Windows 7 Upgrade Now Available $49.99 / $99.99 6/26/09-7/11/09

speedfrk

Limp Gawd
Joined
Nov 23, 2004
Messages
198
newegg has OEM vist 64 with a free win 7 upgrade

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16832116677

I may go for that

what you think ?

If you have more than 1 computer, that is a good deal... you get win 7 and a copy of vista that you can put on a different computer... But, it may be better to just buy several copies of win 7 upgrade. I have 5 computers in my house and all but one are running xp so I might buy a couple of win 7 upgrades and update my main system and my HTPC.
 

nilepez

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Jan 21, 2005
Messages
11,823
i have an OEM Vista license and i've already pre-ordered my Win7 upgrade disc. if you look at chicago312's post above, he links to newegg's offer of a Vista OEM disc with free Windows 7 upgrade...so obviously you can upgrade OEM Vista.

Although I think you're right, it's possible that the Win7 upgrade is an OEM upgrade, not the retail upgrade.

Time will tell.
 

BababooeyHTJ

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Jan 21, 2009
Messages
6,951
Pls don't spread rumors like these...you can upgrade from ANY "legitimate" copy of Windows (xp, and greater) to 7...just read the license.

Can you send me a link to this licence because I can't find one? :rolleyes: I just wanted some assurance here. Apparently you can after some looking around (even though you have offered no evidence in your post) but it appears that you can't do a "real" clean install like on a wiped drive or on an aligned format on an SSD like I can do on my Vista OEM copy without jumping through hoops but I'm still not sure.

technet link

I'm going to cancel my order and pick up a windows 7 OEM at some point. There is just less headaches and in the end I'll still have two working legal operating systems. I'm still confused as to how exactly this "clean" install process works.
 
Last edited:

nilepez

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Jan 21, 2005
Messages
11,823
Can you send me a link to this licence because I can't find one? :rolleyes: I just wanted some assurance here. Apparently you can after some looking around (even though you have offered no evidence in your post) but it appears that you can't do a "real" clean install like on a wiped drive or on an aligned format on an SSD like I can do on my Vista OEM copy without jumping through hoops but I'm still not sure.

technet link

I'm going to cancel my order and pick up a windows 7 OEM at some point. There is just less headaches and in the end I'll still have two working legal operating systems. I'm still confused as to how exactly this "clean" install process works.

http://support.microsoft.com/kb/930985

That indicates that as long as you have a copy of XP or vista installed, you can boot into that OS, and start the install from inside of your old OS. Select custom install and install 7 to your new SSD drive.

Of course if you're asking can you do a clean install on a new machine, well obviously you'd have to jump through hoops for that.
 

Markdek

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Jan 5, 2007
Messages
1,471
Thsx Nilez....as you say, if a legit version is installed, there will be a clean install option. Now, of coarse, you can't boot to an empty/new disk...that has always been the case on an "upgrade" dvd.
 

nilepez

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Jan 21, 2005
Messages
11,823
Thsx Nilez....as you say, if a legit version is installed, there will be a clean install option. Now, of coarse, you can't boot to an empty/new disk...that has always been the case on an "upgrade" dvd.

Glad I could help, though I actually got there thanks to another 7 thread that had a Technet forum link, which had a link to the KB...I'm pretty sure I've done it before in vista, but it was over a year ago.
 

dreamer3kx

Limp Gawd
Joined
Oct 28, 2007
Messages
453
So I can go from xp 32 bit to Windows 7 64 bit, correct? Also I dont have the original xp disk but I have my key, would this be a problem?

Thanks
 
Last edited:

BababooeyHTJ

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Jan 21, 2009
Messages
6,951
So I can go from xp 32 bit to Windows 7 64 bit, correct? Also I dont have the original disk xp disk but I have my key, would this be a problem?

Thanks

Only if you needed to format your drive at some point but there are allways ways to get an XP disk and someone bought up vlite (when it supports 7) which may work as well.
 

dreamer3kx

Limp Gawd
Joined
Oct 28, 2007
Messages
453
Only if you needed to format your drive at some point but there are allways ways to get an XP disk and someone bought up vlite (when it supports 7) which may work as well.

so 7 upgrade wont ask for the genuine xp disk during an upgrade?
 

BababooeyHTJ

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Jan 21, 2009
Messages
6,951
so 7 upgrade wont ask for the genuine xp disk during an upgrade?

From what I hear the install process needs to be started from a Vista, XP, or Win2k desktop and somehow do a clean install. Thats where I get confused since how do you wipe a drive in use? I guess that it works though, I have never used an upgrade disk. Then you could image the drive or use vlite and auto the key into it, which I have also never done.
 

dreamer3kx

Limp Gawd
Joined
Oct 28, 2007
Messages
453
From what I hear the install process needs to be started from a Vista, XP, or Win2k desktop and somehow do a clean install. Thats where I get confused since how do you wipe a drive in use? I guess that it works though, I have never used an upgrade disk. Then you could image the drive or use vlite and auto the key into it, which I have also never done.

Im not sure on a couple of things like if 7 would ask for a genuine copy of XP during the install process, I dont want to preorder until I can find this out since I lost my copy of XP but still have my key and a backup copy. Also if I can go from xp 32 bit to Windows 7 64 bit, think ill hold off a bit until it clears up.
 

Devnull

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Apr 21, 2000
Messages
8,486
Why the hell is there a 32bit version? Legacy hardware requiring a 32bit version is going to run it pretty damn slowly in the first place.
 

DanNeely

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Aug 26, 2005
Messages
4,142
Why the hell is there a 32bit version? Legacy hardware requiring a 32bit version is going to run it pretty damn slowly in the first place.
The mobile atom is 32 bit. Core 1 processors are 32 bit. Weven runs quite well on an atom, which means that it shouldn't have any problems running on p4/pm based systems. Upgrading them is a potentially large cash cow for MS, as well as a way to pull the XP marketshare down faster.
 

BababooeyHTJ

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Jan 21, 2009
Messages
6,951
The mobile atom is 32 bit. Core 1 processors are 32 bit. Weven runs quite well on an atom, which means that it shouldn't have any problems running on p4/pm based systems. Upgrading them is a potentially large cash cow for MS, as well as a way to pull the XP marketshare down faster.

Yep, my 2ghz Yonah core 945gm laptop runs Vista and 7 pretty well. I hear 7 runs really well on Atom as well.
 

Burton560

Gawd
Joined
Dec 10, 2007
Messages
693
http://store.microsoft.com/microsoft/Windows-7-Home-Premium-Upgrade/product/B0F9E64 said:
Running Windows Vista?
# If you have Windows Vista, you can purchase Windows 7 Upgrade versions. You can do a clean install (back up your files, clean install, and reinstall your applications) or an in -place upgrade (Windows 7 installs over Windows Vista).
# Running Earlier Versions?
# If you have Windows XP or Windows 2000, you can purchase Windows 7 Upgrade versions. But you must back up your files, clean install, and reinstall your applications.

So from a clean install you can load the OS from the upgrade dvd, so doesnt that include a new HD that has never had an OS on it? if it is a clean install, then there is nothing on the drive after it has been wiped
 

beowulf7

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Jun 30, 2005
Messages
10,433
Too much confusion about being able to do a clean install with one of these Windows 7 DVDs if you have the CD key for a prior Windows. If MS can confirm that this would be permitted, then this would be a pretty hot deal.
 

nilepez

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Jan 21, 2005
Messages
11,823
From what I hear the install process needs to be started from a Vista, XP, or Win2k desktop and somehow do a clean install. Thats where I get confused since how do you wipe a drive in use? I guess that it works though, I have never used an upgrade disk. Then you could image the drive or use vlite and auto the key into it, which I have also never done.

I don't think you can use an upgrade disk if you're running 2K.
 

nilepez

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Jan 21, 2005
Messages
11,823
Too much confusion about being able to do a clean install with one of these Windows 7 DVDs if you have the CD key for a prior Windows. If MS can confirm that this would be permitted, then this would be a pretty hot deal.

It's very simple. Upgrades require an installed version of XP, Vista or, more than likely, 7.

Your old OS key is not asked for, nor is the original CD/DVD.
 

Odin75

Gawd
Joined
Mar 27, 2007
Messages
739
Ok, I've done some extra research and it indeed seems you can upgrade as long as there is an OS (either XP or Vista) already installed on the machine. Doesn't matter if it is OEM or Retail. From within Windows, you pop your Windows 7 disk, and it gives you an option to do a clean install. However, like BababooeyHTJ said before, how can it be clean if there was an OS running? The answer to that is beyond me.
Also, I don't have an answer as to whether the new Windows 7 stays OEM or Retail depending on the previous version, or it simply becomes OEM.

The problem really comes when you wish to upgrade your hardware, for example, your main hard-drive. Obviously the Windows 7 Upgrade disc won't work, because it only loads from an existing OS, and you have to install the old OS before upgrading. But there is a problem with that. The moment you change your main hard-drive, it invalidates your old OEM Windows, because it might count it as a different computer. As I understand, OEM keys tie to the hardware at the moment of installation, and Microsoft might not give you another one. That is unless you can prove the old hard-drive failed, prove you own a copy of Windows, prove the computer is the same. Seems only Retail Windows is allowed to change hardware at will. And if the old OS is not validated, I can predict it won't let you continue with the Windows 7 Upgrade either.

However, this is all speculation. I am trying to get an idea from all the rumors around, and this is the most probable prediction I have for myself. And if this is the case, then this deal is not as good as it seems. At least not for the [H] crowd that upgrades casually. For the average joe that never upgrades their computer and simply buys a new one each time, things are different (good for them).

If anyone can confirm this, or prove me wrong, that would be GREAT. I'm really desperate for information. I don't want to miss this deal, if is something I can benefit from.
 

beowulf7

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Jun 30, 2005
Messages
10,433
SD has a Wiki where some folks wrote a FAQ on it. I don't know how accurate it is, but if it is, it can be a useful source of info.:

SlickDeals said:
Frequently Asked Questions:
Q1) When will Windows 7 be released?
A1) Windows 7 comes out on October 22, 2009

Q2) I heard there was a way to get Windows 7 free if I bought a new PC after June 26. Where can I find out about that?
A2) Details can be found here http://www.microsoft.com/windows/buy/offers/upgrade.aspx

Q3) I have Windows Vista Ultimate Edition. Is there a discounted upgrade option available for that?
A3) No, not at this time :(

Q4) Can I do a clean install with this disc, or just an upgrade?
A4) According to Paul Thurrott, yes, you can do a clean install with the upgrade version.
http://community.winsupersite.com/b...-7-upgrade-media-what-about-x64-upgrades.aspx
Answer from MSFT. Step-by-Step: Windows 7 Upgrade and Migration http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/library/dd446674(WS.10).aspx

Q5) Which version of Windows 7 is right for me?
A5) A few different sites have details:
Official site: http://windows.microsoft.com/en-US/windows7/products/compare-editions
Wiki: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Windows_7_editions
ZDNet What's really in each Windows 7 Edition?: http://blogs.zdnet.com/Bott/?p=1031

Q6) Can I upgrade my edition of Vista to the edition of Windows 7 that I want?
A6) Check the upgrade matrix here: http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/library/dd772579(WS.10).aspx

Q7) Can I "upgrade" from Windows Vista Ultimate edition to Windows 7 Home Premium?
A7) No. See the upgrade matrix in answer #6. You will have to perform a clean install.

Q8) Can I use this upgrade version of Windows 7 on my XP computer?
A8) Yes, but you would need to back up all your data and then do a clean install rather than installing on top of your XP version.

Q9) Does Windows 7 Professional include Media Center functionality?
A9) Yes

Q10) Do I need to buy a different upgrade DVD if I want the 64-bit version of Windows 7?
A10) No. According to the Microsoft store, the upgrade packages for Home Premium and Ultimate include both the 32-bit and 64-bit DVD's. (I would assume that the Professional edition comes with both DVD's as well, but that's not mentioned yet)

Q11) Can I install this on more than one PC?
A11) No. At this time, there's no information about a multi-PC version of Windows 7 being available at stores.

Q12) Can I upgrade from a 32-bit version of Windows to a 64-bit version of Windows?
A12) No. You cannot perform a direct upgrade, you will have to do a clean install to move from a 32-bit to a 64-bit OS.

Q13) Can I upgrade from Vista Basic to Windows 7?
A13) Yes. Run the Windows 7 Upgrade Advisor (link below in 'other useful info' section) and it will install an operating system check. Basic can 'upgrade' (in-place 32-bit to 32-bit, no need for 'clean install') to Windows 7 Home Premium or Ultimate. All other versions will require a clean install. So for $50 you can upgrade from Vista Basic to Windows 7 Home Premium for sure.

Q14: How does W7 substantiate previous product ownership during the install process. (especially if you want to do a clean install vs. an upgrade)
A14: You stick in your Windows 7 disc and boot from the disc. During the installation process it will scan your machine for an eligible copy of windows to upgrade. If it finds none, it will prompt you to remove the windows 7 disc and insert a qualifying previous version of windows disc (you must have a full version disc, upgrade discs don't qualify) after setup.exe scans the drive and verifies the previous OS disc is in the drive, then it will prompt you to remove the old version, re-insert the windows 7 disc and will continue the setup process.
(note that you can't use a previous upgrade disk for substantiation purposes - can't upgrade from an upgrade, unless the previous version is installed on the system)

Q15: Can you use the upgrade disk to install W7 in trial mode and then immediately upgrade it. (ie the Vista loophole)
A15: At this point no-one knows for sure. Rumors are that this small loophole will remain unchanged from Vista.



Other useful info:
Windows 7 Upgrade Advisor - http://www.microsoft.com/windows/windows-7/upgrade-advisor.aspx
Windows 7 Upgrade Matrix - http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/...FamilyID=e170eba1-5bab-401f-bbf5-00f0ee7fe0fb




Related info:
Wall Street Journal article about various Windows 7 sales incentives - http://forums.slickdeals.net/showpost.php?p=20743115&postcount=227
 

Grentz

Fully [H]
Joined
May 5, 2006
Messages
17,209
You can do a clean install by starting the install from your current OS. It sets a flag and then reboots the machine into a setup which can then do the clean install and such.

That is how it worked on Vista Upgrade editions.

People make too much about the OEM licenses...they are not as picky as most make them out to be in my experience, and I have dealt with a LOT of OEM licensing stuff with MS. The difference comes in what you are legally supposed to do and what you actually can do.
 

BababooeyHTJ

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Jan 21, 2009
Messages
6,951
You can do a clean install by starting the install from your current OS. It sets a flag and then reboots the machine into a setup which can then do the clean install and such.

That is how it worked on Vista Upgrade editions.

People make too much about the OEM licenses...they are not as picky as most make them out to be in my experience, and I have dealt with a LOT of OEM licensing stuff with MS. The difference comes in what you are legally supposed to do and what you actually can do.

Thank you you have answered everything that I have been wondering about these upgrade disks.
 

RadXge

2[H]4U
Joined
Aug 2, 2006
Messages
2,849
I am happy as long as the clean install trick works with the upgrade disk.
I own 2 copies of Vista Home Premium but I prefer a clean install to an upgrade.
I just pre-ordered Windows 7 Home Premium at Amazon.ca.;)
 

LiquidX

2[H]4U
Joined
Jan 7, 2004
Messages
3,759
I actually downloaded my Vista Business copy from MS directly and had to burn it myself. So I do not have a authentic disk. Am I screwed out of this deal?
 

Grentz

Fully [H]
Joined
May 5, 2006
Messages
17,209
I actually downloaded my Vista Business copy from MS directly and had to burn it myself. So I do not have a authentic disk. Am I screwed out of this deal?

No you are fine, for about the millionth time, it goes off of the install.

If you have Vista or XP installed and Activated you are fine. It checks for that, then allows you to do the clean install.

This is how upgrades have worked in the past and how they should work on win7 (no one knows for 100% sure).
 

ScotteusMaximus

Limp Gawd
Joined
Oct 2, 2005
Messages
415
From within Windows, you pop your Windows 7 disk, and it gives you an option to do a clean install. However, like BababooeyHTJ said before, how can it be clean if there was an OS running? The answer to that is beyond me.

I could be mistaken, but wouldn't it just restart your system and boot into the OS installation like normal? I think from there, you can go about doing a clean install (formatting/partitioning/etc), and the initial OS boot is just a formality.

I haven't done a clean install to a formatted drive (as opposed to a clean install over an existing OS) in a long time, but I thought it's been the case that an upgrade version simply asked for the disc from a previous version of Windows. The FAQ from SD seems to support that. If anything, just burn a few extra copies of a full version of Windows that you have lying around and store that with your Win7 discs.
 
Last edited:

LiquidX

2[H]4U
Joined
Jan 7, 2004
Messages
3,759
No you are fine, for about the millionth time, it goes off of the install.

If you have Vista or XP installed and Activated you are fine. It checks for that, then allows you to do the clean install.

This is how upgrades have worked in the past and how they should work on win7 (no one knows for 100% sure).

Great. Thanks Grentz.
 

Grentz

Fully [H]
Joined
May 5, 2006
Messages
17,209
I could be mistaken, but wouldn't it just restart your system and boot into the OS installation like normal? I think from there, you can go about doing a clean install (formatting/partitioning/etc), and the initial OS boot is just a formality.

I haven't done a clean install to a formatted drive (as opposed to a clean install over an existing OS), but I thought it's been the case that an upgrade version simply asked for the disc from a previous version of Windows. The FAQ from SD seems to support that. If anything, just burn a few extra copies of a full version of Windows that you have lying around and store that with your Win7 discs.

Starting with Vista the upgrades work differently. You no longer can just put in the last gen OS install CD to verify.

Makes sense really since in the past you could just torrent the old OS install CD and be good to go with an upgrade version for the new OS. Now the old OS has to be verified genuine.
 

Citizen86

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Feb 20, 2007
Messages
4,572
Starting with Vista the upgrades work differently. You no longer can just put in the last gen OS install CD to verify.

Makes sense really since in the past you could just torrent the old OS install CD and be good to go with an upgrade version for the new OS. Now the old OS has to be verified genuine.

Makes sense, but sucks for us that installed Win7 RC and wiped Vista :p

There is talk of being able to use the upgrade without needing a previous installation though... so we'll see. I would much rather skip installing Vista just to so I can reinstall Win7 overtop of it though.
 

Grentz

Fully [H]
Joined
May 5, 2006
Messages
17,209
Makes sense, but sucks for us that installed Win7 RC and wiped Vista :p

There is talk of being able to use the upgrade without needing a previous installation though... so we'll see. I would much rather skip installing Vista just to so I can reinstall Win7 overtop of it though.

Ya, will be interesting if there is a way to go from the RC or something with the upgrade edition.

Everything is really speculation at this point mostly based on how the Vista upgrade process was since Win7 is so similar in many ways.
 

RAD

Limp Gawd
Joined
Feb 12, 2009
Messages
489
On my new system I started right off with Windows 7 RC. While I do have the real XP install CD, I unfortunately do not have the XP serial number from my old desktop that burnt out. At this point does that mean I am just going to have to suck it up and pay full retail for Windows 7 when it launches?
 
Last edited:

ScotteusMaximus

Limp Gawd
Joined
Oct 2, 2005
Messages
415
Starting with Vista the upgrades work differently. You no longer can just put in the last gen OS install CD to verify.

Makes sense really since in the past you could just torrent the old OS install CD and be good to go with an upgrade version for the new OS. Now the old OS has to be verified genuine.

Ah, my mistake. I haven't done a clean install to a reformatted drive since XP. All my Vista installs have just been clean over an existing XP or Vista install. Let's hope the SD FAQ is legit and they'll just let you put in a CD from a full version :D
 

dreamer3kx

Limp Gawd
Joined
Oct 28, 2007
Messages
453
Starting with Vista the upgrades work differently. You no longer can just put in the last gen OS install CD to verify.

Makes sense really since in the past you could just torrent the old OS install CD and be good to go with an upgrade version for the new OS. Now the old OS has to be verified genuine.

Do you mean the cd itself or just the OS installed? Or both?
 

Joe Average

Ad Blocker - Banned
Joined
Apr 6, 2008
Messages
15,459
So far, since we haven't seen actual final RTM code, I would say there's no way to know absolutely for sure exactly how the upgrade process will go. I still believe the old tried and true method of just installing the upgrade cleanly with no key and then doing a few commands in an Admin Command Prompt will get me a clean install using the upgrade version - I've never done the infamous and dreadfully inefficient double-install method, ever.

We'll see what happens when the code is RTM and whether or not they alter the actual upgrade installation process.
 

Grentz

Fully [H]
Joined
May 5, 2006
Messages
17,209
So far, since we haven't seen actual final RTM code, I would say there's no way to know absolutely for sure exactly how the upgrade process will go. I still believe the old tried and true method of just installing the upgrade cleanly with no key and then doing a few commands in an Admin Command Prompt will get me a clean install using the upgrade version - I've never done the infamous and dreadfully inefficient double-install method, ever.

We'll see what happens when the code is RTM and whether or not they alter the actual upgrade installation process.

I have a feeling that will work as well, just didnt want to get into it cause people then start asking more questions and to be honest know one knows 100% for sure yet.
 

beowulf7

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Jun 30, 2005
Messages
10,433
MS' WGA scares me b/c of the false positives (or false negatives, depending on how you look at it - basically, MS calling a valid Windows OS invalid) that it has reported in the past and maybe still does. : \
 

Grentz

Fully [H]
Joined
May 5, 2006
Messages
17,209
MS' WGA scares me b/c of the false positives (or false negatives, depending on how you look at it - basically, MS calling a valid Windows OS invalid) that it has reported in the past and maybe still does. : \

I have never had really any issues. They are so lax on phone activation that it really is a non issue.

Like I said, I have dealt with a ton more licenses/activations compared to most as well so I have a good sample to report from.
 
Top