X99 on mITX: ASRock X99E-itx/ac

Discussion in 'Small Form Factor Systems' started by Phuncz, Mar 13, 2015.

  1. Neapolitan6th

    Neapolitan6th Gawd

    Messages:
    1,016
    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2016
    Didn't even realize there was a new one..! I'm at least glad to know they'd support it. Fair point about bifurcation. I'm thinking theres a chance some special bioses changes that were made might not be contained in the new revision (like 3.63)
     
  2. {NG}Fidel

    {NG}Fidel [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    6,216
    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2005
    As stupid as it sounds, I believe I've installed them with no issue but I'll check asap.
     
  3. CybKnight

    CybKnight [H]Lite

    Messages:
    70
    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2007
    I believe this should be the Meltdown / Spectre BIOS fix. Not sure they would released an update otherwise?
    But I am kind of locked into the two PCIe slots right now.
     
  4. QuantumBraced

    QuantumBraced Gawd

    Messages:
    578
    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2015
    Guys, is it possible to install an L9x65 on this board using Noctua's Narrow ILM kit? Or will the cooler interfere with the memory and other stuff around the socket?
     
    D10S likes this.
  5. D10S

    D10S Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    132
    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2017
    Hello QuantumBraced , I had mounted a Noctua NH-U9DX i4 and everything was ok,
    I sincerely believe not, but Wednesday I get theL9x65 to test,
    I still have the mobo X99 (which I must put on sale), I try to tell you....

    IMG_6456 3.jpg
     
  6. QuantumBraced

    QuantumBraced Gawd

    Messages:
    578
    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2015
    Thanks! You know, based on further research, I'm almost certain now that it won't fit as it would interfere with the RAM. But if you could do a very quick test just laying it over the socket to verify, I'd much appreciate it :)

    What will you be testing the L9x65 on? This clearly isn't for your A4-SFX project.
     
    Last edited: Mar 27, 2018
    D10S likes this.
  7. D10S

    D10S Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    132
    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2017
     

    Attached Files:

    QuantumBraced and Neapolitan6th like this.
  8. QuantumBraced

    QuantumBraced Gawd

    Messages:
    578
    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2015
    Thanks! So I guess it's not possible unless you want to use a single stick of memory.
     
    D10S likes this.
  9. Volkswagen

    Volkswagen Moderator Staff Member

    Messages:
    4,774
    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2002
    If anyone wants an Bitspower ASROCK X99E-ITX Block for this board for cheap- PM me.
    I have one.
     
    {NG}Fidel, D10S and Neapolitan6th like this.
  10. branana

    branana Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    272
    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2004
    Anyone else here using a 1650 or 1680 v3 with this? My 1650v3 that runs x45 multiplier on gigabyte and EVGA x99 boards doesn't seem to overclock on this asrock board. I can set the multiplier to 45 but in the OS it never says it goes above 3.6 .


    Am I missing something in the stocka bios?
     
  11. Epos7

    Epos7 Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    232
    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2015
    I'm having some Bluetooth issues with my board and I'm wondering if my wireless card has gone bad. I've been using an Intel 7260 for the last few years, but it may have crapped out.

    Will the 9260 fit this board? Looks like the pins are a little different but I think it would work. I'm confused by all the different form factors - PCIe half mini, m2...
     
  12. Neapolitan6th

    Neapolitan6th Gawd

    Messages:
    1,016
    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2016
    Last I looked into it, this board uses mini-pcie (aka PCIE Mini Card)

    It is a different form factor and key than M.2 and carries x1 pcie bandwidth
     
    Last edited: Nov 4, 2018
  13. Epos7

    Epos7 Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    232
    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2015
    Ah yeah now that you mention it the 9260 doesn't appear to be available in PCIe half mini.

    Wondering about this Broadcom card:

    https://www.amazon.com/BCM94352HMB-802-11-867Mbps-WLAN-BT4-0/dp/B074Q2WDRM

    It seems to have a good reputation for Bluetooth functionality, which is what I'm looking for.

    The description states the motherboard must open the USB bus for the Bluetooth function to work, so I need to figure out if that is the case on the X99e-ITX/AC

    edit - just realized that's the same card that's included with the X99-ITX/AC. I didn't have great luck with it originally, so I replaced it with the 7260
     
    Last edited: Nov 4, 2018
  14. sdfewfe

    sdfewfe [H]Lite

    Messages:
    85
    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2015
    The x99e-itx does indeed route the USB pins on the miniPCIe slot, can confirm that from using a BCM94360CD card with it, which needs USB for bluetooth too. Perhaps not relevant for you since it's the stock card anyway, but just in case anyone else stumbles across the post in the future.
     
    Neapolitan6th likes this.
  15. Epos7

    Epos7 Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    232
    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2015
    I ended up replacing the Intel 7260 with the original included Broadcom card. I downloaded the Bluetooth drivers from ASRock and am back in business.

    My Bluetooth device was out of battery, so I also replaced the batteries in that. I think what was happening is the device was dying from low power, and for whatever reason the Intel drivers didn't know how to handle it, causing my computer to lock up. The Intel card never had an issue with other Bluetooth devices, but for whatever reason this one (Xbox One wireless controller) really tripped it up.
     
    Neapolitan6th likes this.
  16. Sparky

    Sparky 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,196
    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2000
    Dont update BIOS to latest if you have 5960x. Luckily our bios chips can be replaced by pulling them out. Ebay flashed with 1.60 saved me.

    After 3 years with regular maintenance no complaints here aside from the BIOS flash. SM951 still reading/writing strong. I upgraded to a Titan V. Intel finally has another 8c/16t chip at half the price of my 5960x.
     
    Last edited: Nov 7, 2018
    {NG}Fidel likes this.
  17. geos

    geos n00b

    Messages:
    1
    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2018
    I have and issue with 64GB module on X99e-itx/ac motherboard.

    It is reported above that this motherboard works with two 64GB stick marked M393A8G40D40-CRB. I found the photo of this module and it looks like this (note 2S4Rx4 rank):

    M393A8G40D40.jpg

    I have different 64GB module which looks like this (note 2DRx4 rank):

    IMG_20181122_110706a.jpg

    The latter one doesn't work in this mobo. I asked Asrock support for hints why some 64GB modules work while others don't. They replied to me this way:

    Screenshot - 01.12.2018 - 21:04:15.png

    And this is black magic to me. Could someone take a look at their answer and translate it to not-advanced-causual-computer-user language? Looking at their answer I still cannot figure out which ranks are supposed to work, which aren't and for which I should look on the market to minimize the risk of failure.

    I would appreciate your help.

    thank you,
    geos

    ps. I have 32GB LRDIMM module that looks like this:

    IMG_20181122_110706b.jpg

    and it works like a charm in this motherboard.
     
    Neapolitan6th likes this.
  18. {NG}Fidel

    {NG}Fidel [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    6,216
    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2005
    Just posting that the new Corsair line doesn't support the old asetek bracket. Don't waste your time. Had to go kraken x52 for an immediate fix.
     
    Neapolitan6th likes this.
  19. QuantumBraced

    QuantumBraced Gawd

    Messages:
    578
    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2015
    Is it possible to have more than 32GB of RAM with a non-Xeon CPU in the X99e-itx/ac?
     
  20. sdfewfe

    sdfewfe [H]Lite

    Messages:
    85
    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2015
    Most 32GB+ moduels are RDIMM or LRDIMM, which won't work with non-Xeon CPUs. There isn't any 32GB UDIMMS on the market as far as I know. Samsung recently released some 32GB SO-DIMM modules. IF they released a 32GB UDIMM, then in theory it might work. Or you could try with a SO-DIMM to DIMM adapter.
     
    QuantumBraced and Neapolitan6th like this.
  21. QuantumBraced

    QuantumBraced Gawd

    Messages:
    578
    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2015
    Thanks. I looked this up, and apparently Samsung also released 32GB UDIMMs.

    See here: Samsung Adds 32 GB UDIMMs to Memory Lineup

    I'm sure they'll be unavailable/extremely overpriced for a long time, but I'd be curious to see if they work in the board. I don't see why they wouldn't.
     
  22. sdfewfe

    sdfewfe [H]Lite

    Messages:
    85
    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2015
    Another alternative would be to go with the EPC612D4I board, which has 4 SODIMM slots. That would give you even more capacity, and quad channel. Should work with non-Xeon CPUs, I think. Or go for X299.
     
  23. QuantumBraced

    QuantumBraced Gawd

    Messages:
    578
    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2015
    Thanks, I already have the X99e-itx/ac, I was just thinking about how far I can take it into the future.
     
  24. {NG}Fidel

    {NG}Fidel [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    6,216
    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2005
    6950 and those 32GB dimms should take us as few years ahead with a good OC.
     
  25. sdfewfe

    sdfewfe [H]Lite

    Messages:
    85
    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2015
    Oh, I was just thinking that 4x16G SO-DIMMS plus a new board might still be cheaper than 2x32GB DIMMS. ;)
     
  26. QuantumBraced

    QuantumBraced Gawd

    Messages:
    578
    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2015
    Agreed. 6950X may be $450 in a year or so. And then if the future truly is multi-core, one of those 22-core Xeons may be an upgrade after that. The 32GB DIMMs may take a while to come down in price, but 32GB is enough for me at the moment.

    At some point, it becomes more cost-effective to just get a new board and new stuff. I know someone who still has an AM2+ board from 2008, recently got the most powerful Phenom II X6 CPU for it, 16GB of DDR2, an SSD, and a 1050 Ti, and it's basically a modern gaming PC for not-too-demanding games. But honestly, if he'd just gotten the cheapest H310 motherboard and a Pentium dual-core, it would have performed better and supported all the new features and an upgrade path to a 9900K. So at some point, money is better spent on upgrading your whole platform haha.

    Yeah, good point. I'm not getting those anytime soon, I'm just glad they exist. I wasn't sure if they were going to do 32GB DDR4 UDIMMs before moving to DDR5.
     
    {NG}Fidel likes this.
  27. Neapolitan6th

    Neapolitan6th Gawd

    Messages:
    1,016
    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2016
    If I had known Ryzen would come out... Haha. Jumped on with a 6800k myself.

    To think you can jump on AM4 with a $50 200GE and a $90 ITX motherboard. And later upgrade to some yet to be announced 8, 12, maybe 16 core part.

    I'm in the same boat as you. I don't really need the upgrade, but I sure wish there was a frugal upgrade path here.
     
    {NG}Fidel likes this.
  28. {NG}Fidel

    {NG}Fidel [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    6,216
    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2005
    Yeah I'm in the same boat. No need to upgrade but I Love knowing the ability to do it will be simple and cost effective. At this point I'm planning on going new platform if i were to upgrade but that's still two to three years away.
     
    Neapolitan6th likes this.
  29. QuantumBraced

    QuantumBraced Gawd

    Messages:
    578
    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2015
    Question, can the L12S fit on the X99E-ITX/ac with the Noctua narrow ILM kit? I'm thinking about getting the new Lone Industries L5 case when it launches.
     
  30. fs454

    fs454 n00b

    Messages:
    58
    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2015
    Reporting in 3 years later - I've got the X99E-ITX/ac still running strong with my weirdo engineering sample 12-core Xeon E5-2676V3, Noctua NH-C14S, 32GB RAM and MSI GTX 980 Ti. It's been in my backpack and travelled all across the country, done countless overnight transcoding sessions and long hours of gaming. Despite my CPU being 2.4ghz with 3ghz boost, I've been able to shred games and never felt bottlenecked by clock speed, especially because my favorite games (BF1, BFV) are multicore happy. The CPU heatsink is literally cool to the touch at all times, even under heavy sustained loads. I wish I could overclock it.

    Plan on shoving a 2080Ti in there this month and keep it going for another couple years. Maybe do a 6950X when the prices come down and clock it to the sky.
     
  31. blazethelight

    blazethelight n00b

    Messages:
    10
    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2019
    Hey guys & ASRock X99E-ITX owners.

    I am searching this board for a while and can't find a shop anymore for buy.

    I want an upgrade of M-ITX System with a Intel Xeon E5-2618L v4 and 128 GB / 256GB (2X 64 GB or 2x128 GB reg RDIMMs working?)


    Anybody here, who wants to sell the board?
    It would nicely....

    Thanks
     
    {NG}Fidel likes this.
  32. {NG}Fidel

    {NG}Fidel [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    6,216
    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2005
    I thought about 6950x myself but with the new cpus on both sides it hard to stay on x99. I will say I have no solid reason to upgrade yet but I want too.
     
  33. Blue Fox

    Blue Fox [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    11,669
    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2004
    If you're patient, I'll be selling mine in a couple weeks.
     
  34. blazethelight

    blazethelight n00b

    Messages:
    10
    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2019
    Blue Fox: Thats great!

    Thanks a lot : )

    If you like, PM than.


    - Any recommendation for big sticks (above 32 GB) of DDR4 reg RDIMMs @ 2133 MHz / @ 2400 MHz (available in EU & working on this board)?
    - It´s possibility of disassemble the DRAM Slots for black painting?
     
  35. ///AMG

    ///AMG 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,089
    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2012
    I’m upgrading to get more cores and higher clocks on the cores. But I won’t be selling my set up keeping it for a second workstation.
     
    {NG}Fidel likes this.
  36. blazethelight

    blazethelight n00b

    Messages:
    10
    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2019
  37. Blue Fox

    Blue Fox [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    11,669
    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2004
    Can't help you with larger DIMMs as I'm using 2 x 32GB personally, but for Supermicro heatsinks, you would want the SNK-P0050AP4 model. There are also a lot of other good options from Noctua. I'm using a NH-U9DXi4 myself. The NH-U12DXi4 would also work for you.
     
  38. blazethelight

    blazethelight n00b

    Messages:
    10
    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2019

    Thanks.

    I am forget to tell you, that iam using the DAN-A4 v2 Case & iam a little limited of space...

    But the Supermicro cooler has the correct dimensions?
    I have to check a comparison with the LP53 Cooler for size.
     
  39. blazethelight

    blazethelight n00b

    Messages:
    10
    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2019
  40. Blue Fox

    Blue Fox [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    11,669
    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2004
    With that chassis, none of the Supermicro HSF will work. You should ask in the thread for the chassis since I think a few others have a similar setup.