WOW! 55" Display with 120Hz / 1440p with excellent latency. nVidia and FreeSync

Discussion in 'Displays' started by SixFootDuo, Oct 29, 2018.

  1. linuxdude9

    linuxdude9 Gawd

    Messages:
    598
    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2004
    I use 1440p with my 2080Ti SLI setup with super-sampling on everything so I can have my high-refresh rate with a good imagine quality.
     
  2. mejobloggs_

    mejobloggs_ n00b

    Messages:
    41
    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2016
    Same here, I don't notice much difference between 60hz and 120hz.

    I notice it when I sit down and watch that https://www.testufo.com/, but once I'm in a game I don't notice. (I regularly switch between a 144hz and a 60hz monitor, so I've had plenty of comparison)
     
    Zarathustra[H] likes this.
  3. Zarathustra[H]

    Zarathustra[H] Official Forum Curmudgeon

    Messages:
    28,652
    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2000
    Yeah, I don't know why that test makes it so apparently, when in game it is much tougher to see.

    In fact, if I am looking at someone else play a game, I even find 30fps to look ok.

    (Until I grab the mouse and then the added input lag from low framerates makes it feel unplayable to me)

    I used to be fairly competitive in CS playing at 60fps, so my feeling is if there actually is a real in game advantage of these crazy high framerates, it's pretty marginal. At the same time, I'm also the kind of guy who would rather err on the side of safety.
     
  4. cybereality

    cybereality [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    4,807
    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2008
    Yeah, 1440p120 is nice on the TV. Some games handle this better than others, depending on the type of AA used.

    Still not the sharpness of 4K, but much better than 1080p, and the added smoothness and lag reduction make it a promising option.
     
  5. BigL

    BigL n00b

    Messages:
    4
    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2019

    was hoping somebody can please help me out, i have a samsung Q6F i am trying to run 1440p @120hz but it doesnt even give me the option for that resolution. i can only ruin 1920x1080 @120hz and i cant figure out why for the life of me if somebody can maybe chime in and help me figure this out i would be very grateful. i have an i7 9700k w/ a gtx 1070 as my setup, i have tried changing the source to pc and console no luck as well as hdmi udh color on and off and again no option for 2560x1440p. if there somethign im doing wrong, please by all means let me know, thanks again for any help! here is a pic of the options under nvidia panel that i have



    https://imgur.com/5ccCYrQ

    https://imgur.com/VPsiR8e
     
  6. Nenu

    Nenu [H]ardened

    Messages:
    18,996
    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2007
    Are you connected directly to the TV or through an AV system?
     
  7. BigL

    BigL n00b

    Messages:
    4
    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2019
    Hdmi cable straight from TV to pc
     
  8. Nenu

    Nenu [H]ardened

    Messages:
    18,996
    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2007
    Its possible that mode isnt made available on the Q6.
    You can try making a custom mode with the 1440p 120Hz settings for my Q9FN.

    Top boxes
    2560, 1440
    120Hz, 32bit
    Progressive

    lower boxes
    2560, 1440
    48, 3
    32, 5
    2720, 1525
    +, -
    120Hz
     
  9. BigL

    BigL n00b

    Messages:
    4
    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2019
    i defintely trhink its possible, you can see the setting enabled on the same tv in this youtube video, i tried to do what you set custom res, but it doesnt work, i lose picture and says source not recognized. kinda sucks bought this tv to us as 1440p monitor for my PC and cant figure it out. smh

     
  10. Nenu

    Nenu [H]ardened

    Messages:
    18,996
    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2007
    It might worth trying Samsung support but I gotta warn you, the first line are utterly shit.
    I've had many dealings and they were a trauma to my sanity.
     
  11. Nenu

    Nenu [H]ardened

    Messages:
    18,996
    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2007
    Quick question, can you use UHD @ 60Hz 4:4:4 ?
     
  12. cybereality

    cybereality [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    4,807
    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2008
    It could be the cable.

    It should be the latest standard HDMI 2.0, and shorter cables are more reliable (6 feet or less is ideal, but I think up to around 12 feet can work).

    Also, see this note on the rtings site:

     
  13. BigL

    BigL n00b

    Messages:
    4
    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2019
    figured out the problem its the cable, im running and hdmi to DP cable and i just tried it with my nintendo sweitch hdmi to hdmi cable and the resolution shows up. is there an hdmi to DP cable out there that supports the resoluition? i searched on amazon but many didnt really say what hdmi version it was. thanks again for the help
     
    cybereality likes this.
  14. Zarathustra[H]

    Zarathustra[H] Official Forum Curmudgeon

    Messages:
    28,652
    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2000

    Yeah, in 2015 when we were all experimenting with Samsungs new 4k screens, cables were a huge issue.

    All cables tested to 18 Gbit/s should technically work, but in reality getting 4k60hz at 4:4:4 Chroma did not work on many cables. Good brands 6ft or shorter tended to work. At 10ft it was hit or miss even with the good brands, and I don't recall anyone back then finding a cable longer than 10ft that would work reliably.

    These days with the 48Gbit/s cables for the HDMI 2.1 standard, I'd imagine this is less of a problem, as long as you don't just grab an old HDMI cable from a drawer and expect it to work.
     
  15. cybereality

    cybereality [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    4,807
    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2008
    You can get an adapter, probably your best bet. Something like this should work (the cables/adapters that support 4K 60Hz should be fine, those are HDMI 2.0).

    https://www.amazon.com/Monoprice-DisplayPort-1-2a-Active-Adapter/dp/B07FPQ4ZSW/

    Then just get an HDMI 2.0 cable as well, those should be easy to find. This one should be solid.

    https://www.amazon.com/Speed-Cable-iVanky-18Gbps-Ethernet/dp/B07M89LV8J/
     
  16. Nenu

    Nenu [H]ardened

    Messages:
    18,996
    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2007
    I figured it could be the cable, hence my last question.

    I use this, it works very well and allows all HDR modes, the only adapter I know of that does.
    Club3D CAC 1080, DP 1.4 to HDMI 2.0b
    https://www.club-3d.com/en/detail/2442/displayport_1.4_to_hdmi_2.0b_hdr/
     
  17. Zarathustra[H]

    Zarathustra[H] Official Forum Curmudgeon

    Messages:
    28,652
    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2000
  18. Nenu

    Nenu [H]ardened

    Messages:
    18,996
    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2007
    Imperceivably little. I would say none, but thats more accurate.
    It draws power from the video connection, no mains adapter required.
    You wont find a DP to HDMI 2.0 adapter that isnt active.
     
  19. dpoverlord

    dpoverlord [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,710
    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2004
    but I thought SLI 2080ti does really nothing. I used to do quad Titans and just stopped after realizing no one really supports SLi anymore. Wish they did since I loved 3d too!

    Is this good for a 2080ti?
     
  20. linuxdude9

    linuxdude9 Gawd

    Messages:
    598
    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2004
    It won't work in a lot of games. Some can be fixed with custom SLI bits, but I wouldn't recommend SLI unless you have money to burn and are willing to spend extra time on it.
     
  21. Zarathustra[H]

    Zarathustra[H] Official Forum Curmudgeon

    Messages:
    28,652
    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2000
    Even in titles that support it it totally sucks, and always has. At least since the industry switched away from SFR to AFR. AFR just has too many problems. Input lag, stutter, instability, you name it. I've done both Crossfire and SLI over the years, and never would again even if we still had the same level of SLI support we had 10 years ago.
     
    tygeezy likes this.
  22. tygeezy

    tygeezy n00b

    Messages:
    21
    Joined:
    May 8, 2019
    How far do you sit from the tv? I sit 10 feet away from my 75 inch which makes seeing the difference between 4k and 1440 p extremely difficult.
     
  23. tygeezy

    tygeezy n00b

    Messages:
    21
    Joined:
    May 8, 2019
    Yeah, it's shockingly good as a monitor due to having such great low input latency, freesync support, HDR 10 and hdr 10+. Now if amd would hurry and release a graphics card that actually competed with nvdia mid to high end we could all be happy. I think Navi delivers. I'm planning on building my own "console" by doing a smaller form factor AMD build. I've hooked up my gaming pc a few times (i7 7700 k and geforce 1070) it's phenomenal, but I really miss adaptive sync :( 3 feet away isn't too bad from 1440 p. According to a pixel density calculator you shouldn't be able to tell the difference between 4k and 1440 p at 5.3 feet for 55 inches.
     
  24. Commander Shepard

    Commander Shepard 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,946
    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2016
    I've been pretty happy with my new Sony 55" X950G since picking it up a few weeks ago. Haven't gamed a lot on it, but everything looks smooth and fast. I don't use it as a PC monitor, though. Just too big for my preferences.

    Sony 55" X950G
     
  25. cybereality

    cybereality [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    4,807
    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2008
    The Radeon VII is enough for 4K60 gameplay on a Samsung TV with FreeSync.

    See this video I made. Not all on ultra settings, but with high or a mix 60 fps is definitely possible with AMD.

     
    lostin3d likes this.
  26. tygeezy

    tygeezy n00b

    Messages:
    21
    Joined:
    May 8, 2019
    Yeah, it's a pretty good card, but a wee bit expensive for what it offers in my opinion. I'm going to see what Navi offers. They are saying it will support raytracing and I want to see what amd has in store for us with zen 2 before I start my build. Have you been doing HDR and freesync simultaneously? In your video for far cry you have hdr disabled :(
     
  27. cybereality

    cybereality [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    4,807
    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2008
    Yes, HDR works with FreeSync but getting a recording of it to YouTube was difficult.

    I do have the proper recording equipment, but something with the codec wasn't working on YouTube. But it does work.

    I'll have to take another look at some point cause I would like to have HDR video recordings.
     
    tygeezy likes this.
  28. lostin3d

    lostin3d [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    2,038
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2016
    Cool stuff. I admit I'm a sucker for 4k streams. Really impressive to watch. I've been very curious about FreeSync t.v.'s.
     
    cybereality likes this.
  29. tygeezy

    tygeezy n00b

    Messages:
    21
    Joined:
    May 8, 2019
    Thanks man, very cool video and I appreciate your work. I went ahead and subscribed to you.
     
    cybereality likes this.
  30. Nebell

    Nebell [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,587
    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2015
    I can touch the screen when I stretch out my arm.
     
  31. tygeezy

    tygeezy n00b

    Messages:
    21
    Joined:
    May 8, 2019
    Dang, no wonder the difference between 4k and 1440 p is huge for you.
     
  32. dragonstongue

    dragonstongue 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,156
    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2008
    I am quite confudled by the title, something like that leads ME to surmise a link to a product mentoning specs listed as above rather than a description/tests of others that do such things?