Windows Server 2008 help

Discussion in 'Operating Systems' started by Siriusmuzik, Jul 2, 2010.

  1. Siriusmuzik

    Siriusmuzik [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,446
    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Hi there, I don't have Windows Home Server, I only have Server 2008 R2. I basically want to use it for large files and media. I installed it, but now it's asking what roles and features I want to install.

    Can anyone give me a tip to start up the basic server? So far, my other computer isn't recognizing the server even though we're on the same router.

    Thanks
     
  2. gimp

    gimp [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    10,014
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2008
    for simple file sharing you don't have to add any additional roles. Additional roles would be for domain controller, dhcp, dns, etc.

    what do you mean by "my other computer isn't recognizing the server"??
     
  3. Siriusmuzik

    Siriusmuzik [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,446
    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    thanks.

    My other computer doesn't recognize it on the network. Other computers show up, but not the server I just set up.
     
  4. gimp

    gimp [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    10,014
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2008
    show up where? Network Neighborhood? or whatever it's called in Win7; depending on the OS

    Go start -> run -> \\servername (alternatively, \\ipaddress) see if it pulls up the server

    edit: fwiw, My Network Places/Network Neighbrhood/etc is populated based on NetBIOS. It can take a while for the server to populate into it (if at all). I remember quirks with My Network Places and XP, but more or less quit caring about it since it's just as easy to pull it up from Run.
     
  5. Siriusmuzik

    Siriusmuzik [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,446
    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    I think its just called "network". It shows my other three computers but not the server.

    I tried doing what you said and it didn't work.

    Here is the situation.

    I have a router, and 4 computers including 1 server.
    They are all hooked up to the router.

    From my computers, I can see all of the other computers under "network" but it doesn't show my server.

    I hope that makes sense. I'm new to this whole server stuff.

    Thanks :)
     
  6. Siriusmuzik

    Siriusmuzik [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,446
    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Here is a screenshot of what my server sees.

    [​IMG]


    On my other computer, I see everything besides the WIN-DCJ3GFAK837 computer which is my server.
     
  7. Snowknight26

    Snowknight26 [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    4,193
    Joined:
    May 8, 2005
    On my Server 2008 R2 installation, the only roles I have are File Server and Windows Search Service, both under File Services. As for getting your server to show up on the network, you need to..

    Enable and start the following services (and enable any dependencies they rely on):
    - DNS Client
    - Function Discovery Provider Host (or maybe it was Function Discovery Resource Publication)
    - SSDP Discovery
    - UPnP Device Host

    Then, in the Network and Sharing Center, turn on network discovery (and file sharing if you haven't already done so).