Windows wont boot anymore

Discussion in 'Operating Systems' started by $ahil, May 20, 2010.

  1. $ahil

    $ahil n00b

    Messages:
    34
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    So I just built this computer and I had originally installed 3 Hard drives, 2 SATAs and 1 IDE.

    I took the Sata out and the IDE out. Now when I reboot my computer it says that Disk Boot failure insert system disk and press Enter.

    I know I installed the OS on the main HDD that is still in the computer. And Bios detects it.

    Under Standard CMOS features it says:

    IDE Channel 4 Master [Samsung HD103SJ] (samsung hdd)
    IDE Channel 5 Master [ASUS DRW-24B1ST] (my dvd drive)


    0-3 Master & Slave are None

    I have First Boot Device Set to Hard Disk, Second: CDRom, Third: Floppy

    Also under Hard Disk Boot Priority: 1. Ch4 M: Samsung HD103SJ 2. Bootable Add-in cards.

    Windows was working perfectly and everything was good till I took the hard drives out this morning.
     
  2. Chuklr

    Chuklr Gawd

    Messages:
    721
    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Hi, $ahil,

    If either, or both, of the other HDDs were connected when you installed Win7 the boot sector was probably placed on one of them. This is why folks are advised to connect only the HDD they are installing the OS on during the installation.

    Check the following MS Knowledge Base article, How to use the Bootrec.exe tool in the Windows Recovery Environment to troubleshoot and repair startup issues in Windows, or How to Restore the Windows 7 MBR (Master Boot Record) from "Win7 ABCs - Great list of Windows 7 tutorials by MVP Shawn Brink!"

    Hope this helps.

    Chuklr
     
  3. Chuklr

    Chuklr Gawd

    Messages:
    721
    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
  4. $ahil

    $ahil n00b

    Messages:
    34
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Hi

    Sorry but none that worked for me. The thing is where it shows step 5: Click the operating system that you want to repair, and then click Next.

    It doesn't even show me an operating system listed. After that when open command prompt and do what's on the Microsoft's page and type: bcdedit /export C:\BCD_Backup it says:

    The store export operation has Failed.
    The requested system deice cannot be found.


    Also when I typed bootrec.exe /RebuildBcd It says scanning all disks for Windows installations..

    then:
    Successfully scanned Windows installations.
    Total identified Windows Installations: 1
    [1] C:\Windows
    Add installtion to boot list? Yes[Y] /No[N]/All[A] And when I press Y and press enter

    It says element not found.
     
    Last edited: May 20, 2010
  5. Chuklr

    Chuklr Gawd

    Messages:
    721
    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Hi, $ahil,


    Check the How to Run a Startup Repair in Windows 7 page at "Win7 ABCs - Great list of Windows 7 tutorials by MVP Shawn Brink!" and see if that works.

    I'm sure someone else will come by and offer additional advice.

    Hope this helps.

    Chuklr
     
  6. rive22

    rive22 [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    4,576
    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2004