wrt54g, sveasoft firmware, wds, and wpa

Discussion in 'Networking & Security' started by Rix2357, Jul 19, 2005.

  1. Rix2357

    Rix2357 [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,274
    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2001
    Anyone get that combination of stuff working together? If not, is there an alternative firmware that supports wds and wpa at the same time?
     
  2. millhouse

    millhouse Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    173
    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2004
    sveasoft should work just fine with that stuff
     
  3. Rix2357

    Rix2357 [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,274
    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2001
    What else do I need to check to enable wds and wpa at the same time.

    So far I've added the MAC address under WDS for both. Same SSID, not broadcasted, same channel, WPA-AES, but it doesn't work, when I switch to WEP it just starts working.
     
  4. Rix2357

    Rix2357 [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,274
    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2001
    I fnally got it to work with wpa and the results are kind of weird. With WPA-AES, it does not work at all. I've tried a lot of stuff and finally gave up. WPA-TKIP, works for awhile, but then it seems to drop out more than half the time. I'm basing this on a ping -t result. And so far, if I do WPA-TKIP+AES, it seems to be the most stable. Most of the pings go through. About 1 out of 15 don't go through. Can someone let me know if this is typical of wireless connections?
     
  5. LoStMaTt

    LoStMaTt 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,579
    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2003
    Make sure you have turned off the Firewall and other security stuff in there.