XFX rx 5700 8g gives problem it reboot after opening games

ufollall

n00b
Joined
Jun 26, 2020
Messages
29
Got a question

Whenever i open any games it reboots by itself soon after opening any games . i got

i5 9500 cpu
16g memory
XFX rx 5700 8g gpu
msi b365m pro vdh
windows 10

my games works fine on onboard graphics cards but some games works slow thats the reason i brought new gpu.
 

crazycrave

Gawd
Joined
Mar 31, 2016
Messages
766
If it has 2 power connections .. make sure they feed from two different 12v rails as my flashed XFX RX 5700 ref card likes it like that .
 

ufollall

n00b
Joined
Jun 26, 2020
Messages
29
If it has 2 power connections .. make sure they feed from two different 12v rails as my flashed XFX RX 5700 ref card likes it like that .
Yes supplying 12 v from 2 different cables .. can you tell me which psu do you have
 

Ready4Dis

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Nov 4, 2015
Messages
1,403
The CX650M is a semi modular PSU. 650W should be plenty for your 5700xt. What do you mean when you say extended cables? It should have come with 2 sets of PCI-E cables to plug in. You can use both to connect your GPU, but it shouldn't make much difference as the PSU is only a single rail anyways, so feeding with 1 or 2 cables it's still all from a common 12v rail. I am wondering what you mean by extended cables though, if you use and extension it could be having issues with getting enough power to the GPU through them. Why couldn't you plug them in directly? They should be plenty long in most any case. Are you sure you used the PCI-E connectors and plugged into the correct spot on the PSU? There is nothing wrong with that PSU for your use, so something else is causing the issues (how it's connected, make sure it's fully seating in PCI-E slot and locked, etc).
 

Ready4Dis

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Nov 4, 2015
Messages
1,403
If it has 2 power connections .. make sure they feed from two different 12v rails as my flashed XFX RX 5700 ref card likes it like that .
Yes supplying 12 v from 2 different cables .. can you tell me which psu do you have
This would only matter in a 2-rail PSU (this is a single 12v RAIL PSU, so using 2 cables = 1 rail) or if you have a cable that is falling apart (which means you shouldn't be using it single or double). If you have 2 cables though, you might as well use them, but this isn't the issue. If it fixes the issue, then there is an issue with the way you have it connected or the cable/extension you were using.
 

pendragon1

Fully [H]
Joined
Oct 7, 2000
Messages
19,637
The CX650M is a semi modular PSU. 650W should be plenty for your 5700xt. What do you mean when you say extended cables? It should have come with 2 sets of PCI-E cables to plug in. You can use both to connect your GPU, but it shouldn't make much difference as the PSU is only a single rail anyways, so feeding with 1 or 2 cables it's still all from a common 12v rail. I am wondering what you mean by extended cables though, if you use and extension it could be having issues with getting enough power to the GPU through them. Why couldn't you plug them in directly? They should be plenty long in most any case. Are you sure you used the PCI-E connectors and plugged into the correct spot on the PSU? There is nothing wrong with that PSU for your use, so something else is causing the issues (how it's connected, make sure it's fully seating in PCI-E slot and locked, etc).

it wasnt the op that listed the cx psu, it was crazy answering the op's question.
 

ufollall

n00b
Joined
Jun 26, 2020
Messages
29
The CX650M is a semi modular PSU. 650W should be plenty for your 5700xt. What do you mean when you say extended cables? It should have come with 2 sets of PCI-E cables to plug in. You can use both to connect your GPU, but it shouldn't make much difference as the PSU is only a single rail anyways, so feeding with 1 or 2 cables it's still all from a common 12v rail. I am wondering what you mean by extended cables though, if you use and extension it could be having issues with getting enough power to the GPU through them. Why couldn't you plug them in directly? They should be plenty long in most any case. Are you sure you used the PCI-E connectors and plugged into the correct spot on the PSU? There is nothing wrong with that PSU for your use, so something else is causing the issues (how it's connected, make sure it's fully seating in PCI-E slot and locked, etc).
Attached a file .. its a old 350w and got extension cables
 

Attachments

Ready4Dis

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Nov 4, 2015
Messages
1,403
Oh sorry, I saw crazycrave posted the CX650M, thought that was you saying that got myself confused! Yeah... that 350w PSU is probably having issues keeping up with the power requirements.

According to AMD
https://www.amd.com/system/files/documents/radeon-rx-5700-series-quick-start-guide-en.pdf
" Minimum 600W (recommended 700W) PSU with up to an 8-pin + 6-pin PCI Express Auxiliary connectors. This PSU recommendation is only for one Radeon RX 5700 series GPU installed per system. Additional GPUs will require more capable power supplies."

Your 350w is not going to cut it. That CX650M was probably supposed to be a suggestion from crazycrave. It's like $95 from Best Buy so you can get local. Semi modular so you don't have a bunch of unnecessary cables laying around. You can find cheapers ones too, but it would work well. That said, the 5700xt does use more power than a 5700 and you could probably get by with 500w (namebrand) PSU but I woudn't chance it. I would get a decent one that won't give you issues in the future. If you need help locating a decent one let us know your budget and if you were trying to find something local or are ok with newegg or amazon or new/used, etc. The game works with your on board because it's not pulling so many watts.
 

pendragon1

Fully [H]
Joined
Oct 7, 2000
Messages
19,637
Oh sorry, I saw crazycrave posted the CX650M, thought that was you saying that got myself confused! Yeah... that 350w PSU is probably having issues keeping up with the power requirements.

According to AMD
https://www.amd.com/system/files/documents/radeon-rx-5700-series-quick-start-guide-en.pdf
" Minimum 600W (recommended 700W) PSU with up to an 8-pin + 6-pin PCI Express Auxiliary connectors. This PSU recommendation is only for one Radeon RX 5700 series GPU installed per system. Additional GPUs will require more capable power supplies."

Your 350w is not going to cut it. That CX650M was probably supposed to be a suggestion from crazycrave. It's like $95 from Best Buy so you can get local. Semi modular so you don't have a bunch of unnecessary cables laying around. You can find cheapers ones too, but it would work well. That said, the 5700xt does use more power than a 5700 and you could probably get by with 500w (namebrand) PSU but I woudn't chance it. I would get a decent one that won't give you issues in the future. If you need help locating a decent one let us know your budget and if you were trying to find something local or are ok with newegg or amazon or new/used, etc. The game works with your on board because it's not pulling so many watts.
hes got a 5700 non xt and xfx recommends a 500w min, i think. nope youre right 600w. that post from crazy was what he has but is a good suggestion, if available now...
 

Ready4Dis

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Nov 4, 2015
Messages
1,403
hes got a 5700 non xt and xfx recommends a 500w min, i think. nope youre right 600w. that post from crazy was what he has but is a good suggestion, if available now...
Yeah, it'll run with a good 500w, but it's recommended 600w so I wouldn't skimp just to be safe.
 

ufollall

n00b
Joined
Jun 26, 2020
Messages
29
Oh sorry, I saw crazycrave posted the CX650M, thought that was you saying that got myself confused! Yeah... that 350w PSU is probably having issues keeping up with the power requirements.

According to AMD
https://www.amd.com/system/files/documents/radeon-rx-5700-series-quick-start-guide-en.pdf
" Minimum 600W (recommended 700W) PSU with up to an 8-pin + 6-pin PCI Express Auxiliary connectors. This PSU recommendation is only for one Radeon RX 5700 series GPU installed per system. Additional GPUs will require more capable power supplies."

Your 350w is not going to cut it. That CX650M was probably supposed to be a suggestion from crazycrave. It's like $95 from Best Buy so you can get local. Semi modular so you don't have a bunch of unnecessary cables laying around. You can find cheapers ones too, but it would work well. That said, the 5700xt does use more power than a 5700 and you could probably get by with 500w (namebrand) PSU but I woudn't chance it. I would get a decent one that won't give you issues in the future. If you need help locating a decent one let us know your budget and if you were trying to find something local or are ok with newegg or amazon or new/used, etc. The game works with your on board because it's not pulling so many watts.
I saw some psu from Amazon is it good one .
 

Attachments

Ready4Dis

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Nov 4, 2015
Messages
1,403
I was going to say I would go Corsair, EVGA or rosewill or something. Honestly CiT makes pretty decent power supplies, but since we don't get them here in the US not many will be able to vouch for them.
Funny I was about to post the exact same PSU as pendragon1, lol. £10 more and EVGA typically makes solid stuff.
 

Ready4Dis

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Nov 4, 2015
Messages
1,403

pendragon1

Fully [H]
Joined
Oct 7, 2000
Messages
19,637
I wouldn't say no, CiT aren't actually bad PSUs, but if it was my money/computer I'd spend the extra few £ for the EVGA. I just about posted the same link as you, same one I came up with, lol.
oh ok. i was going off the reviews stars and the fact ive never ever heard of them. assumptions, ya know :)
 

ufollall

n00b
Joined
Jun 26, 2020
Messages
29
I was going to say I would go Corsair, EVGA or rosewill or something. Honestly CiT makes pretty decent power supplies, but since we don't get them here in the US not many will be able to vouch for them.
Funny I was about to post the exact same PSU as pendragon1, lol. £10 more and EVGA typically makes solid stuff.
Thanks guys will give you result on Monday...
 

Ready4Dis

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Nov 4, 2015
Messages
1,403
oh ok. i was going off the reviews stars and the fact ive never ever heard of them. assumptions, ya know :)
Yeah, it's hard when it's not something most are familiar with and they are just ok, not great (but i'm sure it probably would have worked for this). I would prefer other brands before them though and for a £10 difference I would get the EVGA for sure. Rosewills are normally pretty good PSU's for a good price as well.
Matter of fact: https://www.amazon.co.uk/EVGA-WHITE...words=evga+power+supply&qid=1593217550&sr=8-2
This is the W2 600W EVGA and it's only £42. Not a huge difference, but hey, just another option.
 

cybereality

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Mar 22, 2008
Messages
5,665
EVGA is the best for PSUs as far as I am concerned.

There are many good ones, and sometimes you can get unlucky with a good brand, but EVGA has not let me down.
 

ufollall

n00b
Joined
Jun 26, 2020
Messages
29
Yeah, it's hard when it's not something most are familiar with and they are just ok, not great (but i'm sure it probably would have worked for this). I would prefer other brands before them though and for a £10 difference I would get the EVGA for sure. Rosewills are normally pretty good PSU's for a good price as well.
Matter of fact: https://www.amazon.co.uk/EVGA-WHITE...words=evga+power+supply&qid=1593217550&sr=8-2
This is the W2 600W EVGA and it's only £42. Not a huge difference, but hey, just another option.
Thanks guys... I’ve gone for EVGA 600 white ..
 

crazycrave

Gawd
Joined
Mar 31, 2016
Messages
766
Sorry , I got lost .. but to clear up what I am saying is that I have FLASHED Refence XFX RX 5700 = 190 watts as it blows my MSI RX 5700 Mech OC out = 150 watts

The CX 650 M can run CX Polaris in the from of RX 570's as why it has 2 x 12v rails .. So when you give the RX 5700 both rails it solved 98% of my issues and turning V- Sync off and using factory reset to clear the driver for new install solved the other issues .

I only buy the CX 650 M 's when Best Buy runs a sale on them as that one was $59 and the other one I own was $69
 

ufollall

n00b
Joined
Jun 26, 2020
Messages
29
Thanks guys... I’ve gone for EVGA 600 white ..
Received psu today and connect but
Some of the games working properly , some gives problem such as

shadow of the tombraider it loads after opening new gamein few secs goes black and windows 10 get stuck even rise of the tomb raider gives same error

little nightmareit loads and in few sec goes screen black and comes back same with the astoneer..
Is it graphic card problem?
 
Top