Wireless works, XBOX 360 works, but main pc has no connectivity?

Discussion in 'Networking & Security' started by thetruth, Sep 23, 2010.

  1. thetruth

    thetruth Gawd

    Messages:
    563
    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2009
    Well, it does when directly jacked into my broadband modem. However, the main pc does not have connectivity when I plug it into my D-Link Wireless router. Weird b/c all other devices work fine and the main pc did too this am. Just all of a sudden nada? Never seen this one before. Any ideas?
     
  2. thetruth

    thetruth Gawd

    Messages:
    563
    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2009
  3. thetruth

    thetruth Gawd

    Messages:
    563
    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2009
    No reason why the wired part would stop working while the wireless continues to work? Is the router dying or ?
     
  4. gimp

    gimp [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    9,790
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2008
    so your PC has no connectivity when plugged in to the router, but all other devices associated to the router do have internet connectivity.
    but if you plug your PC directly into the modem, it does work fine.

    Correct?

    Can you access the router webgui from your PC? Can you ping anything by hostname and/or IP address?
     
  5. thetruth

    thetruth Gawd

    Messages:
    563
    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2009
    Correct. The wireless works, the wired doesn't.

    I believe then, that I could access the D-Link via wireless. I just do not know what to look for. It just stopped working without me changing any settings. gtg bb around 2pm E.
     
  6. valve1138

    valve1138 [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    10,019
    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2003
    Check your network cable might be screwy.
     
  7. gimp

    gimp [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    9,790
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2008
    when you're wired into your router, you can't even access the router's webgui?

    do an ipconfig /all when wired in to your router and post the info here.
    patch cable is a possibility, but if the same patch cable is used when bypassing the router and always works, it's a shot in the dark.
     
  8. thetruth

    thetruth Gawd

    Messages:
    563
    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2009
    When I do the ipconfig /all. A dos window flashes for about a second and then is gone. How do I access this window or keep it from disappearing? Sorry, not an idiot, just never done this.
     
  9. thetruth

    thetruth Gawd

    Messages:
    563
    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2009
    Taken out for obvious security reasons.
     
    Last edited: Sep 24, 2010
  10. ShadowStriker

    ShadowStriker [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,671
    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2009
    Did you try using other ports?
     
  11. gimp

    gimp [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    9,790
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2008
    this line:
    Autoconfiguration IPv4 Address. . : 169.254.182.61(Preferred)

    means that your computer is not receiving an IP address from the router.
    I agree with ShadowStriker.
    Try a different port. If still no, try another patch cable for giggles.

    On another note; is your XBox wired or wireless?
     
  12. thetruth

    thetruth Gawd

    Messages:
    563
    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2009
    360 is wireless. I have tried another port. Seems to be a physical issue then. Will play around w the cables and ports some more.
     
  13. gimp

    gimp [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    9,790
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2008
    there's always the slight possibility that the switch portion died.
    can't say I've ever heard of that happening, but it is possible I s'pose.

    is the port light on the router lighting up when you plug the computer in?

    maybe try resetting the router to factory defaults? although that's a long-shot.
     
  14. thetruth

    thetruth Gawd

    Messages:
    563
    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2009
    Just started swapping ports and it started working again. Weirdness. I expect it to turn into an orange for its next trick.

    Thanks for the helps folks!