Windows 8.1 UEFI Install...

Syphon Filter

2[H]4U
Hi Chaps,

I need a bit of help with the "correct" way to do an install of Windows 8.1 on a UEFI based system.

Over the weekend I followed the instructions HERE and I thought it all went rather well.

I just used the tool in the about.com link, created a bootable USB and it all seemed to work fine. The machine booted straight from the USB and I was able to install the OS without hitch.

However, I have experienced one problem (BSODs when enabling SLI) and someone has suggested that perhaps I didn't do the UEFI install correctly so now there is an element of doubt creeping in despite the machine running seemingly fine (above BSOD excepted).

Could anyone let me know if what I did was correct or not? Do I need to re-install my OS etc.?

Also, when installing drivers etc. should I be disabling Windows Defender?

I would really appreciate any help, this is my first build in a long time so while I know (generally speaking) what I am doing some of my knowledge may be out-dated.

TIA

sf.

UEFI is awesome when I installed it I just disconnected all but one dive. (very important)
the drive you need to the OS on. Then clicked on the disk drive icon to install for the disk.

I don't have SLI but people have problems with SLI all the time =)

So...

How did you do it? What is the process for an UEFI install? I take the install process I followed (in the about.com link) does NOT do an UEFI install?

Is there really a need to install windows differently just because the motherboard has uefi bios versus the older type mine has.....I never knew it would be any different...just install the iso on a usb flash drive and boot of it right? what could go wrong? its not entirely a bad thing to disconnect storage drives if it could cause confusion...

I'm curious to hear what the big deal is