XP re-activation after new MB

Discussion in 'Operating Systems' started by freakyhair, Jul 16, 2008.

  1. freakyhair

    freakyhair Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    475
    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2002
    I'm sure this has been brought up before, but here goes anyway...

    I'm installing a new MB/CPU in my computer this weekend. I own Windows XP Pro retail, and I've installed new MB's before, and everytime, I have to call in to activate, and I just tell them my old MB crapped out, and I had to install a new one.

    Is there a limit to how many times I can do this? I truly only have it installed on this one 'computer'. I'm keeping the same VC, memory, HD's and OD's...

    Thanks.
     
  2. DeaconFrost

    DeaconFrost [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    11,018
    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2007
    I believe there is a limit, but that it expires every 6 months or so. Assuming you don't make this a monthly thing, you shouldn't have an issue.
     
  3. freakyhair

    freakyhair Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    475
    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2002
    OK good. I do a fresh install every 1-2 years, and also upgrade mobo/CPU in the same intervals (not always at the same time).

    Thanks again.
     
  4. Demon10000

    Demon10000 [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    4,502
    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2006
    You mentioned that you had a retail copy. There are no installation limits on the retail copy (well, other than you can only install it on the one machine).

    The OEM copies are what has the limitations.
     
  5. Rofl-Mic-Lofl

    Rofl-Mic-Lofl For Whom The Bell Trolls

    Messages:
    24,298
    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2005
    Ive had them tell me no, I hung up and called back and someone else activated it.
    loloutsourcing.
     
  6. mgars

    mgars Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    231
    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2003
    I think the only limitation would be only one computer and that you could do it as many times as you needed, if it wasn't abused (calling in every other day). In my experience, they have only asked a few questions and I had to state that I had reinstalled XP and it existed only on one machine.
     
  7. Demon10000

    Demon10000 [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    4,502
    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2006
    On a full retail version? Interesting.

    I can see that on an OEM version, but I wasn't aware of any limitations on the number of installs for a retail installation.
     
  8. milkweg

    milkweg [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,524
    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2007
    How would they know how many times you have activated it anyway if you do it over the phone and not the internet?
     
  9. Rofl-Mic-Lofl

    Rofl-Mic-Lofl For Whom The Bell Trolls

    Messages:
    24,298
    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2005
    I assume they have to log things...
     
  10. milkweg

    milkweg [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,524
    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2007
    Like what? When you do phone activation you read them the generated code and they read back an unlock code. There is no information transmitted that would identify your specific copy of the OS. You would have to provide them with the product code or serial number to do that, which you don't do on phone activation.
     
  11. ßeta

    ßeta [H]Lite

    Messages:
    64
    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2008
    I have had to reinstall my OEM 3 times and each time I had to call.
     
  12. amazon3d

    amazon3d Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    454
    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2007
    I did 6 XP Pro re-installs in one day and didn't have any issues. They were all OEM editions as that is what was donated (some units were XPH which we just pulled parts out of) The Activation code you tell them over the phone tells them what your Product ID is. They use decryption to tell if the product key is legit. I've only had trouble 1 time in getting it activated. But when I got the internet hooked in right it worked fine. I've only had to call in 2-3 times in the 35+ times I've activated windows XPP/H & Server 2k3.