A new meaning for "dead pixel"?

Gibbage

Limp Gawd
OK. This is a first for me. Been a PC tech for over 10 years, so I am not new at this :D

So I got my nice Dell FPW2005, and its FLAWLESS! Yay! No dead pixels. So I have been working with it for about 2 months now, no problem. Today, I noticed something..... Odd. Something.... Moving. I look close, and it looks like a dead pixel! Not black, just dark.... Then IT MOVED!! I try to brush it away from the screen, but nothing. I look VERY close, and its not on the surface of the monitor!!!

From the randomness of the movement, it can only be a bug. An Insect. A very SMALL one. Less then 1 pixel since it does not darken the complete pixel as it moves. It traveled from lower right, to lower left, and then up the left side till it reached the center and just STOPPED!

For some time, I was rooting the little bugger on. Hoping he would find his way OFF my damn screen. But no, he has stopped and has not moved for about 1 hour.... I fear he may be dead, and STUCK there!!!! UGH! On one of the RARE perfect Dell FPW2005's a BUG crawls in and SCREWS me.

The only thing I can guess at is that he is between the backlight and the LCD panel itself. So now I have a little dark spot. Is there anyone that can suggest what I can do about this? I doubt Dell would be helpful. Thanks in advance!

dellbug.jpg

Can you push it around? There is still a chance that it is an electronic defect. If you cant push it, call dell, they have a zero dead pixel policy and will replace it.

Maybe if you had shut your monitor off it wouldn't have killed him:)

dariob said:
Can you push it around? There is still a chance that it is an electronic defect. If you cant push it, call dell, they have a zero dead pixel policy and will replace it.