Xtreme Low Q6600 G0 Temp on Air !!! (Lots of Pics)

Discussion in 'Intel Processors' started by Tiramisu, Jul 25, 2007.

  1. Tiramisu

    Tiramisu [H]Lite

    Messages:
    125
    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2007

    That's what I'll be testing at my current FSB416.
    It's not possible to acheive max OC clock speed for my rams becouse of limited selections of dividers at current FSB. Unfortunately it's hard to stable quad above FSB460 with x8 multi so x9 multi is the only route for max OC CPU.

    I wish I can have Nvidia chipset mobo "unlink" feature so I can OC the rams individually. But I guess you can't have the best of everything in one piece of hardware :p
     
  2. Tiramisu

    Tiramisu [H]Lite

    Messages:
    125
    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2007
    FSB 466 & 470 * 8 PRIME STABLE Preliminary Results !!!:


    So I've being trying to stabilize my rams all night and I finally found out what makes my system having difficulties getting Prime Blend stable. You guys probably all have seen my current highest OC on air with Prime Small FFT stable screenshots but with the same settings, Prime Blend will immediately fail at Test#2 in less than two mins.


    After I change NB Reference voltage from x61 to x67 and the rest of the remaining configuration left the same, I can immediately Prime Blend stable for several loops. So now out of curiousity, I say why not try the x8 multiplier route again for maximum RAM OC using 4:5 divider. Keeping the same current CPU clock speed.


    So...I was WRONG about the instability using x8 multimplier to OC the CPU w/ P5K-Dlx. Now I really gotta thank my P5K-Dlx for what it can deliver....I'm 100% SOLD ! :D


    30mins + and counting (I really have a good feeling about this cos I was having tough luck even at FSB460*8 and not even Prime-able for a couple mins); next goal: FSB470 & DDR2-1175 !

    [​IMG]


    Still using the same Vcore, I'm afraid I'll have to bump the Vcore by one notch.
    But nevertheless, the mobo is completely happy with the Q6600 G0 at FSB470 and this is something that was not possible :)

    [​IMG]
     
  3. Youri Carma

    Youri Carma Gawd

    Messages:
    538
    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2006
    As you can see I had my memory on 2.3 V so there is room.

    Ram 5-5-5-7 also possible? Donnow if that helps.

    You also can get some Voltage and temp readings from the Bios and compare.
     
  4. AthlonXP

    AthlonXP [H]ard as it Gets

    Messages:
    20,293
    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2001
    nice overclocking man. Right now I am at 3.33ghz with 1.3625 volts. Pretty much happy with that as I dont want to use anything higher then 1.4volts. I have my ram at 2:3 divider for 1111mhz speed.
     
  5. Youri Carma

    Youri Carma Gawd

    Messages:
    538
    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2006
    Why not higher than 1,4 V?

    These CPU's are realy great and can have high temps.

    You have such nice PC-8500 ram so why not use that and crank up the voltage.

    Crank up the voltage of the mem too if you realy have to in a instable situation.

    Easely can go up to 1.5V.

    Nice OC guys!
     
  6. stringpark

    stringpark n00b

    Messages:
    2
    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Wow!! That’s exciting!!

    My Q6600 G0 is on the way (Tank Guys). I just hope it performs similar to your chip. Have you heard if any other G0 OC'ers are seeing comparable results?

    What I'm particularly interested in is if you have an ammeter or some way of determining the power draw on your system at that OC. I am hoping to reuse my Antec True Power 480W from my current/old system and I'm trying to figure out how far it will take me.

    Great OC!!
     
  7. Sufu

    Sufu [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    2,004
    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2006
    ddn't anyone else notice the pic with the chassis fan running at 19k rpm on the Ai suite?? Do you need earplugs when you turn on your PC??
     
  8. Tiramisu

    Tiramisu [H]Lite

    Messages:
    125
    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2007
    Already posted about this in the previous page
     
  9. idiotekniQues

    idiotekniQues Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    135
    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2007
    im runnin exactly the same speed on my chip except my ram is at 1:1 with my multi at 8x - also the same voltage.

    considering my ambient temps in here are 80F i am kinda stuck. i primed for an hour at 1.42v at 3.6 and was plowing through small ffts no problem, but my temps reached 71 so i killed it.

    tryin to figure out cooling solutions for myself within budget, just for my q6600, cause i want to run this at 3.5-3.6 24/7 and i am quite sure this chip could hold 3.7+ at 1.45v if i had the cooling.

    these G0's rock.

    if my ambient were a reasonable 70F or 21C i could be runnin 3.6ghz on air with this puppy :)
     
  10. stringpark

    stringpark n00b

    Messages:
    2
    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    It's really good to hear that other Q6600 G0's seem to perform similarly!!

    Tiramisu, Thanks for the reply. Great formula! I must have missed that on the previous page. Thanks again.
     
  11. Gaiden133

    Gaiden133 [H] Ninja

    Messages:
    3,720
    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2004
    Grats and nice OC!

    I'm hoping for 400 x 8 or 400 x 9 once I get my g0.. Hoping its as good as yours :)
     
  12. Waterboy

    Waterboy Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    234
    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2005
    My G0 is not doing as well....Prime stable @ 3.6ghz 1.5v (1.42v actual).
    [​IMG]
     
  13. Tiramisu

    Tiramisu [H]Lite

    Messages:
    125
    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2007
    Hi Waterboy:

    I realized that we've the same VID at 1.2625v but you're OC on a Nvidia based mobo.
    Maybe that could be on factor that's limiting the G0 quad potential.
    Vdroop is another factor that could effect your OC stability too. Your temp looks fine though:cool:
     
  14. Waterboy

    Waterboy Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    234
    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2005
    Yeah, the Vdroop is really bad on this board.
    When using Prime95, are you using the Blend or Small FFT test? I found that I can do the Blend test all day on at 3.8ghz at 1.55v (1.5v actual) and the temp is stays low at about 50°c to 51°c. But as soon as I start a Small FFT test, the temp shot up to the low 60°c and one of the cores failed in a matter of minutes. What games/applications are similiar to Blend and the Small FFT? So what is consider stable? Both of the tests or just one or the other?
     
  15. Youri Carma

    Youri Carma Gawd

    Messages:
    538
    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2006
    I tested some of these progs myself and concluded that I only realy get the presssure on my CPU's with Orthos.

    "Orthos, currently in beta, is an application designed to make use of the powerful [[Prime95]] stability testing tool on a
    [[multicore]] system. It will automatically determine the number of threads or cores a processor can support and launch
    simultaneous runs of of [[Prime95]] to fully load all the cores of a processor.

    o v e r c l o c k i n g w i k i . o r g

    Super PI 1.5
     
  16. Tiramisu

    Tiramisu [H]Lite

    Messages:
    125
    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2007

    Of course you need both Blend and Small FFT to pass stability test for more than at least 8+ hours to consider your OC is stable.

    Small fft puts out max stress to your CPU but little to the rams.
    Blend doesn't put out as much stress as small fft but it's considerably stressed enough to get all cores testing at full 100% load and stresses A LOT on the rams.

    Blend is where people usually start to have difficulty to hit stability becouse the problem could come from the NB / FSB or RAM related configuraion. Small fft usually means you've to deal with the relative Vcore and that's it basically.

    The best way to remedy an unstable OC is by testing it again and again using the trial and error method. You need to get very familiarized with your mobo. Study and search what other's stable configurations are like for your mobo.

    It's not hard and definetely not impossible but it's just time consuming.

    GL :)
     
  17. Unknown Soldier

    Unknown Soldier n00b

    Messages:
    15
    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2006
    My Q6600 B3

    3.4Ghz
    [​IMG]

    I got it up to 3.5Ghz but 3DMark06 wouldn't complete. How far can I push the CPU volt? I had it as high as 1.4850 but still would do 3.5Ghz on 3DMark. It would boot up to windows fine though. Notice my cool temps just after 3DMark06 ;)

    This is all air cooled - My Zalman 9700
    [​IMG]

    US
     
  18. jacuzz1

    jacuzz1 [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    6,867
    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2004
    I would not go much higher than that on the vcore. You need a better cooler
     
  19. Tiramisu

    Tiramisu [H]Lite

    Messages:
    125
    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2007

    My Vcore at Idle is 1.4640v. That's the Vcore I need to acheive clock speed of 3.74GHz. I'm not sure if 1.4850 is the Vcore at Idle or set in BIOS.

    Becouse every mobo is different so regardless what's the volt you set exceed 1.5v or not. You should always take the idle Vcore into account. I'd say ~1.48v Idle Vcore is my recommanded max Vcore for 24/7 use.

    You're also somewhat limited by you current cooler, 9700LED or NT is the one I also used to have before the TR U120 X.

    Overall you're at a nice clock and temp in your current OC stage. That's already a great result for a mid-end air cooled quad :)
     
  20. Tiramisu

    Tiramisu [H]Lite

    Messages:
    125
    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2007
  21. Tiramisu

    Tiramisu [H]Lite

    Messages:
    125
    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2007
    4GHz Quad just for the fun of it. Notice that the voltage doesn't need to go through the roof to acheive this clock ;)
    [​IMG]


    Here is the CPU-Z Validation. With the amount of given voltage, it's enough to do some easy tasks beside Priming of course.
    [​IMG]


    3744 MHz with low volts and Prime stable for 7+ hours no problem
    [​IMG]
     
  22. Waterboy

    Waterboy Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    234
    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2005
    Is this just a result of a bad Vdroop on this NF68-A1 board or is it my PSU?
    BIOS setting: 1.60v
    Idle: 1.55v
    loaded: 1.50v :eek:

    [​IMG]
     
  23. NoxTek

    NoxTek The Geek Redneck

    Messages:
    9,272
    Joined:
    May 27, 2002
    OP, the images in your first post show bandwidth exceeded.

    In the future you should use a 'real' image host such as www.bbpix.com or another that isn't so bandwidth stingy.

    Anyway, I should be ordering my Q6600 Wednesday... I hope I can find a G0!
     
  24. ferr

    ferr Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    145
    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2004
    Tiramisu, is that 4GHz OC under water? If so, what cpu block? If not, Whhoooaa.

    Also, you mentioned earlier in the thread you were using 4x1GB, but your CPU-Z shows a size of 2GB? I'm using 4x1GB of Crucial Ballistix 1066 in my setup and I'm hoping I don't see the problems I've read about with OCing with 4x1. My Q6700 will be in tomorrow, so we'll see.
     
  25. Tiramisu

    Tiramisu [H]Lite

    Messages:
    125
    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2007
    A New High Record! ~ 3800MHz Small FFT Prime Stable Preliminary Results ~2hrs.


    Notice it's FSB 475 Priming stable approx 2hrs and counting using x8 multiplier :cool:
    Core temps are still awsome consider it's air cooled. Of course this is with a little help of lower ambient temp today at 21c.
    Good news watercoolers: Consider what I've acheived on air, 3800mhz on water is def. feasible if you've a good batch ;)

    [​IMG]


    Notice: I'm currently transfering all the previous screen shot database to the new server. Dead pics will be fixed soon. Thanks guys :)
     
  26. Youri Carma

    Youri Carma Gawd

    Messages:
    538
    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2006
    Nice work! Congrats.

    Still wondering what Super PI would be on 1M?
     
  27. Tiramisu

    Tiramisu [H]Lite

    Messages:
    125
    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2007
    Thx :D

    My system is not Super Pi optimized so I wouldn't even bother to find that out at the moment :p
    First of all, I'm using Vista and have quite few background running junk so my super pi times may not be as impressive as the clock may seem
     
  28. Youri Carma

    Youri Carma Gawd

    Messages:
    538
    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2006
    As it may be it still is a nice indication.

    It still will be fast enough, don't be afraid for the PI spec cause your 3,8 won't lie. I know that it depends on the things you say but not that significant for a indication.

    Do you use the Tiny Vista version? (150-300 MB)? I also have (or had just removed it) Vista full on my second boot.....I think Vista works well, quiet fast, on the duo cores.

    Only problem I have is the 1 Gig Ram. I don't wonna push you I am just curious.

    I have a Tiny XP version running, 115MB on clean install startup but now 667 MB, with a lottof AV-Spy stuff running so.....no big deal - 1M - 15.391 sec (old PI mod)

    New PI Mod 1.5: http://www.xtremesystems.com/pi/
    14.984 sec

    Very curious what this Q6600 will do with watercooling (sometimes overestimated cause these new Aircooler are good even using Vaporizing techniques like my Scyth Infinity).

    But 3.8 GHz is already realy amazing with air!

    Again congrats.

    But 2x70 2x67 seems to be the limit donnow If I would go any higher on that,.....think not?

    Only had it on 75 C shortly I think, when I had my Intel standard heatsink failure
    http://www.hardforum.com/showthread.php?t=1157007
     
  29. Tiramisu

    Tiramisu [H]Lite

    Messages:
    125
    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2007
    FSB 470 * 8 @ 3760MHz 8hrs+ Small FFT Prime Stable.


    Core temp are 67~70c so this is what I'll have as my max 24/7 OC for this season.
    Ambient room temperature are from 24.9 to 25.1C measured with a digital thermometre; system temp is where the hottest place in my room. Ambient room temp is always 1~2C below it.



    [​IMG]


     
  30. Tiramisu

    Tiramisu [H]Lite

    Messages:
    125
    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2007
    How to manually correct Speedfan 4.32 core temp accuracy



    [​IMG]
     
  31. Youri Carma

    Youri Carma Gawd

    Messages:
    538
    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2006
    Yeh, happy summer. Here in Holland we have a rather cool summer this year with a lottof rain 16- 18 C.

    What happens if you put the multiplier on x9 - 420 MHz?

    Maybe sell my E6600 system and gonna further look into the Q6600 system. This made me very enthousiastic....tnx for the report here.
     
  32. Tiramisu

    Tiramisu [H]Lite

    Messages:
    125
    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2007

    Wow that's nice in a way but imagine living conditions during winter time :p
    x9 - 420mhz seems to be more stable for some people to acheive the same clock.
    However my P5K-Dlx still manage to have full stability using x8 multi with the Q6600 G0, it's the best mobo for quads IMHO :)
     
  33. Tiramisu

    Tiramisu [H]Lite

    Messages:
    125
    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2007
    Thermalright Ultra120 Extreme (Lapped) vs Ambient Room Temperature


    Ambient temp in the room when screen was captured = ~22.7C
    As you can see the Idle temp is roughly 13~15C above ambient temp in my room.
    NOTICE: Given Vcore Idles at 1.4880v, even so the temp is still amazing. :cool:
    So without a doubt, the Thermalright Ultra120 Extreme is the best air cooled heatsink avaliable.
    (For similar results, "lapping" the heatsink base is strongly recommended ;) )


    [​IMG]
     
  34. Youri Carma

    Youri Carma Gawd

    Messages:
    538
    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2006
    Well your personal experience is backuped here:

    [​IMG]

    If you change the fan (not for the noise) you sometimes can get even better results.

    http://gruntville.com/reviews/heatsinks/xp_120/index.php

    The "lapping" seems to be a good idea.

    The dutch guy who managed to OC his Intel Core 2 Duo E6850 (S775, 2x 3.00GHz, 4x333MHz, 4MB, 1333MHz FSB) OC 4200 (PI 1M 12,250s) also used:

    http://valid.x86-secret.com/cache/221138.png

    Source: http://gathering.tweakers.net/forum/list_messages/1235084

    Mobo Asus P5K
    Cooler Thermalright XP120 Extreme (with YS-tech fan)
    Mem OCZ PC9200 stuf
    vid Club 3D 8600
     
  35. william_fontaine

    william_fontaine Gawd

    Messages:
    737
    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2006
    NVM, found what I was looking for.
     
  36. unclewebb

    unclewebb [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,799
    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2006
    Tiramisu: If you have the time could you do some cold temperature testing for me?

    You would need to temporarily set your CPU back to default specs, core voltage at auto, MHz at default, enable C1E and SpeedStep and then boot up and let it sit and see what your idle temperature drops down to.

    Your CPU should reduce the multiplier to 6X and your core voltage should also drop down to approximately 1.10 volts when at idle. Check it with SpeedFan or Everest. This will cause your idle temps to drop like a rock. It is typical for most users to end up with a reported idle temperature which is a few degrees below their ambient temperature. This is theoretically impossible and to me is a sign that the data being reported by the DTS is not accurate at very low idle temperatures.

    I've read that at idle the G0 processors only consume 8 watts vs the previous B3 that consumed 22 watts on a motherboard that properly implements C1E. This results in some extremely low idle temperatures which has some users questioning CoreTemp. I'm interested in any data users can provide me with.
     
  37. Tiramisu

    Tiramisu [H]Lite

    Messages:
    125
    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2007

    Not a problem man, I'll gladly do that after I'm done with the Large FFT Priming to finalize the current max stable OC of the summer season.

    I'll make a screenshot by then.
    Be surprised of what temp will be reporting ;)
     
  38. Unknown Soldier

    Unknown Soldier n00b

    Messages:
    15
    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2006
    My 3.4Ghz was done at 1.4650v(bios) but youcan see in the pic that it hit 1.440v. The 3.5Ghz was done at 1.4850v(bios) and was at 1.46xx during testing.

    I thought the 9700 Zalman was a top of the range air cooler. Which cooler do you think is better?

    US
     
  39. unclewebb

    unclewebb [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,799
    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2006
  40. wasupdog

    wasupdog n00b

    Messages:
    55
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2007
    the best coolers are the tuniq tower and ultra 120 extreme. get a good fan too.