Windows Vista: 99 Performance Tips and Tweaks

therealjustin

Limp Gawd
I'll be getting Vista soon and I have been looking for any sort of guide to give me an idea of what to do. Having used XP since 2003 going to Vista probably won't be that easy at first.

While searching I found this guide featuring 99 Windows Vista tips and tweaks and I found some of them really useful even for the advanced user. I consider myself an advanced user of XP but I'm a beginner when it comes to Vista!:p

http://www.pcstats.com/articleview.cfm?articleid=2238&page=1

Any article that lists 'overclock the CPU' and 'overclock the GPU' as operating system "tweaks" gets thrown off my 'credible' list.

Second, a lot of their 'tips' are utter crap. Their list of services to disable is draconian; disabling system restore and hibernation is stupid as well (I find hibernation incredibly useful even on my desktops). Enabling simultaneous downloads in your browser is rather rude and a horrible idea in general. Disabling Aero will be a performance HIT in many situations since it moves more load from GPU to CPU. And on and on. This guide is crap.

I tend to agree with the comments above. As someone that wrote not one but two stickies here related to how to live with UAC way back around the time Vista was released, whenever I see a "guide" like this one say something like tip #11: "Turn off User Account Control" that's basically the point where I simply stop reading it. I'm really sorry (not really but I'm saying it) that people don't like UAC - directed towards those that don't like it - but it's the way things are done now. If you - meaning the people that don't like it - don't like it, go back to XP or 2K3 or XP x64 or some other OS. Personal opinions don't mean Jack Shit more often than not, especially ignorant ones...

Let's go over a few of these relatively ridiculous tips: