CPU. Security updates aren't kind to Ivy Bridge.

I'm not sure it DDR3 has been out of mainstream long enough for prices to creep back up, too?

You should not invest more money into that machine. You got every penny's worth of PC out of that rig and you should be proud that your machine has served you well all these years.

But there are like, ARM-based mini PCs for under $200 that would outperform that machine today.

I agree with others, it would probably help, but it's a machine not worth investing into. Sandy Bridge was from all the way back in 2010 (actually may 09?). Your Ivy Bridge machine predates that.

The problem is sourcing DDR3 will cost you more money than its worth for performance gains that will be minimal. It's very likely that you'd only spend slightly more to buy an entirely new machine. Either through looking for sales (on a prebuilt) or buying someone's older fully built machine.

I agree with others, it would probably help, but it's a machine not worth investing into. Sandy Bridge was from all the way back in 2010 (actually may 09?). Your Ivy Bridge machine predates that.