[YourNewCase] SUGO ... 5! GO!

leifeinar

Limp Gawd
Joined
Sep 24, 2007
Messages
345
It will fit the GTX285. Although wheter a 470w athena psu will be enough is a whole nother story and it's not like there is a better option.

it would be more than enough, did u try the gtx 260 with the stock psu? U know if its a 55nm or a 65nm card? im runnig HD4870 on stock psu with no probs at all, psu doesnt even get warm.

ive had my 800W atx psu in there and no problems, exept for the dvd drive.

in theory with a peak of 160w gtx 285 might work on stock psu :)

http://www.xbitlabs.com/articles/video/display/evga-geforce-gtx285ssc_5.html#sect0
 

Mac Truck

Limp Gawd
Joined
Feb 24, 2006
Messages
191
Hey guys, I wondered if there's enough room under the PSU to possibly fit an FX121 crossflow fan? Or would the CPU HSF get in the way?

SG05-Back.jpg

fx121-v2.jpg
 

Synomenon

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Feb 10, 2007
Messages
7,656
It's hideous. They should have just released a silver SG05.
 
Last edited:
Joined
May 3, 2009
Messages
7
I installed the zotac 9300 itx into this case and everything seem to be up and running except for the two usb ports up in front. They're plugged into the usb headers but still no go. Am I missing something here, maybe driver or software related? It's running on vista x64. Thanks!
 

timme

Gawd
Joined
Jun 21, 2008
Messages
520
I installed the zotac 9300 itx into this case and everything seem to be up and running except for the two usb ports up in front. They're plugged into the usb headers but still no go. Am I missing something here, maybe driver or software related? It's running on vista x64. Thanks!

Works for me. You used one of the three USB connectors at the back, near the PCIe slot, right? Maybe try another one.
 

Anonymo

Weaksauce
Joined
Jan 18, 2009
Messages
83
Mine work, except on a Zune that I plugged in. I have to use the ones on the back of case
 

Firefox90

Weaksauce
Joined
Jun 11, 2006
Messages
120
So according to leifeinar, it is possible to cram a 48xx into this case by cutting a hole in the front frame. I assume too that the front panel goes all the way back on. Correct me if I am wrong.
 

leifeinar

Limp Gawd
Joined
Sep 24, 2007
Messages
345
yes its possible allso without removing anny of the case, but if u dont its a thight fit. the mod over with the gtx 260 is nice.

frontpanel goes back on without anny probs, but if u do it like the gtx 260 mod u dont have to put the cables trough the drive bay
 

Casca

Limp Gawd
Joined
Sep 22, 2005
Messages
275
Athena Power recently released an 80+ eff certified micro psu (actually two)


The Apollo and the Hercules, both 550w, think Apollo is "active PFC" and slightly larger then the athena 470w I already fitted in the case with minor modding and the Hercules is slightly smaller then my 470w, so should fit even easier.

http://www.athenapower.us/prohtml/ap_mp4atx55fep8.htm (thats the apollo, a link to the herculas can also be found on that page.


I know athena is not well reguarded, but the 470w one I have has been working well and I think these 80%+ eff psu's will be even better.

Have only been able to find it on ebay so far and woulda bid, but am gonna be away from home for a few weeks, so everything is on hold. Probably will end up getting the hercules and then using my GTX285 in the sugo 5.


edit: the Appolo version is @ .4" deeper then the 470w one I have, which might be too deep to have space between the PSU and optical drive/cables.
 
Last edited:

Casca

Limp Gawd
Joined
Sep 22, 2005
Messages
275
The aforementioned Athena Power PSU's are now on Newegg.

Ordered the Apollo today. It is about .37" deeper then the 470w version I have already fitted. Worse case measurement, I think I have about .5" before PSU butts into optical drive with the 470w psu, so I think I can probably fit the 550w 80+ efficiency one with no farther mod and if need be I am sure a way can be found to make a little more space for the optical drive cablleing which is the only problem I can see with the fit really. Should work......I'll find out :)




note: I mentioned in my last post the Hercules should fit easier then the 470w verion I already fitted. I was mistaken. It is not as deep ....which is great, but it is .75" thicker, which makes it a no go....for me anyway.
 
Last edited:

pureaxis

n00b
Joined
Apr 21, 2009
Messages
36
Ordered the Apollo today. It is about .37" deeper then the 470w version I have already fitted. Worse case measurement, I think I have about .5" before PSU butts into optical drive with the 470w psu, so I think I can probably fit the 550w 80+ efficiency one with no farther mod and if need be I am sure a way can be found to make a little more space for the optical drive cablleing which is the only problem I can see with the fit really. Should work......I'll find out :)

Casca could you post some pictures of your build. The 550w athena psu is about the same size as the seasonic psu seen here: http://hardforum.com/showthread.php?t=1399181&page=3

I just don't see how it can be fitted without the drive bracket being modded.
 

Casca

Limp Gawd
Joined
Sep 22, 2005
Messages
275
I am sorry, when I said I can probably fit the 550w PSU with no farther mod...........what I meant was "I" (as in ME) can fit it with no farther mod because I already cut the hell outta the optical drive bracket to fit the 470w psu and the 550w is .37" deeper, but otherwise the same size...

No, these will not fit without some cutting, but it was pretty simple to do and if you want pics, go back some pages, posted some as I did it. Also, highly recommend cuttig all the wiring to size, saves a ton of space. And it's not like you can really hide em behind something lol

edit: It's just back one page actually

Here's one pic



that was before I cut up all the wiring and sleeved the PSU


Left only the connectors I need and wires are only as long as needed. Gonna have to redo it once the 550w arrives, but should do a much better job (was first time).

still working on my CPU/NB block


all I have is the rough cut out





unfortunately, got sent on a series of away from home "trips" lately lol. Should have a good stretch at home now.
 
Last edited:

Synomenon

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Feb 10, 2007
Messages
7,656
Has anyone tried removing a VelociRaptor from its 3.5" adapter and placing it in the 2.5" hard drive tray / bay in the SG05? Does it fit?
 

Tony Ou

SilverStone Tech Representative
Joined
Jun 12, 2009
Messages
600
Has anyone tried removing a VelociRaptor from its 3.5" adapter and placing it in the 2.5" hard drive tray / bay in the SG05? Does it fit?

We designed SG05's 2.5" drive bay to specifically support the VelociRaptor bare drive so it will fit perfectly.

Here is a list of components we used during SG05's development last year:

Intel Core 2 Quad 9550 95W CPU
MSI IM-Q35 DO Industrial Mini-ITX motherboard
Corsair TWIN2X2048-6400C5DX DDR2 memory
AMD Radeon HD4850 graphics card
WD Raptor 150GB
VelociRaptor 300GB
Slim Blu-ray drive
 

tvih

Gawd
Joined
Aug 16, 2009
Messages
566
I was wondering if anyone had done any after-market noise-reducing mods to the case? Or, simply used any additional products for that purpose. I ordered a kit that has some rubber grommets for mounting HD etc, some rubber fan mounts and also big rubber feet (if not for the case - depending on what its feet are like - then for the Logitech Z-4 set's subwoofer) as well as a Fanmate to control the case fan's speed and noise.

While those should help a bit, this got me thinking about noise dampening mats. Now, those aren't very commonly used from what I've seen (then again, most cases lack even rudimentary noise-killing methods, such as said rubber grommets). Thing is, there is no doubt that a good dampening mat will make a case more silent. But I'm wondering if anyone has tested it on a Sugo 05 or 06, because of course results will vary between cases. With this case I'm mostly wondering because it has quite a lot of air vents. There should be enough surface where the mat can be applied, but the question is if it's enough of a change to spend 20 euros on (the price for a 7mm thick AcoustiPack mat sheet that should be plenty enough for a case this small). Also one concern is that since the top and side slide of as one part it might be that 7mm mats on both sides could make it difficult to properly apply and remove the covers.

I really want to make this system as silent as possible, which is why I'm wondering about this. I don't mind spending some extra if it really helps with the case, given I'm likely to have it for quite some time. I know it shouldn't be loud to begin with, but... ;) Too bad there's very little I will be able to do about the power source noise specifically. And if only I could get the case to begin with, availability and delivery times of Silverstone products seems very bad here in Finland - I'm told it could even take a full month :(
 
Last edited:

tvih

Gawd
Joined
Aug 16, 2009
Messages
566
Anyone tried cooling a 45nm quad with the NT06 in SG05/06? Currently I'd have a NT06 ready to be shipped (surprisingly so), while the GeminII from another store isn't yet available it would seem. While right now I have the E5200 which the NT06 can keep in usable temperatures, I assume even a low-power Intel Quad would be beyond it since I'm thinking of upgrading maybe soon, maybe later... mainly because I think that when I get the HD 4770, I might find the E5200 bottlenecking games (right now it seems a decent match for the HD 4670). Kinda sucks, as the NT06 would certainly be easier to fit in the case. Further complication is that while new NT06s should support LGA1156/1366 (I like future-proofing with items like this) according to Silverstone's website, it's impossible to tell whether the one I'd get is new or old.

If only the Zotac 9300-ITX supported the damn undervolting, it'd help with temps quite a bit too I bet :(
 
Last edited:

RoddY

n00b
Joined
Jul 27, 2009
Messages
24
Try RMClock Utility under Windows: http://cpu.rightmark.org/products/rmclock.shtml

German users had success in undervolting the Zotac 9300. It seems that it doesn`t work for everyone, in other words it doesnt work with every CPU.

POST#796 (I know its german) at http://www.hardwareluxx.de/community/showthread.php?p=12680074

In short:

He says, that because of RMClock Utility there are "only" 1,100 Vcore on his CPU - better than nothing.
He claims that, if he selects 1.225 volts for State 4, then his CPU gets a 5K warmer and the CPU cooler gets audible/noisy, hence he thinks the CPU is realy undervolted.

But remember: If you try this, it is at your own risk!
 

TeedOff

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Apr 24, 2005
Messages
1,426
Anyone tried cooling a 45nm quad with the NT06 in SG05/06? Currently I'd have a NT06 ready to be shipped (surprisingly so), while the GeminII from another store isn't yet available it would seem. While right now I have the E5200 which the NT06 can keep in usable temperatures, I assume even a low-power Intel Quad would be beyond it since I'm thinking of upgrading maybe soon, maybe later... mainly because I think that when I get the HD 4770, I might find the E5200 bottlenecking games (right now it seems a decent match for the HD 4670). Kinda sucks, as the NT06 would certainly be easier to fit in the case. Further complication is that while new NT06s should support LGA1156/1366 (I like future-proofing with items like this) according to Silverstone's website, it's impossible to tell whether the one I'd get is new or old.

If only the Zotac 9300-ITX supported the damn undervolting, it'd help with temps quite a bit too I bet :(

I've got the Zotac 9300-ITX, 9800GT and a Q9550 under a Gemini IIs in a SG05...no problems except had to get a thinner fan. I'm away for the weekend so I can't quote exact temps, but suffice to say that with Gemini IIs it runs WAY cooler.
 
Last edited:

tvih

Gawd
Joined
Aug 16, 2009
Messages
566
Even if I select 1.1V to all multipliers, I don't really see any difference. I suppose it'd be easier to see with a more power-hungry CPU (though I suppose the voltage readout should report it as 1.1V if it is lowered... go figure).

I've got the Zotac 9300-ITX, 9800GT and a Q9550 under a Gemini IIs in a SG05...no problems except had to get a thinner fan. I'm away for the weekend so I can't quote exact temps, but suffice to say that with Gemini IIs it runs WAY cooler.
Yeah, with a GeminII there would be no problem, that I am aware of. Just that the NT06 would be more convenient... oh well, can't have both I guess. The GeminII should be able to fit a normal 120mm fan nicely on the front side, given I don't have the 3.5" bay installed so there's some extra space.

By the way, with Prime95 and Furmark running, the E5200 with Q6600 stock cooler got toaround 50 degrees, and the passive HD 4670 got to about 85 degrees, which is pretty much at the "pain threshold". Today I figured I'd test what an extra 120mm fan can do, and chucked it into the case next to the card - a TriCool fan at lowest RPM, so not really audible with the current other components at least. CPU temps weren't really affected - not surprising - but the GPU temps dropped 10 degrees at idle (48 previously) and a whopping 25 degrees under Furmark load. Not bad for such a simple addition.

Time will tell if I'll leave the fan in there. It seems to stay put rather nicely even though it's not in any special mounting, though would need something simple for it just in case. Would be kinda "cool" (yeah, yeah, two bad puns in a row) to have 3 120mm fans running inside the case if I get the GeminII...:D The fan I added is sadly for a big part - maybe half - blocked by the part of the side panel that doesn't have ventilation holes, but apparently it still gets enough air in to help the GPU.

And back on the CPU subject, I also took a closer look at more 65W higher performance CPUs. Interestingly the AMD Phenom II X4 905e came up... but it's hard to get a good comparison of it power consumption-wise with Intel ones, the readings in different reviews are all over the place for all the CPUs concerned. And the J&W Minix 780G can't even be found in Finland, would need to order it abroad (not to mention I just got a mobo...). Sucks. Just wish the Q8400S would cost what the non-S does :p
 

Boomslang

Limp Gawd
Joined
Apr 28, 2007
Messages
451
In for one of these cases. Will be using a Via VB8001 and a passively-cooled 9400GT with a laptop HDD.
 

tvih

Gawd
Joined
Aug 16, 2009
Messages
566
Just installed the GeminII for my E5200. CPU temps were (and are) fine, basically the same as with the Q6600 stock cooler, but the chipset was (is) starting melt pretty much, it rose to 94 degrees in temperature within 30 minutes of the computer being turned on, without any particular load. I installed a temporary 120mm fan - Antec TriCool at minimum speed to keep it at least somewhat silent - on top of the "front" edge of the Geminii to try to blow some air downwards on the chipset heatsink. But of course as the drive cage blocks it for the most part and a cable mess takes care of the rest, it doesn't get much cool air to work with.

Running Prime95 now, the chipset is already at 87 again.... probably still going to raise as well. How high a temperature is "safe" for the chipset anyway? With the Q6600 cooler, which I would not have thought to give much airflow to the chipset heatsink, it didn't go over 60 even when overclocking. How do you folks keep the chipset at reasonable temps with the GeminII? :(

To top it all off, the system as a whole is still anything but silent when in a quiet room. Can't say which fan makes the most noise, but it's one of the two "stock" fans, since adding the TriCool made no difference to sound levels. I do have a silent Nexus fan on order to replace the front fan, but I'm sceptic as to how much of a difference it'll actually end up making.
 
Top