Windows Systems Performance Impacts from Spectre and Meltdown

Discussion in 'HardForum Tech News' started by FrgMstr, Jan 9, 2018.

  1. Design1stcode2nd

    Design1stcode2nd Gawd

    Messages:
    689
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2016
    My daughter is using my old Q6600 with a GTX 950 for Sims and Overwatch I hope it doesn't make it any worse. Going to be a year before I can build her a new one.
     
  2. FlawleZ

    FlawleZ Gawd

    Messages:
    777
    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2010
    People should be more worried about patching their phones than their Pcs. Far more network exposure and risk involved with the mobile devices.
     
    juanrga, mesyn191, Frobozz and 2 others like this.
  3. Grimlaking

    Grimlaking 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,752
    Joined:
    May 9, 2006
    Anything you use to access the internet, or on the edge of your network infrastructure should be aggressively tested and patched. Desktops at home, Patched. Workstations in the office. Tested/patched ASAP. Web servers, PATCHED, anything users access to see the internet. PATCHED. Shared resources.. PATCHED. (meaning VM hosts for VDI's, or Citrix hosts.)
     
  4. RedWagnum

    RedWagnum Gawd

    Messages:
    583
    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2007
    You say po-ta-to, I say po-tah-to. :D Any way you look at it, they are both problems at the silicon level.

    I agree with you about human nature. If Intel had known 10 years ago how despicable some humans could be it probably would have designed a more secure CPU. Problem is that Intel doesn't know how bad things will be 10 years from now or 1 year from now for that matter. The next generation CPU may not have this issue but a few years down the road some rotten apple may find another. Don't know what the answer is. Short of changing human nature, I don't really think there is one. Someone will always want what someone else has and go to great lengths to get it.

    Yeah, man. Give me back my TRS-80 Model 4 and 9600 baud modem.
     
    Spartacus likes this.
  5. alamox

    alamox Gawd

    Messages:
    596
    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2014
    how convenient for win7/8 to be victims of the biggest performance hit, you sure you don't want win 10 ?
     
    jlbenedict and SvenBent like this.
  6. bugleyman

    bugleyman [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,227
    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2010
    I have absolutely no idea what you mean. But hey, that's OK.
     
  7. Grimlaking

    Grimlaking 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,752
    Joined:
    May 9, 2006
    You think a TRS-80 could handle the throughput of a 9600 baud modem? Come on man that's clearly 386 territory with a math co-processor. (making it a 386 DX)
     
    RedWagnum, Armenius and Spartacus like this.
  8. zalazin

    zalazin [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,491
    Joined:
    May 12, 2000
    Are you naive enough to swallow the story they say? Sorry I don't own a tin foil hat just the shield of cynicism..... and a sword of sarcasm...
     
  9. SvenBent

    SvenBent 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,835
    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2008

    You are confusing 486sx/dx with 386sx/dx ;)




    To clarify for the young generation
    386 SX/DX different is the bandwidth of the external bus

    486 SX/DX difference is the presence of a 387 math processor
    Thereby upgrading them with a 487 math processor making them the same
     
    RedWagnum and Sojoe like this.
  10. Megaslug

    Megaslug Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    173
    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2015
    Easily, I did system to system transfers with null modem cables at 19.2K with my Model 4. Radio Shack even had a classroom network system that hooked 16 systems to a teacher master using 9600 bps serial connections.
     
  11. Makaveli@BETA

    Makaveli@BETA 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,302
    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2004
    what you using a USR 56k modem.

    That loads for me in a split second.
     
  12. Grimlaking

    Grimlaking 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,752
    Joined:
    May 9, 2006
    LOL I was talking actual size of the image on my screen not the size of the image in KB. But I remember line by line pron as well as the next man.
     
    RedWagnum and Makaveli@BETA like this.
  13. MMitch

    MMitch Gawd

    Messages:
    638
    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2016
    You're blind ? I guess even blind people have pr0n :wideyed: ... line by line...
    Ok ok not a good one :D
     
  14. focbde

    focbde Gawd

    Messages:
    546
    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2008
    Just my opinion of course, but I'd say jump off the fence into SSD land. The speed bump is significant no matter what the laptop, and always worth it - plus, you can always use it in your next budget laptop if it also comes with a HDD. :)
     
  15. kju1

    kju1 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,031
    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2002
    Maybe I just dont see conspiracy theories everywhere...
     
  16. SvenBent

    SvenBent 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,835
    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2008
    or does it means win10 was already slowed down with something similiar
    I mean sombody sitting on the floor also falls less than a guy sitting on a chair... :D

    Asbestos suit on
     
  17. SineDave

    SineDave Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    266
    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2004
    mesyn191 and Batboy88 like this.
  18. Grimlaking

    Grimlaking 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,752
    Joined:
    May 9, 2006
    Batboy88 likes this.
  19. Grimlaking

    Grimlaking 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,752
    Joined:
    May 9, 2006
  20. RedWagnum

    RedWagnum Gawd

    Messages:
    583
    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2007
    :D In reference to:
    My old Model 4 always worked as intended...

    That old 3.78 MHz Z80 based Model 4 would easily run two 9600 baud modems -- helped run a two line (at the time) BBS for a few years before we moved on to x86 based systems.
     
  21. Batboy88

    Batboy88 Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    323
    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2017
    Slowed down some on the nvme might be cause it's kinda half way full though. Nothing real Major though, still pretty speedy.
     
  22. Grimlaking

    Grimlaking 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,752
    Joined:
    May 9, 2006
    Yea for desktop performance with close to current in generation of CPU we are good. But it's still BS. VM hosts.... well I haven't seen any tests on current host level hardware. Just some guy running ESXi on his desktop hardware claiming a 50% I/O impact.
     
  23. juanrga

    juanrga Pro-Intel / Anti-AMD Just FYI

    Messages:
    2,488
    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2017
    heatlesssun likes this.
  24. Grimlaking

    Grimlaking 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,752
    Joined:
    May 9, 2006
  25. 4saken

    4saken [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    10,771
    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2004
    upgraded, win10 7700k, didnt see a blip on any bench/game i have run. Buddy with an 8700 saw similar results, nothing changed. so overblown.
     
    juanrga likes this.
  26. heatlesssun

    heatlesssun [H]ard as it Gets

    Messages:
    44,157
    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2005
    Typical desktop scenarios weren't expected to see much impact. I/O intensive scenarios were the ones expected to see the most impact and that sees to be the case, a big problem for things like SQL databases.
     
  27. 4saken

    4saken [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    10,771
    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2004
    right. not looking forward to seeing when our virtual infra is updated. Just answering all of the chicken littles on trying to claim intel was screwed for home use.
     
    juanrga likes this.
  28. Grimlaking

    Grimlaking 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,752
    Joined:
    May 9, 2006
    You haven't seen anything yet.
     
  29. Skylinestar

    Skylinestar Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    482
    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2011
    There are ATMs that are still running on WinXP in certain countries.
     
    heatlesssun likes this.
  30. Makaveli@BETA

    Makaveli@BETA 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,302
    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2004
    And people wonder why ATM still get hacked...
     
  31. JMccovery

    JMccovery 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,211
    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2006
    When I was in the hospital a couple of weeks ago, I was amazed that some of the mobile equipment in use was still running XP.
     
  32. Grimlaking

    Grimlaking 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,752
    Joined:
    May 9, 2006
    In a lot of cases it's because the vendors for the software are in what we call... a sweet spot. They've created the software and it works. Sure a reboot might be needed from time to time but other than that... software is functional. Now if a customer wants the software to run on a newer OS... sure they can do that.... but it will cost the customer. Even in the industry I am in every new feature we want they want $$$ for it even though they are going to just re sell it to our competitors.
     
  33. JMccovery

    JMccovery 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,211
    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2006
    It was a bit worrying when the unit BSOD'd while the nurse was trying to check my vitals.
     
    Makaveli@BETA and Grimlaking like this.
  34. Grimlaking

    Grimlaking 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,752
    Joined:
    May 9, 2006
    We just completed some testing.

    Dell R930 server.
    Windows 2012 R2 all current patches.
    SQL 2014Sp2 with patch for Specter.
    Updated Dell BIOS to 4.5.
    I/O is a VNX 5400 mostly operating in SSD and the 1TB of flash cache is avaialble. Connected via 2 dedicated 8GB FC cards.

    Load testing with production like load. Pre patch we were looking at 4-5% CPU and our Operations per second in the 2k range.
    Post patching testing the same... and the numbers were the same.

    This is a bare metal R930
    2 EC8867 CPU's.
    384GB of ram.


    SQL takes 377GB and the DB itself is around 1.7TB uncompressed. We use no active compression in SQL.


    Just thought I would share for anyone else our there. The VAST MAJORITY of our memory and operations are in the user memory space. So due to that we didn't expect a large impact because of how our DBA's have designed our DB.

    Next we will be deploying to production after a week of observation and review.


    I want to note in our initial round of testing we had not applied the Registry switches to enable the FREAKING patches. We have now done so and are collecting data for a few hours to prove out. Inital impression no update.

    No discernible change with the patches in place.
     
    Last edited: Jan 19, 2018
  35. Grimlaking

    Grimlaking 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,752
    Joined:
    May 9, 2006
    Another fun update. Checked Dell's site to download some BIOS's for further testing on other Dell platforms.. Dell has pulled all of their enterprise BIOS Updates. No statement as to why. I suspect because of crashing.
     
  36. heatlesssun

    heatlesssun [H]ard as it Gets

    Messages:
    44,157
    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2005