Your PC not compatible with SP1 yet? (wont show on Windows Updates?) Here is the fix!

Discussion in 'Operating Systems' started by InCogneato, Jul 20, 2008.

  1. InCogneato

    InCogneato [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,237
    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2006
    Vista's SP1 might not show up on your Windows Updates automatically. This means your PC is currently incompatible and using SP1 might cause problems. Many people aren't aware that Microsoft has released a tool which fixes the incompatibilities and then SP1 will show on your Windows Update, officially supported.

    http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/...06-D9F1-4700-ACF3-3A58D533597A&displaylang=en (This one is for x64 based systems.)

    http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/...E2-1AAF-4672-8951-4B7920F982E9&displaylang=en (I assume this one is for 32-bit, but I can't try it since I'm on x64.)

    Download it, run it. Then, when it finishes, "Check for Updates" on Windows Updates and SP1 should be ready for you if all incompatibilities were fixed. Enjoy.
     
  2. Arainach

    Arainach 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,355
    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2006
    This tool does not do what you think it does.
     
  3. spotdog14

    spotdog14 [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,297
    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2005
    I was working on my bosses new laptop and I could not get SP1 to show up, this might be the reason, but why would it not?
     
  4. InCogneato

    InCogneato [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,237
    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2006
    so what does it do? it says it finds and fixes incompatibilities keeping you from service packs on the description and it was in a page about SP1. as soon as i ran it SP1 became available.

    help us out if you know something i dont
     
  5. TechieSooner

    TechieSooner [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    7,612
    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2007
    QFT, this is referenced by the damn description...


    Now to the OP: What the hell is with your obsession of getting SP1 to show up?
    Being you are posting this on an enthusiast board- none of us need this shit you are trying to provide.
     
  6. InCogneato

    InCogneato [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,237
    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2006
    "This tool is being offered because an inconsistency was found in the Windows servicing store which may prevent the successful installation of future updates, service packs, and software. This tool checks your computer for such inconsistencies and attempts to resolve issues if found."

    umm i lol'd :rolleyes: nice way to prove a point

    so no one on an enthusiast board wants SP1? imagine having your signature completely dedicated to the fact that you run SP1, only to claim in threads that you dont give a crap about it. i lol'd again.

    fact is, this tool repaired an incompatibility in my machine and got Windows Updates to officially support installing SP1, something many people would be interested. except of course the tough guys on the internet. forgot about those.

    why post if all youre gona do is bash and not provide any information to back your claim?
     
  7. slamcmy

    slamcmy Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    241
    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2007
    what makes you think that none of us need this.....there has been many posts about ppl asking why sp1 doesnt show on windows updates....i was one of them, and i just installed this update and it really works, now sp1 shows on windows update.......if you are not interested on this, dont get in here and talk shit to someone that is trying to help the community.....just dont read the thread and stay out.

    and to the OP thanks alot......
     
  8. Gabriel

    Gabriel 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,179
    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    My SP1 automatic update did not show up until June. I wasn't going to manually install it unless it showed up.
     
  9. Ur_Mom

    Ur_Mom I'm Not Serious

    Messages:
    19,495
    Joined:
    May 15, 2006
    Really? He's trying to help people out. You don't need the help? Move along. This helps a lot of people. Not me, as I downloaded the SP1 standalone... But, that's me. MANY people are having the issue described.

    Thanks to the OP. Don't listen to the haters.
     
  10. Arainach

    Arainach 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,355
    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2006
    First, it says "prevent the installation of. Not prevent them from appearing on the list of updates. You've never had a WU fail? Second, it says of future ones. Not of ones currently out. It fixes an issue in the Windows servicing store; it doesn't fix any of the SP1 incompatibilities. And those incompatibilities are why people who don't have SP1 show up on Windows Update shouldn't be installing SP1.
     
  11. calebb

    calebb 1337 liek JeffK

    Messages:
    7,816
    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2000
    Cool, thanks for the tip, InCogneato!
     
  12. TechieSooner

    TechieSooner [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    7,612
    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2007
    I never said that. Stop trying a strawman. I said enthusiasts know how the hell to run, update, and configure their machines.

    Can you kindly point me to where I said I didn't care about SP1? Again- stop trying to strawman.
    SP1 brings good things to the table.


    Normally, I do.
    However, two things:
    1) There is already a thread on this topic. Common characteristic of spammers is to duplicate and multiply junk of the same thing.
    2) Referencing the other thread, is advising folks how to make SP1 available, without regards to the consequences or reasons Microsoft has established for not publishing SP1 to certain users.
     
  13. DeaconFrost

    DeaconFrost [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    10,935
    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2007
    It isn't that we don't want it....it's that we already have had it for quite some time. There have been quite a few threads on this very issue. The people who couldn't get SP1 automatically have already seen a good number of threads explaining exactly how to go about this. As mentioned several times, in both your threads, this is an enthusiasts board and has been covered already, so no PSA is/was needed.
     
  14. InCogneato

    InCogneato [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,237
    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2006
    *YOU* already have it, but *WE* do not all have it. just because it has been "covered" doesnt mean the problem has been resolved. this solution i posted is something that has not been "covered" afaik and it seems to be working for some of us.

    im not sure whats why its so difficult for some of you to accept the fact that this can help people attain something they have not been able to. what exactly is the point of arguing against something like this? then again, its the internet, where everyone knows it all and hates it all. :rolleyes:

    i wonder when all the teenage pessimists started rolling on into this board. it was never like this before.
     
  15. DeaconFrost

    DeaconFrost [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    10,935
    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2007
    For someone who's hinting that others are ignorant, you are certainly making some large ASSumptions yourself. I pointed out some facts that others have mentioned, but that you've been either ignoring or choosing not to understand. The biggest point, and what I should have said, was that it is dangerous to explain how force this upgrade.....considering why it hasn't been showing up for some people.

    And to answer your question, this has absolutely been covered several times over....exactly what you've been posting, so yes, it has been said before. Those who want SP1 have it already, or have been given a ton of info on why it isn't appearing and how to remedy this situation. When others have pointed that out to you, you cop an attitude with them.

    This forum always has been, and still is about helping people. But when you come late to a party with old information, albeit some helpful info, don't cop an attitude with people who point out that it has been posted many many times before. When SP1 was released, we had a ton of people asking why it wasn't showing up for them, and got to the bottom of the issues through many good posts and links.
     
  16. InCogneato

    InCogneato [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,237
    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2006
    ummm maybe you should re-read the entire thread. this is not forcing SP1. this is a Microsoft program that, as far as i know and as far as it says, FIXES the incompatibilities that keep your system from officially supporting SP1
    i doubt highly that this program has been covered before, you wanted to jump on the hater bandwagon and now that you realize this is completely different, you need to save face so youre pretending this program has been brought up before. and if it has, the search feature is down. the reason i created this thread was because right on the front page there are STILL some people wondering about the whole SP1 thing and you cant search to read about it. and i have not seen anyone bring this fix up on any forum before.
    PROTIP: this program i am linking to was released AFTER sp1 :rolleyes:

    either way, this program has helped a few people here so far. if this forum is about helping people, why would you object to a thread that has clearly done so?;)
     
  17. Frostex

    Frostex 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,148
    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2008
    Thanks for the info OP, I've not confirmed this since I keep a hard copy of all Service Releases, but If I get a chance to on another PC I will. Certainly last time I checked (2-3 weeks ago) SP1 wasn't showing up on WU for me.

    Do us all a favour and bugger off.
     
  18. Azhar

    Azhar Fixing stupid since 1972

    Messages:
    18,907
    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2001
    No it isn't. Look at the bottom of the page. This forum uses Google's search engine now.
     
  19. DeaconFrost

    DeaconFrost [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    10,935
    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2007
    I'm not trying to save face about anything. I'm not the one who created two threads for the same topic, and then got pissy when others pointed out that it was old information, and corrected some of your info.

    As for objecting, I don't see the point behind having two threads for the same topic. I do object when someone cops an attitude just because some of their original post is wrong or needs additonal warnings. Someone stole your thunder by pointing out some mistakes in your PSA, and since that point, you've been combatative with anyone who posts here. We've seen FAR too much of that, and you can use that as your primary reason as to why you are getting push backs.

    As for helping people, yeah that's always the goal. If you had worded the OPs differently, and not argued with those early own offering corrections, your message might have been recieved better, or at least a good discussion would be started. I'm glad someone found this useful. However, on this board, if I started a thread saying I like ice cream and I slept with my best friend (shout out to apple2gs), someone somewhere would somehow find that helpful.
     
  20. InCogneato

    InCogneato [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,237
    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2006
    look at my 2nd post in this thread. someone said "i dont think it does what you think it does" and i asked ok so explain. no one explained anything. and this is your idea of a correction? i lol'd.

    how would this even begin to be a correction anyway when others have confirmed it works? :rolleyes:

    like i said, no one has corrected anything and im almost certain this program has not been discussed before. youre just trying to save face. if you had anything informative to provide, im sure you wouldve done so a long time ago.
     
  21. Azhar

    Azhar Fixing stupid since 1972

    Messages:
    18,907
    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2001
    Jesus Christ dude, will you settle down and accept the fact that SP1 isn't available to everyone because their update software has determined that their computer isn't compatible or ready for SP1 yet?

    To assume a link to something makes a software safe is about the stupidest thing I've ever heard.
     
  22. DeaconFrost

    DeaconFrost [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    10,935
    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2007
    If you truly think I'm trying to save face, you don't know me very well. Considering you really don't know me very well, and are just making up more wild ASSumptions, we can leave it at that.

    As for the corrections, they were given in post #10. Since this fix applies to post-SP1 issues, and as you said, was released after SP1, then it could be very helpful.....but would need you to PM a mod and ask for the thread title to be changed to something more accurate.
     
  23. DeaconFrost

    DeaconFrost [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    10,935
    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2007
    Remember all the problems people were having when the direct links to SP1 were made available? SP1 wasn't showing up on their Windows Update lists, so they downloaded the full install version anyway. Good times....good times.
     
  24. Azhar

    Azhar Fixing stupid since 1972

    Messages:
    18,907
    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2001
    And even funnier, all those post where people say "GG M$" when it's 99% of the time their own fault. There are days I wish they require you to go to school before touching computers.
     
  25. InCogneato

    InCogneato [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,237
    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2006
    ok so your idea of an informative correction is some dude playing semantics with the wording of the programs description? hahaha.

    reminiscing about an irrelevant event with another poster whos also trying to save face. good times....good times.
     
  26. Arainach

    Arainach 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,355
    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2006
    Clearly you can't read.
    The link you posted fixes a bug in MIcrosoft's software. It does not fix any driver/app incompatibilities, and those driver/app incompatibilities are what prevent SP1 from showing up. The link you gave is for updates that show up but fail to install.
     
  27. TechieSooner

    TechieSooner [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    7,612
    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2007
    Wasn't a single event- if you're involved with Vista or SP1 at all (or hell, ANY Microsoft SPs), you know they break stuff just throwing them out there for all.

    This is why Vista, DOES NOT DISPLAY SP1 IF YOU HAVE INCOMPATIBILITIES.
    Why can you not get that into your head? It's by design, and giving this "tip" to bypass the evil Corporation's default methods is not a good idea for the folks you are aiming this to.
    Clearly, you don't have any idea. Even in the subject line, you use the word "fix". It's by design... What don't you understand?

    That would've required a little thought... :rolleyes:

    Let jackassed trolls be jackassed trolls I guess, I'm unsubscribing this topic.
     
  28. InCogneato

    InCogneato [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,237
    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2006
    I wasn't going to reply but I hate to let these self-proclaimed know-it-alls seem like the victors, especially when there might be someone looking for a fix. To anyone reading:

    1. This tool is specifically recommended by Microsoft themselves if you are having trouble getting SP1 to show up. Look where it says "Method 2."

    http://support.microsoft.com/?kbid=948343

    2. Others in this thread have confirmed it works for them.

    You can either believe Microsoft themselves and the people who have used it and confirmed it works, or you can believe these imbeciles picking apart words in the program description to try and save face after they were called out on their pessimistic BS.

    If you still havn't gotten SP1 to work, give it a try. And with that I resign from this thread.
     
  29. calebb

    calebb 1337 liek JeffK

    Messages:
    7,816
    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2000
    Just ignore any trolls you might encounter on the Internet... people rarely see them as the victor so you don't ever need to defend yourself. In fact, if you just let it go, then they think they are the victor which will quickly stop the off-topic banter and keep your threads on-topic. (Which is what we all want deep down inside!) (and it keeps the thread from getting unnecessarily locked)

    Keep making helpful posts, incogneato! 99.9% of the Internet appreciates them :)

    Also, I recommend not responding to this post in this post since this is not general mayhem.


    (I just wanted to say thanks again for the helpful tip - I have added it to my bookmarks and it may come in handy some day! I had not come across that page before)
     
  30. DeaconFrost

    DeaconFrost [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    10,935
    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2007
    Nothing better than someone who tries to play the innocent victim when they are as guilty as anyone else in terms of throwing around attitude.

    Anyhoo, let's try a new concept here. See if we can have a big boy discussion about this...and yes, InCogneato, I'm referring to everyone in the thread, including you, me, etc.

    This tool supposedly offers fixes for the incompatibilities that would prevent SP1 from appearing, such as an old Realtek audio driver, etc. THAT part, I can see being helpful. However, what if your system happened to be running one of the software packages that were known to be incompatible? What would happen, if this tool fixes the errors, checks your drivers, and decides that your system is ready for SP1, even though you have a software package that may not be compatible?

    I'll be the first to admit that is not a common situation, but my point is, just using this tool alone can be dangerous on some systems. As always, research is the key. However, these are the situations, at least for me, that led me to keep posting in this thread.
     
  31. Azhar

    Azhar Fixing stupid since 1972

    Messages:
    18,907
    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2001
    If only these people would look at our post history and see how helpful and accurate we tend to be instead of feeling sorry for this OP. Ah well. They'll learn the hard way I suppose.