I'm dumb with scripting....

Clockworks

Supreme [H]ardness
I'm trying to create a number of mapped drives for our company's users. Being a total newbie to this, I decided to keep it as simple as possible with a batch file. Here's the code:
Code:
@echo off
net use H: /delete
MD \\ruffles\rnfile\Users\%USERNAME%
net use H: \\ruffles\rnfile\Users\%USERNAME%

net use I: /delete
net use I: \\ruffles\rnfile\Working 

net use J: /delete
net use J: \\ruffles\rnfile\Reference

net use K: /delete
net use K: \\ruffles\rnfile\Music

net use L: /delete
net use L: \\ruffles\rnfile\Software 

net use M: /delete
net use M: \\ruffles\rnfile

net use N: /delete

net use O: /delete

When users log into their machines, it takes 10 minutes from password input to getting a desktop (only a black screen in the middle). When I log into their machines, I get it right away. This seems to only be happening in our Windows 7 machines. Event log produces this error:
The winlogon notification subscriber <GPClient> is taking a long time to handle notification even (startshell). - Error 6005

The winlogon notification subscriber <GPClient> was unavailable to handle a notification event. - Error 6006

Booting into safe mode works though....

Last edited:

why are you doing that? the folders aren't made on the server yet? remove that line and see if it works better

also try run as administrator and see if it works?

i think you are better off doing this in Group Policy, what kind of server? If it is Server 08 they have the folder in GPO

If you don't want to go the Group Policy route try kixtart. I've been using that for a few years now and has been working well for alot of things such as mapped drives based on AD Security and so on

instead of using a login script, use group policy preferences. Since your script has no logic it can be done in preferences very easily.

what perms do the users have, both NTFS and share perms, on the USERS folder?