Windows Server 2003 Enterprise Edition

Discussion in 'Operating Systems' started by [BB] Rick James, Nov 17, 2006.

  1. [BB] Rick James

    [BB] Rick James [H]ard Dawg

    Messages:
    2,818
    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2004
    I'm running a 2003 server at home and I don't really care how long each IP is assigned to each PC. How can I change the lease times of my IP addresses? I'd like it so each IP has no lease on it....

    Can this be done?
     
  2. AMD[H]unter

    AMD[H]unter [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    11,483
    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2003
    I know this is obvious, but you could just have them all have static IP's. If that isn't in the question, set up Static DHCP (I dont know how, though in Win 2k3)

    EDIT: What is handing out DHCP leases? The 2k3 box?
     
  3. [BB] Rick James

    [BB] Rick James [H]ard Dawg

    Messages:
    2,818
    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2004
    Ypu the 2003 box is giving out my ip addresses. I don't wanna go the static rout.
     
  4. dbwillis

    dbwillis [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    7,251
    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2002
    Can you just change the lease time in the DHCP console on the server?

    Whats the lease time now? and what do you want it to be?
     
  5. [BB] Rick James

    [BB] Rick James [H]ard Dawg

    Messages:
    2,818
    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2004
    Well right now it's set up for 7 days....I'd like it to be when you get off my network you loose that ip. So you turn your PC off and then back on, you either A) get a new address or B) get the next address in line.

    I have it set up now for 7 days. After the 7 days you'd get the IP you had if it's not currently being used. If it's used, you'd get the next in line.
     
  6. nessus

    nessus 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,221
    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2001
    Set your DHCP lease time to five minutes. That ought to do it.
     
  7. [BB] Rick James

    [BB] Rick James [H]ard Dawg

    Messages:
    2,818
    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2004
    So I guess I thought I knew how to do that, where in '03 do I need to go? :confused:
     
  8. dbwillis

    dbwillis [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    7,251
    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2002
    Start menu, administrative tools, dhcp
    - right click on the server name and there should be a setting for HH MM SS
     
  9. swatbat

    swatbat [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    12,844
    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2001
    Go under admin tools and dhcp. Open up your server under it and right click on scope and go to properties. You can define the dhcp lease time under there.

    If you want them to always have the same IP though I would assign the desktops static ips outside the dhcp range. For anything like a notebook I would assign a reservation so the server will always hand it the same ip address even though it is set to dhcp for when you take it somewhere elce.

    Crap dbwillis beat me too it. O well I put in some more info.
     
  10. [BB] Rick James

    [BB] Rick James [H]ard Dawg

    Messages:
    2,818
    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2004
    No I don't want static IP's. I'd rather have the server assign them, but not keep them assigned to any one client for more then a day.
     
  11. Joe Fission

    Joe Fission Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    167
    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2006
    This sorta goes against the base nature of how DHCP works. You see, when a Windows box receives an IP from a DHCP server, it stores it in the registry. Then, the next time the system is booted (regardless of how long the lease is or even if it is already expired), it skips the first two phases of the DHCP process and goes right into requesting the last IP it had the last time it booted up. Unless some other system has that IP, you will most likely still acquire the same IP address. You could theoretically set your lease time for 1 minute (EXTREMELY NOT recommended due to HUGE increase in DHCP traffic) and then turn your machine off for a week and your system will request the same IP when it boots up. Even then, because Windows automatically requests the last IP used, setting your lease time to an extremely low value will more than likely not work as intended. There is no guarantee it will get the same IP it last used, but the only way it won't is if some other system already has it assigned. Even if you manually release your IP (eg. "ipconfig /release"), there is no guarantee you will get a different IP when the DHCP server issues your IP out. The only way would be to make sure that IP is somehow unavailable for issue after it is assigned to a system.
     
  12. [BB] Rick James

    [BB] Rick James [H]ard Dawg

    Messages:
    2,818
    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2004
    Yeah I did end up leaving it at 8 days. Really no reason (points you mentioned above) to leave it at anything less.