Z68 mobo Core i7 2700k no post!

Poweraid

n00b
I'm really at an absolutely loss here and could use some advice. I'm an experienced builder, no exaggeration at least 100 complete desktops i've built in the last 15 years so I like to think I know what I'm doing, but here goes :p

Asus P8Z68-V motherboard (1155 / z68)
Core i7-2700k (also tried a brand new Core i3-2100 since the asus website says it works with the virgin BIOS ver)
16GB Corsair Vengeance 1600 1.5v
Zotac GTX560 ti (although I left this disconnected since it has integrated graphics, tried it anyway just for kicks)
900W Antec PSU

Okay, I always start my builds with the bare essentials... motherboard, cpu, ram, power supply. I didn't install the vid card (except later for troubleshooting) since the mobo utilizes the on-die HD graphics and has a vga/dvi/hdmi port. System powers on for a few seconds, then shuts off and does this repeatedly. Things I've done so far, none of which provided any results besides what I just described...

- verified this model RAM is on the supported RAM list for this model mobo
- verified the RAM is functional using my other desktop
- tried individual sticks of ram, one at a time, in each of the 4 slots
- grabbed my ddr3 4GB module from my other desktop which 100% works and is also on the supported ram list. tried it in all 4 slots, no change
- reset cmos (many times)
- tried a known good 700w psu
- tried with my known good video card
- reseated CPU, verified no bent pins on the socket and no debris (several times)
- tried every possible combination of disabling/enabling TPU and EPU

- after doing all that, RMA'd the mobo and received a brand new one
- exact same symptoms. at this point i know 100% for certain that the RAM, power supply, and video card are fully functional. only thing left was the CPU