wired router + wireless router = hmm

Discussion in 'Networking & Security' started by dajet24, Jul 9, 2010.

  1. dajet24

    dajet24 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,296
    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2004
    ok ok so i realize iam making more work for myself but.

    I have a DLINK DGL-4100 Gaming Router I use to use but then my wife got a laptop and insisted on wireless... so i have a cheapo wireless linksys router I been using instead.
    I hate to have my awsome wired gigbit router wasting away I have a couple comps hooked up thru cat 5 and would like to take advanatge of that bandwidth ( yes they both have gigbit lan cards)

    what is easiest way to setup the DLINK DGL-4100 Gaming Router as the main router to the cable modem and then have the wireless plugged in to it for the laptops ?

    figured I would ask before I started playing with it.

    thanks
     
  2. Hallis

    Hallis [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    4,537
    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2001
    Just turn off DHCP on the Linksys and connect the WAN port on it to one of the ports on your D-Link router. Should look and taste the same as far as your wife is concerned. Then just connect the D-Link to everything else and the internet.
     
  3. dajet24

    dajet24 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,296
    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2004
    ok thats what i was gonna do it will still assign ip's to everyone we have 2 laptops and a couple little wireless devices that hook up to it.
     
  4. Captain Colonoscopy

    Captain Colonoscopy 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,861
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2004
    Don't connect the WAN port of the Linksys to the DLink, that will double-NAT all your wireless traffic. Instead go LAN port to LAN port after making sure the DHCP server is turned OFF on the Linksys. You'll also want to make sure the Linksys has an IP address on the same subnet as the Dlink. Like 192.168.0.253/24 or something.
     
  5. Hallis

    Hallis [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    4,537
    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2001
    Won't he need a crossover cable for that though if the port isn't setup as an auto-sensing uplink?
     
  6. Dangman

    Dangman Ninja Editor SuperMod

    Messages:
    46,062
    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2005
    Nah not really. I've done the exact the same thing but in reverse: A D-Link DIR 655 Wireless router connected to some 10/100 Linksys wired router from 2003. Works just fine being hooked up to the LAN ports with a regular ethernet cable.
     
  7. dajet24

    dajet24 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,296
    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2004
    K i did this but while my ipod connects wirelessly ok i cant get either laptop to do so.. does this setup only allow for a single ip to be given wirelessly?
     
  8. Hallis

    Hallis [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    4,537
    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2001
    No it shouldn't. You were going to setup Static IP's though, yes? Are you using any type of wireless security?
     
  9. dajet24

    dajet24 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,296
    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2004
    ok got it worken for some reasont he wireless router didnt like having the routing turned off and turned it back on.

    but its working now i appreciate the help
    Ya I got a simple wep turned on for security.
     
  10. YeOldeStonecat

    YeOldeStonecat [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    11,330
    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2004
    The DGL-4100 has 4x built in gigabit ports for its LAN switch. Part of the gigabit standard is auto MDI-X. As long as 1x of the two ends has gigabit (which it does in this setup)..a regular cable will do. Same goes for gigabit NICs in your PCs ...they'll auto MDI-X. Crossover cables have gone the way of the 9 pin serial port and floppy drive.
     
  11. Hallis

    Hallis [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    4,537
    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2001
    shows you how much ive had to worry about that in recent years ;)