windows media player problem

Joined
Mar 31, 2011
Messages
1
I’m having trouble playing sound files on my computer. How can I fix this kind of problem? By the way, I am using Windows Vista.
 

heshelaoz

n00b
Joined
Apr 14, 2011
Messages
1
Seems like a windows media player problem. To fix it, uninstall your Media Player and clean your registry; but make sure to save a backup. You need to delete the registry key. Go to regedit and open HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE > SOFTWARE > Microsoft > MediaPlayer. Delete the whole registry key folder. Go to HKEY_CURRENT_USER > SOFTWARE > Microsoft > Media Player and HKEY_USERS USER > SOFTWARE > Microsoft > Media Player and do the same. Finally, reboot your computer. You will then be asked to reinstall the Media Player.
 

Spooony

2[H]4U
Joined
Mar 9, 2011
Messages
2,073
disable the User Account Control (UAC)
Install klite codec pack both 32bit and 64bit
 

devil22

2[H]4U
Joined
Jan 1, 2003
Messages
3,837
Disabling UAC is terrible advice, don't do that. What is the extension of the sound file? (e.g. mp3, flac, aac, etc.) Once you get that you can search google/bing for a codec to install, or post it here if you have questions and someone will tell you what you need to do.
 

Spooony

2[H]4U
Joined
Mar 9, 2011
Messages
2,073
Disabling UAC is terrible advice, don't do that. What is the extension of the sound file? (e.g. mp3, flac, aac, etc.) Once you get that you can search google/bing for a codec to install, or post it here if you have questions and someone will tell you what you need to do.

your going to google everytime you need a Codec with wmp? Good luck. There's some Codecs that don't work with UAC on. So if you want to continue using wmp your going to have to disable it some time. And no its isn't a terrible idea. A terrible idea started when you decided to run windows in a admin account. UAC is useless.
 

devil22

2[H]4U
Joined
Jan 1, 2003
Messages
3,837
When I said google for a codec, I meant something like k-lite if it has the codec you want. I prefer shark007 or mpc-hc (for video) though. Second, please tell me one mainstream codec that requires disabling UAC. And running admin with uac is much better than just admin, as most people seem to think is perfectly fine when they're running XP. It's also better than standard user in some ways, as people are much less likely to turn it off, since clicking a button is much easier than remembering a second password and typing it in constantly (or whenever). Also, the attacks against UAC require special rare circumstances and are unlikely, I've never heard of any malware actually coded to try it, and I follow security pretty closely. But you didn't say anything about running as standard user, you just said 'disable uac' which sounds like plain admin, which as I said, is a terrible idea.
 

gimp

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Jul 25, 2008
Messages
10,429
wow, some horrible advice in here without enough info.

what's the file extension?
is media player the only app having this issue?
 

Haiku214

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Oct 9, 2010
Messages
1,025
I use WMP to play all my audio/video files. I also install the DivX Codec pack for WMP.
 

Dion

2[H]4U
Joined
Oct 2, 2004
Messages
3,769
Disabling UAC is terrible advice, don't do that. What is the extension of the sound file? (e.g. mp3, flac, aac, etc.) Once you get that you can search google/bing for a codec to install, or post it here if you have questions and someone will tell you what you need to do.

Why is it a terrible idea.
 

devil22

2[H]4U
Joined
Jan 1, 2003
Messages
3,837
Why is it a terrible idea.

UAC will prevent most all malware from attaining admin privileges on the computer (assuming you don't click OK when/if the malware tries to elevate.) The 'flaw' of UAC is very rare and requires special circumstances, and exploited even more rarely. But in targeted attacks it might be an issue, for general home users I would leave UAC on and not worry about that kind of attack. Without Admin privileges, the malware can't install a rootkit that would allow it to stay stealthed completely from an AV and/or technical users trying to investigate it, though it can still be a nusance on a unelevated account. And disabling UAC would allow any malware that gets on the system to run as Admin, which is maybe not what the spoon guy intended to say, he probably meant to say you should run as standard user instead of as admin with uac enabled.
 
Top