Windows 7 + WPA

techie81

[H]ard for [H]ardware
Joined
Jan 12, 2005
Messages
6,005
Hello all, I have windows 7 on my laptop and it will not connect to my router via WPA. It will connect via XP SP3 and Vista SP2. Any ideas on how to get this working besides enabling WEP?

Latest driver is installed.

Thanks!
 

techie81

[H]ard for [H]ardware
Joined
Jan 12, 2005
Messages
6,005
Bump, I know someone else has been having this issue.
 

gimp

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Jul 25, 2008
Messages
10,517
I have the RC installed on my laptop, although I hardly use it, it connects just fine to my wireless which is setup with WPA.

oh wait... maybe it's WPA2? I can't remember.
 

techie81

[H]ard for [H]ardware
Joined
Jan 12, 2005
Messages
6,005
I tired both types with no success.

I'm using RTM btw.
 
Joined
Jan 27, 2003
Messages
861
I don't have 7 installed on any PCs at the moment. I just remembered when I ran the beta TKIP wouldn't work for me but AES did. I don't think Vista likes TKIP ether.
 

kevinzak

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jan 3, 2009
Messages
370
Just set my wireless to WPA and it worked fine and switched back to WPA2 and it also worked fine.
 

techie81

[H]ard for [H]ardware
Joined
Jan 12, 2005
Messages
6,005
Yeah, its weird. It sees the router but when I put in my key it just sits there for a few minutes thinking. Then it will say connecting is taking longer than normal and then says it cannot connect. I tried restarting the router and trying different types of encryption still nothing. Thanks for the help guys.
 
Top