Working on a logo for my dad. Need some suggestions and opinions.

TheCoolGuy

Weaksauce
My dad owns a boat company that he recently renamed to Oceanic Boats. He is making a boat that will be known as the Oceanic. He has been on me for some time now to make him a logo and I finally had time today. He really does not know what he wants. He keeps telling me to make something that is appealing and I have no idea what to do. Everytime I try something, he barks at me so now I am asking you. After hours of doing sketches, I came up with what is below. I am no artist so don't make fun. It is just a sketch and as you can see very plain. Either suggest something to add on or think of something totally different. It needs to be kickass and nice. I dont know if you can see but there is an outer ring. The text in the middle is outlined by a gold glow. Please give me suggestions on how to make it better. Even go out and make your own opinion on how it should be. I am not asking for you guys to make anything but it would be better if you can do a sketch to show what you are trying to say. Thanks.

logo1.jpg

hmm. Oceanic makes me think of water. The circle is a good idea.

It should be blue. Maybe a map of the world. I think it's called a mercatur map? for some reason that always makes me think of sailing. A compass? A Boat? Try to use things like that. If I can I will try to come up with something tommorrow, but I have a test to study for now....

well i'd suggest incorporating a wave but that's been done to death and a half

uhhhhh....

uhhhhhhhhhhhh....

i got nothing

its good but from first glance doesnt truly convey what your dad's company does, if your tried incorporating some elements of water perhaps, it could help

Which one are you guys talking about, the first or second one? I want it to be really basic and I think the sqwigly line looks like a wave even though it wasn't meant to be one.

TheCoolGuy, what type of boat is he building, got a pic?