X8DTI-LN4F - any processors worth putting in it?

Discussion in 'Multiprocessing Systems' started by Joust, Jul 2, 2019.

  1. Joust

    Joust 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,929
    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2017
    Just bought a chassis that has a X8DTI-LN4F Mobo. Anything worth putting in it for use or scrap it? I guess it supports Xeon 5500 and 5600 series processors.

    Edit: has two E5620 in it.
     
  2. ChRoNo16

    ChRoNo16 [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,452
    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2011
    try and slap some i7's in it maybe?
     
  3. Spartacus09

    Spartacus09 [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,064
    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2018
    Pretty sure it only takes the xeon 5500 and 5600 processors since its a dual socket board.
     
    AceGoober, Red Falcon and auntjemima like this.
  4. auntjemima

    auntjemima [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    5,030
    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2014
  5. Gilthanis

    Gilthanis [H]ard|DCer of the Year - 2014

    Messages:
    7,843
    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2006
    Last edited: Jul 4, 2019
  6. Joust

    Joust 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,929
    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2017
    Looks like x5675 seems to be the sweet spot of performance to power consumption? Using it for, potentially, Plex transcoding.

    I have a boatload of HDD's to get administered by this thing (or another product). Like, 42 drives in multiple arrays - vdevs - in FreeBSD/FreeNAS.
     
  7. Gilthanis

    Gilthanis [H]ard|DCer of the Year - 2014

    Messages:
    7,843
    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2006
    I just bought 2 of the x5650's today for less than $20. https://www.ebay.com/itm/2x-Intel-X...e=STRK:MEBIDX:IT&_trksid=p2057872.m2749.l2649

    Those x5675's are still $35+ each. If you need the extra clock speed then go for it. I'm doubting I will really notice much. I actually had second thoughts about buying the x5650's as I'm now thinking the power savings would be a better trade off for me by going with the L5640's. I run my chips 24/7 at 100% load, so would definitely notice the power difference...lol
     
  8. Gilthanis

    Gilthanis [H]ard|DCer of the Year - 2014

    Messages:
    7,843
    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2006
    Depending on your case and whether you have a Plex Pass, you may find getting a good GPU to use for transcoding to be better. When I had a free month of Plex Pass (still waiting on a $75 coupon to randomly arrive in my inbox) I didn't see the option to tell the server to use the GPU. However, people on SD site are always chattering about certain cards known for being able to handle several transcoding streams at once.
     
  9. Joust

    Joust 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,929
    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2017
    I've been waiting since February for a Plex pass sale. I don't know what does a great job, but I have a spare Rx580 8gb I can put in.
    My use case is less than 10 users on the host described in my earlier post. I didn't really plan to use the hardware, but it came in the chassis I just bought. Along with some ram.

    I dunno, man. Just trying to salvage the gear if it's worth doing so. Might be better to just pick up a second gen Ryzen product and go that route.

    Edit: my cases are supermicro cse846, and a cse836, and whatever the 12-bay one is, probably 826. The biggest is 4u.
     
  10. Gilthanis

    Gilthanis [H]ard|DCer of the Year - 2014

    Messages:
    7,843
    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2006
    I currently use a 3930k for my Plex server but only have maybe 2 or 3 streams going at once at any given time. Since I don't have the pass yet, I'm limited to CPU transcoding if it ends up being needed (if I have read the correct info). Then again, I compress a lot of mine down anyways with handbrake as I don't have any need for 4K at this point in time. FireStick gen 1 had the most issues for me but I found if I streamed to some other player other than the Plex app, it worked tons better or rendered it in a different format. Chromecast 1st gen has ran fine. I honestly don't know if you will run into any issues, but its worth giving a try. I would start with the CPU's you already have and see how it fares with just those. That should give you a good baseline.
     
  11. Ready4Dis

    Ready4Dis Gawd

    Messages:
    555
    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2015
    I put two L5640's into my server, with 96gb of DDR3 (bought from the For Sale/Trade section on here). Seems to do most everything I need at the moment. 6 core/12 thread each, so 12/24 total. It's the 'low' power variant, although from what I've seen, it doesn't get any better idle power than the X series, so if you don't tend to hit higher power consistently, probably won't make much of a difference.
     
  12. Spartacus09

    Spartacus09 [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,064
    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2018
    The X9 e5-2600 v2 ivy processors are alot more power efficient than the X8 neh/west.
    The best bang for buck IMO is in the X9 or if you want a little more futureproof the X10 with the v3 processors which get a higher core/thread count for a similar power usage as the v2, but you're gonna pay at least 30% more for it depending on the processor/board you choose.

    My main box I have a X10 and e5-2660 v3, my backup is a x9 and e5-1650 v2.. I really need to get some power usage stats for them.
     
  13. Ready4Dis

    Ready4Dis Gawd

    Messages:
    555
    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2015
    My mother board only accepts 55xx and 56xx... I would love to upgrade but it's not the cheapest thing to do just for my house. Heck a new ryzen system would easily blow this thing away.
     
  14. Spartacus09

    Spartacus09 [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,064
    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2018
    True but a ryzen will cost you alot more especially in DDR4 ram (depending on how much ram you need), wont have IPMI, and isn’t enterprise grade equipment. So all depends on your use case and what you value, I don’t think I’d ever buy a system I’m using for storage/server without ipmi/ilo/idrac again.
     
  15. Ready4Dis

    Ready4Dis Gawd

    Messages:
    555
    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2015
    I understand, hence still using what I have. Just saying E5 isn't just a simple drop in, I would need an entire new server at which point I could look at newer options.
     
  16. acascianelli

    acascianelli [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    6,838
    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2004
    Pretty sure that's the same board in my 'gaming' system. :)

    Biggest thing holding that board back for me is the SATA2 interface. Works great.

    But it does burn about 200W of power at idle.
     
    Last edited: Aug 7, 2019
  17. Ready4Dis

    Ready4Dis Gawd

    Messages:
    555
    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2015
    Just hit the sata2 issue in my Dell r710... My SSD is slower than my mechanical raid array, hitting limit of sata2. I get about 1gb/s with my mechanical drives though, lol. Only around 230mb/s with my ssd.
     
  18. Spartacus09

    Spartacus09 [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,064
    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2018
    What controller do you have? I thought most of those raid cards were 6gb/s capable.
    edit: ohhhh nvm its 6gb on sas, the sata were limited to 3, thats right.
     
  19. cjcox

    cjcox [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,294
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2004
    If you can handle the 130W envelope, the X5698 show promise. On the more conventional side, maybe do X5690's.
     
  20. Ready4Dis

    Ready4Dis Gawd

    Messages:
    555
    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2015
    Lol, you nailed it in the edit... That's why my mechanical array can hit higher speeds, sas vs sata2...
     
  21. D-EJ915

    D-EJ915 Gawd

    Messages:
    1,004
    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2003
    If you don't need 6-core cpu the best cost/value for 1366 is probably the 5677 they are like 10 bucks each.
     
  22. cyklondx

    cyklondx Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    293
    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2018
    scrap it on ebay.

    or get
    x5690 (top cpu for it.)
    x5687 (2nd top 4c cpu - much cheaper)
    (westmere ep support was added later in bios updates)
     
  23. Spartacus09

    Spartacus09 [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,064
    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2018
    I'd replace it with a X9 at minimum personally