Xtreme Low Q6600 G0 Temp on Air !!! (Lots of Pics)

Discussion in 'Intel Processors' started by Tiramisu, Jul 25, 2007.

  1. Tiramisu

    Tiramisu [H]Lite

    Messages:
    125
    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2007
    Finally a 8+ hours Prime stable. 1.38v loaded and 57~61c from 4 cores :cool:

    It's not as hot as during the day time now, ambient temp has dropped down to 23c from 27~29c in the earlier in the afternoon. Hence, core temps dropped a little too :)
    I'm sure 3.6ghz on air isn't the max stable OC just yet but it's the final stable OC at this stage.
    I'm going to test max FSB and suicide screenies later as per the demands. Hopefully 4ghz on air suicide screeny ! :D


    [​IMG]
     
  2. krameriffic

    krameriffic 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,214
    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2006
    Impressive. I'll have to see what mine can do on a GA-P35-DSR3 with a Tuniq Tower, but it probably won't get here until next week unfortunately.
     
  3. Unknown Soldier

    Unknown Soldier n00b

    Messages:
    15
    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2006
    If I may ask... why you running at x8 ? You only getting a ratio of 4:5.

    If you run at 9x 400 = 3600 then you get a ratio of 1:1 which will be better than 4:5

    Using 9x you can even overclock higher .. since you hitting 450 Bus

    Imagine.. 9x 450 = 4050 .. Hmm 4Ghz sounds awesome. :D

    My Q6600 step B3 hit 3Ghz (333 9x ) with temp at 27 ... so I believe those kewl temps. :)

    US
     
  4. Tiramisu

    Tiramisu [H]Lite

    Messages:
    125
    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2007
    I can finally use Coretemp 0.95 in Vista 64 bit. Please use the following FYI. :)

    Exactly as what others and I have stated, Speedfan's core temp + 15c = Coretemps core temps.
    It's always your CPU Tjunction temp (100c) - DTS = core temps. Coretemp 0.95 can read the max Tjunction of the Q6600 G0 at 100c properly but Speedfan assumes the max Tjunction for the Quad is 85c like all C2D.
    In the end, either programs give accurate core temp readings.
    [​IMG]
     
  5. Unknown Soldier

    Unknown Soldier n00b

    Messages:
    15
    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2006
    Highest OC I got - 3.2Ghz - All Pics were done with air (No Water Cooling)
    [​IMG]

    Intel Q6600 B3 @ 3.2Ghz (9x)
    Asus P5W DH Deluxe Bios 2004 Intel 975X 1426Mhz
    Asus GTS8800 320MB @ 675/936
    Team Elite 800Mhz 4x1Ghz - 356Mhz(712)
    Zalman CNPS9700L CPU Cooler
    WindowsXP 32-Bit
    3DMark06 - 12415

    US
     
  6. ASIA911

    ASIA911 [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,053
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2006
    Sorry to hijack this thread. But can anyone tell me if my temp is ok. I'm running a Q6600 B3 SL9UM stepping at 2.7GHz with a Zalman CNPS9500 heatsink and my room temp is around 28°C

    This is what I'm getting. Not sure what's more important, the core temp or the CPU temp that I should be concern about. This is at idle:
    [​IMG]

    Gosh, I should've waited for the G0. UGH!!!! :(
     
  7. 96redformula

    96redformula 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,366
    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2005
    I have a g0 to drool over :yepp: . I am going to post a full review tomorrow. Lets just say the mid point is 3400 @ 1.325
     
  8. Tiramisu

    Tiramisu [H]Lite

    Messages:
    125
    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2007

    I assume that's your idle temp at the current overclocked speed, 2.7ghz?
    There could be a various factors here.
    The CNPS 9500 utilizes the "wind-tunnel" configuration for max air cooling performance so make sure you've good air flow inside the case and well ventilated.
    I used to have CNPS 9500/9700NT and now Thermalright Ultra120 Extreme lapped.

    CNPS 9500 is defintely inadequate for cooling quads, especially none-G0 quads. However, this isn't always right as I've seen very few B3 quads with reasonable temps on air.

    I'd also recommand you use Arctic Cooling MX-1 thermal compound instead of the more popular AS5. MX-1 is proven to be better than AS5 and AC has just realeased the new MX-2 as well and it even beats its current MX-1. So MX-2 > MX-1 > AS5. This is my honest suggestion and I can provide proof but I don't want to waste the time proofing if you don't believe what I tell you.
     
  9. Unknown Soldier

    Unknown Soldier n00b

    Messages:
    15
    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2006
    Does seem a bit high. What thermal paste are you using for the CPU? I used the default Zalman paste. Artic Silver should be preferred though.

    I can only think that your case isn't getting rid of the hot air efficiently enough.

    US
     
  10. ASIA911

    ASIA911 [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,053
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2006
    Thanks.

    So pretty much my temp isn't good for my CPU? At full load, teh CPU temp is around 46°C and the 4 cores temp are around from 65-70°C.

    The thermal compound that I'm using is the one that came with the Zalman, some white stuff.

    Well I have 4fans sucking out the air. The large one in the back and the power supply fan, the smaller top and bottom fans on the case. I don't know if the fan on the side of the NZXT Lexa case that is sucking in the air is messing up the air flow.
     
  11. Teknokid

    Teknokid [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,292
    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2007
    dude, nice overclock man!!!
     
  12. Tiramisu

    Tiramisu [H]Lite

    Messages:
    125
    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2007
    As per requested, tested using x6 and x7 multiplier:

    FSB 502+ = Black screen

    FSB 501 = Could POST but extremely unstable. "Unknown CPU is detected, update BIOS is required to unleash its full potential!"
    - Maybe future BIOS update will enhance FSB flexibility on quad cores..
    [​IMG][​IMG]

    FSB 500 = Coupld POST and go into BIOS but immediately blank screen upon loading windows.
    [​IMG]

    FSB 490 = System would hang during loading windows or upon logging into windows.
    [​IMG]


    MAX FSB SCREEN: 489
    [​IMG]


    FSB 488/485 *6/7
    [​IMG][​IMG][​IMG]

    FSB480 is more stable but still not prime stable unfortunately.
    [​IMG]
     
  13. Stardusted

    Stardusted Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    389
    Joined:
    May 10, 2007
    In all honesty, after reading your introduction to this (very good, for sure) o/c screenshot festival, I decided to stop waiting for a g0 and went out today and got a stock b3.

    Don't know why, but it deeply annoyed me thinking a new cpu stepping could take the place of happiest moment in a person's life.
     
  14. Teknokid

    Teknokid [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,292
    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2007
    yup, well im getting my new rig in november time, going for the energy efficient q6600 and a quad rad water cooling set-up, keep an eye out for updates.
     
  15. Tiramisu

    Tiramisu [H]Lite

    Messages:
    125
    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2007

    Oh bummer...see if you can return it in for a new one..
    "happiest moment in life...." lol, don't take my words very literally. It's just to show I was really excited after I pulled an all nighter lapping the heatsink and finally got everything setup with me being worried that even a lapped TR U120 X may or may not be able to take the heat out of the quad. But apparently, it looks like the lapping job made wonders + cool running G0.


    Ok I'll keep an eye on your future updates 3 month from now...lol
     
  16. Teknokid

    Teknokid [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,292
    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2007
    yup, keep an eye outl ol
     
  17. Tiramisu

    Tiramisu [H]Lite

    Messages:
    125
    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2007
    Ladies and Gentleman, 3720mhz Teaser...more results to come. I'll call it a day for today

    [​IMG]
     
  18. Teknokid

    Teknokid [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,292
    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2007
    man, what voltage is thast?
     
  19. Tiramisu

    Tiramisu [H]Lite

    Messages:
    125
    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2007
    1.41v Idle :cool:

    Please read my following post.
     
  20. Tiramisu

    Tiramisu [H]Lite

    Messages:
    125
    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2007
    OC Status Update: Obtaining a new high record!


    Unfortunately, things did not get smooth sailing as soon as I challenge my Q6600 G0's max stable OC. At 3720mhz, I can easily go into windows and do regular tasks at relatively low 1.41v but it's definetely not prime stable at this given Vcore.

    I tried to get preliminary prime stable result with each Vcore interval increment and I finally stopped at 1.55v set in BIOS. 1.55v set in BIOS = 1.5200v idle and 1.5120v full load. At this given Vcore, I was having difficulties in getting prime stable in less than a minute run.

    FSB 465 x 8 multiplier were the settings for 3720mhz.

    I know I'm near the boundary of my Q6600 G0 and P5K-Dlx's max stable FSB overclock, so even with relatively high Vcore, prime is not showing stability for the current OC stage in less than a min.

    I'm going to try to pass the OC beyond the previous 3.6ghz prime 8+ hour stable thredshold using the default x9 multiplier.

    More results to come :)



    FSB 460 x 8 was able to run prime's 3 tests for a couple mins before it failed, which is a little better than FSB 465 x 8. At this point I'm still trying to figure out whether if it's my air cooled setup that's reaching the max OC-ability for Q6600 G0 or may be that the CPU is near its max FSB OC or the motherboard is starting to show instability support at high FSB OC.


    [​IMG]
     
  21. LstOfTheBrunnenG

    LstOfTheBrunnenG [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    6,669
    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2003
    Man, you get one guy like this, and Newegg must get about a hundred Q6600 orders.

    Nice OC. I wish I had half your luck with overclocking.
     
  22. COCOViper

    COCOViper Gawd

    Messages:
    555
    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2000
    Dude nice OC.

    You have GOT to slap some watercooling on that. I bet you could toe 4GHz...maybe even pass it.
     
  23. Tiramisu

    Tiramisu [H]Lite

    Messages:
    125
    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2007
    LOL..talk about reference group. Newegg gotta thank us for bringing them customers :p


    You GOT that right, maybe you should send me a high-end watercooling kit and free install it for me as I'm totally new in the watercooling department and I'll send you the 4Ghz+ Prime stable screenie that you've wished for....LOLOLOL:cool: :D ;) :p
     
  24. Tiramisu

    Tiramisu [H]Lite

    Messages:
    125
    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2007
    Looks like I'm having better luck with x9 multiplier. Currently set FSB411 x 9 to get 3699mhz or 3.7ghz ;)

    1.500v BIOS set = 1.464v idle and 1.4480v full load. I can try lower the Vcore one or two interval lower at current clock speed.

    My goal is to find the sweetspot that's under Intel thermal spec of 71c for Q6600 G0. :)

    PS: An update on the next screenie will be uploaded shortly..! ;)


    [​IMG]
     
  25. COCOViper

    COCOViper Gawd

    Messages:
    555
    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2000
    You paypal me the cash for the kit and I would set it up for free- but that's the best offer you're prob going to get :cool:

    You've got to start reading up and planning on some WC though...would be a crime against everything [H] to have a chip like that and not do so.
     
  26. Tiramisu

    Tiramisu [H]Lite

    Messages:
    125
    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2007
    Ladies and Gentleman: 3737mhz per each core x 4 = 14948mhz - The future is here now!

    So far, it's prime stable 4+ loop and 1 hour 20min+ and counting.

    I can totally forget about dual cores now

    [​IMG]
     
  27. finalgt

    finalgt [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    5,506
    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2002
    [​IMG]Very tempted to go with a Q6600 about now. ;)
     
  28. Tiramisu

    Tiramisu [H]Lite

    Messages:
    125
    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2007

    You won't regret it.
    I can officially call E6850 vs Q6600 war to and end right now.
    Please check my next post ;)
     
  29. Tiramisu

    Tiramisu [H]Lite

    Messages:
    125
    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2007
    HOLY Sweet Jesus ! ! !

    At the current clock speed, it's already the same clock per core as my golden E6700 can do at the same voltage but 2x the core ! ! !

    I wonder what's the max clock speed at the current given voltage, can anyone care to take a guess ?! :D :D :D

    If 3780mhz is going to be prime stable for hours at the current given Vcore, I'll mark today as my second BD to celebrate...LOL!


    A one full round just passed...:)

    [​IMG]
     
  30. HarkovAdm

    HarkovAdm Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    232
    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2006
    well now I wonder if this guy has a "golden chip" or if the g0 stepping quads in general are just that good
     
  31. Tiramisu

    Tiramisu [H]Lite

    Messages:
    125
    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2007

    G0 Q6600 in general should be promising. 3.5~3.6ghz on air may be possible if you've the right combination of things: The best high-end air cooler + quad core optimized motherboard. In this case, definetely go with the ones I've chosen: Thermalright Ultra120 Extreme + Asus P5K-Deluxe. A pair of ram kit that will not bottleneck your overall OC path.

    In the end, it's also luck involved and the good batch also comes into play as usual :)
     
  32. ChronoReverse

    ChronoReverse [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,085
    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2005
    It's probably a combination of factors (including a good chip) that allows him to get such a nice result.


    I have competent (but not the best possible) air cooling on my G0 and I can go up to 3.3GHz without raising voltages. Temperatures do hit 70 degrees on heavy load stressing though.
     
  33. NIVO

    NIVO [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,254
    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2004
    Tiramisu, I have a few questions.

    #1 Did you take off any of the mobo cooling sinks/pipes and clean up the goop and reapply?

    #1a Are you using any aftermarket HS/F's on the chipset or mosfets?

    #2 Was there any problems or mods you needed to perform for the backplate to mount properly with that Extreme?

    #3 Any idea what kind of power draw you have when the cpu is under load at those speeds?

    Thanks for your time.
     
  34. beelzibub

    beelzibub Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    153
    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2007
    Oh man...this both excites me and confuses me... I thought that the 2x2gb Mushkin PC6400s were the way to go for me, but now that I've seen this overclock, it seems that I'll need PC8500. I'm basically going to have the same setup, just a different motherboard (probably a higher end Gigabyte or Abit P35 or maybe even an EVGA 680i). I'm kind of a noob when it comes to extreme overclocking, basically the dividers are confusing me. I thought a 1:1 ratio was best, but it looks like Tiramisu is using a 4:5 ratio. :confused: Can someone please fill me in??:confused:
     
  35. finalgt

    finalgt [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    5,506
    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2002
    Yes, he's running at fairly relaxed memory speeds considering the sticks he's using. This is probably for one of two reasons:

    1. Testing out the OC at low memory speeds to find the max CPU overclock, and then incrementally bumping the memory up once you find the CPU's limit. This is good practice in general.
    2. The second would be if he was running 4x1GB sticks; this makes it harder to OC the memory. However, he only has 2 gigs, so I dunno.
     
  36. TheInternet1980

    TheInternet1980 Gawd

    Messages:
    810
    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2005
    This thread convinced me. NCIXUS has money, and I will soon have a G0 Q6600 :)
     
  37. reswob

    reswob [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,589
    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2005
    I almost thought that was a joke that meant he had to go and search for it. "Slacker"

    But I take your word that it isn't a joke and that by actually seeing if the retail box has SLACR on it then it is a G0 stepping.
     
  38. mito

    mito Gawd

    Messages:
    598
    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2006
    from ncix yesterday........ :eek:

    Intel Q6600 LGA775 Kentsfield 2.40GHZ 1066FSB 8MB Retail B *IR-$14*
    EVGA E-GEFORCE 8800 Ultra SLI!
    EVGA Nforce 680I SLI LGA775 Conroe ATX DDR2 4


    what does "*IR-$14*" mean???
     
  39. Xilikon

    Xilikon [H]ard|DCer of the Year 2008

    Messages:
    14,495
    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2004
    instant rebate of 14$ ;)
     
  40. mito

    mito Gawd

    Messages:
    598
    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2006
    I was fantasizing about some special stepping........ :D