WTF is happening to my PC?

MorgothPl

2[H]4U
OKay, I've some serious issue with PC, and I don't know what's to blame. From time to time PC crashed when I started playing games - image disappeared, all fans and LEDs on the board blinked and restarted, and monitor was going into sleep mode - that required reset button.

It was solved only by going into Asus AI center and setting the mode from performance to auto. Then it was playing perfectly. Up till yesterday. Right now, it crashes immediately when entering 3D mode. In Battlefront the menu works okay, but once I jump into battle - immediate crash. Same in AC:Syndicate and whatever.

I tried uninstalling A.I Center - no change. Tried uninstalling drivers with DDU and putting older NV drivers - no change - resettled cables on PSU - nothing. Even switching off turbo on CPU did not change anything. And no - it happens on non OCed system too.

Is it PSU suddenly going wrong or being too weak? Which is strange, because I been running the PSU for a year and with my 980 Ti since July and didn't have mucho problemos. Is it my old RAM, or the ASUS board going bad?

Edit: Re-read the post and you mentioned that it happens also when not OCed.

Any recent changes with the system? Or did the thing start going wonky all of a sudden? Also, any other games this happens with? ALL of them?

The only thing I added was the Asus Soar card, which is powered by extra cable from PSU, but it used to work without issues for a week. Also disconnected it and it's same. So it's not the card issue

And yes, it went wonky all of a sudden - not a single driver change. Also it happens in all the games. For example Battlefront works in menu, but when I join 3D battle, it crashes. Syndicate just crashes after all the mandatory cutscenes.

Because it only happens under serious load, it is quite likely to be the PSU.

If you have another PSU that isnt powerful enough for the whole system, you can try using both at the same time.