WT, very weird

Tengis

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Jun 11, 2003
Messages
5,623
I dont know what is wrong with my computer anymore. Im kind of fed up with it. My computer somehow crashed while I was asleep, so I woke up to a non-working computer. It kept saying disk boot failure no matter what boot device I put 1st, 2nd... etc.

I put in my Windows XP cd and didnt hit a button to made it boot from it, and it went right into Windows like it would any other time.

WTF??
 

HvyMtl

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Dec 3, 2003
Messages
1,730
sounds like a few things, some that can be bad, some that might not be bad...
I'll go with the least bad and most likely first - sounds like your Windows need to be reinstalled as it has been corrupted...
If that is not the case then you may have a bad hard drive
But most likely the OS needs a reinstall and you'll be fine
 

BLsibub666

Gawd
Joined
Apr 2, 2003
Messages
1,023
yeah toss that hd in another syetem and see if it gives you probems, then copy your shit over, format and reintal, and see if that fixes it, if it does you should be all good if not your gonna eed a new HD (probably) it could be the elusive "something elce" (millions of moving parts and units relying on the movment of sub atomic particles, can just get bitchy sometimes)

good luck
 

Kido1986

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Mar 10, 2003
Messages
1,180
I had a similar incident on a PC I was working on. HD cable was loose. Rarely Windows would load. Although, when I installed Windows, it would always boot the first time, when a rebooted, it wouldnt load Windows. The last 2 pins of the cable didnt full contact the HD
 

haroldmeyer

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Jan 19, 2003
Messages
1,464
It sounds to me like your system is overclocked and you either have to compensate with more voltage or turn back the overclock.
 

Tengis

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Jun 11, 2003
Messages
5,623
MY system is at stock speeds right right now. My PC4000 wont let me overclock at all... my 3200 let me reach 430fsb.

I think my HDD is going bad, but Im not sure. Im going to have to buy a new hdd and check it out. I was planning on getting one anyways...

Anyone have 80f SATA hdd for sale?
 

ciggy50

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Feb 5, 2003
Messages
1,186
MY system is at stock speeds right right now. My PC4000 wont let me overclock at all... my 3200 let me reach 430fsb.

was it overclocked when you shut it down?
were you clocking it prior to bedtime?
did it exibit any weirdness the night before?

could be that you've corrupted windows by overclocking ,
which , i'm sure that all of us here have experienced that
;)
 

Tengis

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Jun 11, 2003
Messages
5,623
I havent overclocked since this last install of Windows... =). I corrupted Windows 9 times in 3 days, I learned my lesson. Im going to get out a 2gig drive and use it for test runs or something, hehe
 

’m‚³‚ñ

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Jun 20, 2003
Messages
7,300
ActiveSMART is a little utility I found forever ago. You have to enable SMART in your BIOS, but this little utility will let you know if somehting is going wrong. If you have Windows setup to turn off your disks after a certain period of time, it'll go nuts with an alert, so be aware of that. :p
 
Top