XFX rx 5700 8g gives problem it reboot after opening games

DrDoU

2[H]4U
Joined
Jun 4, 2007
Messages
2,583
in the tomb raiders turn off exclusive full screen and see what happens
if running AB try turning off/on stealth mode
use ddu to remove current drivers and install only the 20.5.1 driver only to leave out all of the extra junk= overlays.
if turning off exclusive full works try to reenable the options IN game this may solve the problem and set your graphics prefernces. Shut down game and wait for it to save and start game/games tomb raiders.
 

ufollall

n00b
Joined
Jun 26, 2020
Messages
29
in the tomb raiders turn off exclusive full screen and see what happens
if running AB try turning off/on stealth mode
use ddu to remove current drivers and install only the 20.5.1 driver only to leave out all of the extra junk= overlays.
if turning off exclusive full works try to reenable the options IN game this may solve the problem and set your graphics prefernces. Shut down game and wait for it to save and start game/games tomb raiders.
Screen got stuck and it was flickering
 

cybereality

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Mar 22, 2008
Messages
5,665
Have you done any overclocking or messed with the BIOS at all?

I ask because I've had similar problems due to the main memory (RAM) speed.

You probably want to set it to Auto (which will likely be 2133) if it was on XMP or has been overclocked.

That could definitely be the cause of crash to desktop when opening games, it happened to me.

Even if you never overclocked, maybe just go into BIOS and select "load optimized defaults" in case something got messed up.
 

cybereality

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Mar 22, 2008
Messages
5,665
So you have an RX 570. That is very different than a 5700 card, but I don't think that changes the situation much.
 

ufollall

n00b
Joined
Jun 26, 2020
Messages
29
Have you done any overclocking or messed with the BIOS at all?

I ask because I've had similar problems due to the main memory (RAM) speed.

You probably want to set it to Auto (which will likely be 2133) if it was on XMP or has been overclocked.

That could definitely be the cause of crash to desktop when opening games, it happened to me.

Even if you never overclocked, maybe just go into BIOS and select "load optimized defaults" in case something got messed up.
no boss .. motherboard is brand new I haven't overclock anything..
 

ufollall

n00b
Joined
Jun 26, 2020
Messages
29
So you have an RX 570. That is very different than a 5700 card, but I don't think that changes the situation much.
Uploading all bios setting
 

Attachments

cybereality

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Mar 22, 2008
Messages
5,665
Did you build this machine or was it a pre-built?

I ask because sometimes machines from Dell don't seem to like you switching parts out.

I had one machine from a friend, we tried to add a GTX 970, even bought a new PSU, the machine wouldn't take it. I never quite figured out why.

Also, maybe just reset BIOS anyhow (there should be an option to "load optimized defaults" in the save menu, then click "save"). Worth a shot anyhow.
 

ufollall

n00b
Joined
Jun 26, 2020
Messages
29
Did you build this machine or was it a pre-built?

I ask because sometimes machines from Dell don't seem to like you switching parts out.

I had one machine from a friend, we tried to add a GTX 970, even bought a new PSU, the machine wouldn't take it. I never quite figured out why.

Also, maybe just reset BIOS anyhow (there should be an option to "load optimized defaults" in the save menu, then click "save"). Worth a shot anyhow.
Yes i have built the machine .. i dont trust any dell asus or ho they are just brand nothing else.

Will try to reset bios
 

pendragon1

Fully [H]
Joined
Oct 7, 2000
Messages
19,637
How to solve this problem .. shall i try rx 570 on old machine?
sure but only if it has a 500w+ psu.
try running the game that crash in a window instead of full screen. also do you get any error messages or do they just crash? could you post a vid of it happening?
 

crazycrave

Gawd
Joined
Mar 31, 2016
Messages
766
When you start the new install of the driver once up and running .. look below to additional settings and click it open and do factory reset as it will uninstall and reboot and start new driver install .. makes life so sweet on AMD
 

ufollall

n00b
Joined
Jun 26, 2020
Messages
29
When you start the new install of the driver once up and running .. look below to additional settings and click it open and do factory reset as it will uninstall and reboot and start new driver install .. makes life so sweet on AMD
Still same getting crash
 

DrDoU

2[H]4U
Joined
Jun 4, 2007
Messages
2,583
go into safe mode and use ddu to remove all video drivers. restart.Extract drivers but do not install. Go to device manager then display adapter then properties and install the display driver.This leaves only the driver no frills turn off AFB.
files can be found on C drive under AMD
 

ufollall

n00b
Joined
Jun 26, 2020
Messages
29
go into safe mode and use ddu to remove all video drivers. restart.Extract drivers but do not install. Go to device manager then display adapter then properties and install the display driver.This leaves only the driver no frills turn off AFB.
files can be found on C drive under AMD
Can you give me the link where i can download offline.. all the times it goes online installation
 

DrDoU

2[H]4U
Joined
Jun 4, 2007
Messages
2,583
to install just the driver it has to be done from the device manager. do not use the amd installer. the screen you see will not be present.
 

ufollall

n00b
Joined
Jun 26, 2020
Messages
29
to install just the driver it has to be done from the device manager. do not use the amd installer. the screen you see will not be present.
I just install from device manager and restarted the pc than tried to open games it works dew lins and than gets frey screen and hangs
 

crazycrave

Gawd
Joined
Mar 31, 2016
Messages
766
I don't know where you live , but Best Buy is the way I go as if there is an issue with the product then take it back .
 

legcramp

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Aug 16, 2004
Messages
11,007
Enjoy your system, I am running the same card too in my living room and it's still a beast at 1080p.
 

crazycrave

Gawd
Joined
Mar 31, 2016
Messages
766
I was starting to have some issues with my ref RX 5700 wanting to black out and come back on desktop and even switching drivers didn't help .. only thing that fixed it was AMD's June 3Rd chipset driver for my x470 / 3700x and new Windows 10 64bit May updates and driver 20 .5. 1 as it seems you need all 3 updates ..
 
Last edited:
Top