Zalman Cooler for P67A-UD7 in an Antec Sonata I or II case

LittleTinyScooby

Limp Gawd
Hey everyone.

I'm new to using 3rd party coolers, but not new to custom builds and was looking for some advice.

I'm putting together a new build and unlike my usual tradition of using stock heat sinks, I was thinking of purchasing my first Zalman copper cooler.

Since I have an Antec Sonata and Sonata II, some of the quietest cases in existance, I'm looking for a Zalman that is quiet. I also hate high pitched noises, so it cant have that either.

I'm going by ratings and can't decide between the Zalman 9500A-LED 92 mm, CNP29700 LED, CNpS9500, and the CNP29900ALED.

These are all Neweggs top rated coolers.

The system I'm putting together is based on the Gigabyte GA-P67A-UD7 (B3 stepping) LGA-1155 motherboard and using the Intel i7-2600K processor. The memory is going to be 4 sticks of 4GB modules (F3-12800CL9D-8GBRL). This set is QVL approved for this board. Also waiting on the Vertex 3 120GB SSD that will be out later in the month.

Since this combo will be used in either an Antec Sonata I or II, size matters, as these cases are rather small in my opinion, but I like them because they are so quiet and they look sleek. (piano black).

I'm not planning on overclocking this chip, but it could become a possibility in the future and that is one of the reasons I want to go with a Zalman, but also, just to keep the temp down better than a stock cooler as it will be under constant heavy load hours at a time. (6 hours or greater).

Another thing I am trying to avoid, and maybe I'm not looking at this correctly, but in the past, as of late, it seems like when I use stock coolers and working with the spring tension of installing the heatsink, etc., it seems like its very easy to almost bend the motherboard due to the nature of stock heatsinks (most recent was a Q6600).