XCOM: Enemy Unknown PC gameplay demo and Multiplayer footage

ironforge

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Feb 7, 2006
Messages
1,234
I played through two abductions with good results then got smoked on the first UFO landing. Tried to advance too quickly.
 

Zoson

[H]ardness Supreme
Joined
Aug 4, 2001
Messages
6,115
I'd like to point out that if you do the tutorial, you should start over after you've played through it. Those three guys they force you to lose, you don't have to lose if you're smart about it.
 

MaZa

2[H]4U
Joined
Sep 21, 2008
Messages
2,811
Figures that we EU gamers have to wait for friday, AGAIN! God damnit stop this delayed release bullshit! The game is preloaded on my comp already and I need my X-Com fix! AAAAARGH!!!! :mad:
 

ValeTudo

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jan 29, 2010
Messages
482
Played a few last night myself, through the tutorial... really like it so far! Escort mission was pretty fun and had some surprises for me that I liked.

It will never be the same as the original... but so far this is really damn fun!
 

Zoson

[H]ardness Supreme
Joined
Aug 4, 2001
Messages
6,115
I thought I'd also mention this runs perfectly great on my UX31E-DH72.
2c/4t 1.8GHz i7 that turbos up to 2.9
Integrated HD3000 graphics.
1600x900 resolution
Medium setting in 'Graphics'
vsync and framerate smoothing disabled.
 

Serpent

2[H]4U
Joined
Jun 19, 2011
Messages
2,106
Holy crap does thsi game have a lot of bugs.

They should've polished it more. I just hit a bug where the screen litterally just moves back and back and back and I can't do anything to disrupt it... because like everything else, they really want you to see for the 50th time that your soldier heard something.

Sigh...... it's fun, but there are so many dumb flaws.
 

Stiler

[H]ardForum Junkie
Joined
Jun 4, 2002
Messages
10,538
I'm have fun but a few things I seemed to have somehow missed in the tutorial missions.

1. How do you recover aliens, arifacts, etc? Do you just have to move a squad member to an alien body? Or is it done automatically after the end of th emission and you simply get all the artifacts on the map randomly or what?

2. How do you capture aliens? In the second mission the scientist said I should "capture" the thin-alien for further study but I didn't know how, it never told me and my only option was to kill it it seems...

3. How do you determine the classes of your soldiers? Do they just randomly get assigned one?
 

kledar586

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Aug 8, 2009
Messages
1,063
in the original you can smoke a building until they fall unconscious, I think there was another way too but I forgot.
 

SubyJay

Limp Gawd
Joined
Feb 15, 2009
Messages
243
Yeah, I thought the classes were random. I havent seen anything yet that said how you "create" your class.
as for the mission, did they ask you to capture it alive? if so, at that point they mention the arc so you may have missed it. you have to build it. you should be able to see what your current objectives are

so far, put 5 hours into it.was doing good until my last mission, where i lost 4/5 squad members and im low on cash. is it me, or do the boards feel smaller and at times, almost linear or confined compared to the orginal
 

Serpent

2[H]4U
Joined
Jun 19, 2011
Messages
2,106
I'm pretty sure it's random.

Just to be sure, is there anyway to shut that scientist up when I use an explosive weapon? She seriously keeps talking and that disrupts the gameplay because I can't seem to do anything when she talks. Along with with soldiers talking about how they are hearing noises.
 

Zoson

[H]ardness Supreme
Joined
Aug 4, 2001
Messages
6,115
Sniper = S.C.O.P.E.
Support = Medkit
Assault = Arc Thrower
Heavy = Grenades

So far I've had a 100% success rate getting each class as I need them by following the above formula. When the rookie gets promoted to squaddie, if that's what was on them and I used the item, that's the class they got. And yes 'using' the scope is just shooting at people while it's equipped.
 

CreganTur

Gawd
Joined
Jan 15, 2004
Messages
882
How is the execution of this game on the 360? I really want to play but cannot play on my current rig and cannot upgrade.
 

Morathin

Limp Gawd
Joined
May 26, 2006
Messages
161
Sniper = S.C.O.P.E.
Support = Medkit
Assault = Arc Thrower
Heavy = Grenades

So far I've had a 100% success rate getting each class as I need them by following the above formula. When the rookie gets promoted to squaddie, if that's what was on them and I used the item, that's the class they got. And yes 'using' the scope is just shooting at people while it's equipped.
While this may be the case AFTER you research the scope or arc blaster, how do you account for getting a sniper or assault class BEFORE those things are researched?

I definately recieved a sniper before i even had a S.C.O.P.E. reseached, i added the scope to the sniper once i had it, but got the sniper before i reseached it. I dont know about assault because i didnt get one of those until after i had an arcblaster.
 

arentol

2[H]4U
Joined
Jun 15, 2004
Messages
2,712
Sniper = S.C.O.P.E.
Support = Medkit
Assault = Arc Thrower
Heavy = Grenades

So far I've had a 100% success rate getting each class as I need them by following the above formula. When the rookie gets promoted to squaddie, if that's what was on them and I used the item, that's the class they got. And yes 'using' the scope is just shooting at people while it's equipped.
Did not work for me. I have promoted all my original soldiers but only one became a Heavy, (the one you get no matter what), despite using grenades on half of them.
 

CreganTur

Gawd
Joined
Jan 15, 2004
Messages
882
Yeah, I also cannot find any way to force my rookies to upgrade how I want.

They really needed to be more clear about how to disarm the energy pods on the first bomb mission in the Tutorial- I was forced to abandon that mission because I just couldn't figure out how to disarm the stupid things until I randomly pressed "A" when next to one (playing on the 360).

The abort mission text is also misleading- it popped up when I was pulling my team back to the dropship because the bomb was going to go off (and I hadn't located it yet). I chose to abort, because it seemed like the right choice, but it caused me to lose my ranked Heavy, Assault, and Support. Thankfully my Sniper at least survived.
 

requiem99

[H]ardness Supreme
Joined
Mar 4, 2003
Messages
4,532
Friend of mine just brought over the full game to show me how bad it was. He said I could have it if I want it, but after 2 hours I don't even want a free copy. This is worse than I actually thought it would be, and I thought it would suck. This isn't even a strategy game, and it certainly isn't a fucking XCOM game. Disgraceful.
 

Seelenlos

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Apr 27, 2005
Messages
1,115
Despite all the annoyances and flaws I'm enjoying it. They really should have taken a few more months to polish things. The auto zoom is going to drive me nuts. Controls and user interface just feel off overall.

Is there a mission map?

Happy to be playing xcom again but wish it was little closer to the original.
 

Zoson

[H]ardness Supreme
Joined
Aug 4, 2001
Messages
6,115
Friend of mine just brought over the full game to show me how bad it was. He said I could have it if I want it, but after 2 hours I don't even want a free copy. This is worse than I actually thought it would be, and I thought it would suck. This isn't even a strategy game, and it certainly isn't a fucking XCOM game. Disgraceful.
trolololololol :rolleyes:
I think it retains pretty much just about everything that made the original great...

I haven't found many annoyances... just sometimes it's hard to get the right camera angle, or walls flicker when trying to get a guy to move right up against them.

Not sure what the deal is with you guys, but I ended up with 4 support, 4 heavies, 4 assault, and 2 snipers... one of the heavies and one of the assault I got from completing missions (got one that started as a sergeant and one that started as a captain). I had 100% success getting the guys I wanted using the method I outlined. Maybe you didn't 'use' the items? E.G. did you throw any frag grenades, or actually shoot anything?

Haven't lost a guy yet. Playing on 'classic' difficulty. So far the hardest missions are UFO landings, IMO. I've got the quest to invade the alien base, but am waiting for some $$$ to build some new body armor.
 

kledar586

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Aug 8, 2009
Messages
1,063
Took the plunge despite the demo being very meh. Solid game so far, ran into an annoying bug that made me start the game over, control scheme still annoying but getting use to it now. Solid remake of the original, its not an exact copy. I do wish I can customize my inventory like the original.

FYI, the invade alien base mission, yea going in with only laser weapons and no upgraded body armor was not a good idea.
 

Serpent

2[H]4U
Joined
Jun 19, 2011
Messages
2,106
Despite all the annoyances and flaws I'm enjoying it. They really should have taken a few more months to polish things. The auto zoom is going to drive me nuts. Controls and user interface just feel off overall.

Is there a mission map?

Happy to be playing xcom again but wish it was little closer to the original.
Indeed...

What do you mean mission map? You mean, complete map of the stage your on? I don't think so. I think all you get is the radar.
 

Zoson

[H]ardness Supreme
Joined
Aug 4, 2001
Messages
6,115
Indeed...

What do you mean mission map? You mean, complete map of the stage your on? I don't think so. I think all you get is the radar.
In the original XCOM you could bring up a map of the current mission... It didn't just show you everything. It only showed you what you had revealed from the fog of war... Also gave you a top down grid view of all your units.

It was a nice feature, but I think unnecessary with the level of detail we get while in a mission now.
 

Stiler

[H]ardForum Junkie
Joined
Jun 4, 2002
Messages
10,538
I'm not sure why people are saying the controls on pc are bad.

There's remapping and the camera has never bugged out on my.

F/C to change levels, w/s/a/d to move it, q/e to turn it, it feels very natural and suited to pc imo.

Plus the menu's you can actually use a mouse on.
 

ironforge

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Feb 7, 2006
Messages
1,234
I haven't had much problem with the PC controls. The only thing that gets me is switching weapons. Sometimes switching between sniper rifle and pistol, if I accidentally double click on the sniper rifle it will RELOAD. You can't reload and shoot in the same round so there goes his shot.
 

Zoson

[H]ardness Supreme
Joined
Aug 4, 2001
Messages
6,115
I haven't had much problem with the PC controls. The only thing that gets me is switching weapons. Sometimes switching between sniper rifle and pistol, if I accidentally double click on the sniper rifle it will RELOAD. You can't reload and shoot in the same round so there goes his shot.
Yeah, I've run into a couple of situations where I was cursing the lack of a 'cancel last action' button where I accidentally reloaded when I didn't want to, or set someone on overwatch when I didn't want to...
 

Seelenlos

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Apr 27, 2005
Messages
1,115
In the original XCOM you could bring up a map of the current mission... It didn't just show you everything. It only showed you what you had revealed from the fog of war... Also gave you a top down grid view of all your units.

It was a nice feature, but I think unnecessary with the level of detail we get while in a mission now.
Yup that is what I wanted. I like it mainly for a quick look at where everything is. Maps so far are not that big so not a big deal just something else I miss.

I'm not sure why people are saying the controls on pc are bad.

There's remapping and the camera has never bugged out on my.

F/C to change levels, w/s/a/d to move it, q/e to turn it, it feels very natural and suited to pc imo.

Plus the menu's you can actually use a mouse on.
For me it is just little things. Like over watch not being the same number for everyone. Would make much more sense imo for the first keys to all be the same for the same abilities and then have them change. As an example 1 should always be your basic fire, 2 should always be overwatch then 3 could be gren or stun etc. Just kills my flow in battle and find myself backing up a lot.

Clicking on soldiers to change their loadouts, you can't click on the soldier you have to click under them, changing items you click on the item then need to click again to get info on the item.

I want to stay zoomed out, i dont mind the action sequences when they zoom in on an alien or trooper but once it is done it should remember where i had it zoomed to and go back to that. I like to see the battlefield not just the immediate area around one guy.

Has anyone screwed up a grenade toss yet? So far all of mine have been perfect. I miss not always being sure you won't mess up with a grenade or heavy weapon, added to the suspense.

Minor compliants but they add up. So while I am liking the game and can't wait to get home and play some more it could have been better.
 

Stiler

[H]ardForum Junkie
Joined
Jun 4, 2002
Messages
10,538
Was about to play but steam started downloading a 1.8GB patch...wonder what it is.
 

Zoson

[H]ardness Supreme
Joined
Aug 4, 2001
Messages
6,115
*snip*
For me it is just little things. Like over watch not being the same number for everyone. Would make much more sense imo for the first keys to all be the same for the same abilities and then have them change. As an example 1 should always be your basic fire, 2 should always be overwatch then 3 could be gren or stun etc. Just kills my flow in battle and find myself backing up a lot.

Clicking on soldiers to change their loadouts, you can't click on the soldier you have to click under them, changing items you click on the item then need to click again to get info on the item.

I want to stay zoomed out, i dont mind the action sequences when they zoom in on an alien or trooper but once it is done it should remember where i had it zoomed to and go back to that. I like to see the battlefield not just the immediate area around one guy.

Has anyone screwed up a grenade toss yet? So far all of mine have been perfect. I miss not always being sure you won't mess up with a grenade or heavy weapon, added to the suspense.

Minor compliants but they add up. So while I am liking the game and can't wait to get home and play some more it could have been better.
I hadn't thought about it, but all of these things annoy the hell out of me also.

I have messed up a grenade toss, it just didn't land where i told the unit to throw it... it was off to one side... so instead of damaging three guys with the grenade, it only hit one. I reloaded after that because it was mutons and they proceeded to have their way with my squad.
 

Zoson

[H]ardness Supreme
Joined
Aug 4, 2001
Messages
6,115
So ummm with triple monitors the game plays UPSIDE DOWN. What the fuck?
I don't have this issue.

I did run into the issue mentioned by someone else where all the buttons and mouse disappear in the middle of a mission and you have to tab out and kill the game with task manager...

Took down my first alien base! That was [H]ard. I'm also on my first "Alien Terror Ship UFO Landing site" Had no issues killing all the mutons and the one raging muton guy... But there are three sectoid commanders in the back of the ship giving me a lot of grief. Normally I'd just toss a 'nade in there and be done with it... But I'm outta nades... :(
 

maboblivion

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Sep 12, 2011
Messages
1,586
game is bit buggy , but enjoyed it throughly.
Lil issue with the lines that show where u can move took 10 sec to pop up .... no sure what thats all bout.

Also last mission i lowered my hovering tank down and it clipped right through a guard rail , meaning i was without it vs the last end part. xD
 

MaZa

2[H]4U
Joined
Sep 21, 2008
Messages
2,811
So far this has been a great game, but I have few complaints, two minor and one major. A minor one is that autopsies are dissapointing, no actual pictures of what the alien looks like from the inside etc. Another minor is that a the landing spot is always secure. Remember those moments in X-Com where you failed to neutralise enemies around your Skyranger, resulting in Alien Grenade thrown into your ship resulting in half of your squad getting wiped out? Not going to happen in this game.

The major one is that every single time you see an alien, they see you and scurry into cover. No matter what you do, you cannot surprise them! WTF!? This actually angers me!


Otherwise the game has been great!
 

Zoson

[H]ardness Supreme
Joined
Aug 4, 2001
Messages
6,115
The major one is that every single time you see an alien, they see you and scurry into cover. No matter what you do, you cannot surprise them! WTF!? This actually angers me!
You can surprise them. You need to use the sniper scanner thing.
 

maademperor

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Oct 19, 2005
Messages
1,442
So far this has been a great game, but I have few complaints, two minor and one major. A minor one is that autopsies are dissapointing, no actual pictures of what the alien looks like from the inside etc. Another minor is that a the landing spot is always secure. Remember those moments in X-Com where you failed to neutralise enemies around your Skyranger, resulting in Alien Grenade thrown into your ship resulting in half of your squad getting wiped out? Not going to happen in this game.

The major one is that every single time you see an alien, they see you and scurry into cover. No matter what you do, you cannot surprise them! WTF!? This actually angers me!


Otherwise the game has been great!
+1
I want to see a complete alien vivisection! And the no surprise thing is puzzling and annoying since they can not only run into cover but also farther into the fog of war too
 

Zoson

[H]ardness Supreme
Joined
Aug 4, 2001
Messages
6,115
Again... the battle scanner doesn't draw aggro.

Edit: ugh built an alloy shiv and took it on a mission... no weapon, no buttons for doing anything in fact... only movement.
Edit2: UGH! looks like the patch broke battle scanners too... WTH!
 
Last edited:

Serpent

2[H]4U
Joined
Jun 19, 2011
Messages
2,106
Oh my god....... I didn't save and I was on the big ethereal ship base mission. And the game CRASHED! I didn't even lose, it just crashed!
 

MaZa

2[H]4U
Joined
Sep 21, 2008
Messages
2,811
You can surprise them. You need to use the sniper scanner thing.

And then snipe them with the help of shoot-what-other-ally-sees skill? I'm not sure thats intented gameplay mechanic. The problem still stands, no matter how quiet you are (IE dont kick down doors, which is supposed to be quiet they say but in reality there is no difference) you get the same god damn growling close up scene and them scurrying into safety.

In bad case scenario game even CHEATS using this feature. In Alien Base I took down few hours ago I was moving the last man of my turn and he saw 3 Chryssalids, resulting in them scurrying CLOSER to me, infact they pretty much surrounded the guy on the spot, and then it was immidietly their turn. Guess how well that went... :mad:
 

MaZa

2[H]4U
Joined
Sep 21, 2008
Messages
2,811
+1
I want to see a complete alien vivisection! And the no surprise thing is puzzling and annoying since they can not only run into cover but also farther into the fog of war too

Well, Vivisection is bit too much as that implies surgery alive without anesthesia. :D Dissection however, yes! I may be bit mentally disturbed, but looking autopsies were one of my fav things back then. Satisfies my morbid curiosity to read what makes them tick AND seeing it in front of you. :D
 
Top