Windows 7 and Desktop Area Right Click Delay

Discussion in 'Operating Systems' started by MeTaSpARKs, May 17, 2009.

  1. MeTaSpARKs

    MeTaSpARKs [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,149
    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2004
    What is frustrating my use of Windows 7 is that any time I go to right click on my desktop to get the context menu that allows me to go to my display properties, I literally have to wait eight seconds before seeing anything.

    1) Right click on desktop
    2) Wait 8 seconds while seeing hourglass (the circular wait sprite)
    3) See context menu

    I have an Intel 3.0GHz C2D with 4GB RAM. I'm on a GTX 295 running triple displays with it using nVidia's forceware drivers version 185.85. I just cleaned installed from a formatted drive. All my other hardware drivers are updated and I've defragged the disk after installation.

    What can I do to eliminate the delay/wait time associated with step 2?

    Thanks!
     
  2. SR45

    SR45 Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    447
    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2005
    Complaint is wide spread on other forums as well. No fixes yet as I have learned. Hope MS fixes this glitch soon and not leave it until RTM
     
  3. JonathanJ

    JonathanJ [H]Lite

    Messages:
    111
    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Odd, I've found RMBing on the desk to improved versus Vista. XD In Vista up to 6.1.7077 I found RMBing the Desktop resulted in the cursor busy state being shown for about half a second (about a quarter rotation) before the context menu would appear. Now it's instant again (Yay!).

    As for a solution to your problem, I might suggestion removing the NVidia context menu extension for the desktop or any others you might have that effect it.
     
  4. criccio

    criccio Fully Equipped

    Messages:
    12,564
    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    You missed the most important part. What version of Windows 7? If its anything less then 7100, then you need to upgrade ASAP.
     
  5. Snowknight26

    Snowknight26 [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    4,201
    Joined:
    May 8, 2005
    Any non-standard context menus? I remember this issue from XP where a non-existant context menu icon was trying to be loaded but couldn't.
     
    Last edited: May 17, 2009
  6. SR45

    SR45 Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    447
    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2005
    I had this same issue with build 7077, build 7100 and now 7127. So this issue is still not fixed. The delay is most noticeable over Vista. Each build was a clean reformat and install, no Upgrades
     
  7. klexen

    klexen n00b

    Messages:
    12
    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2006
    I too have the same issue. I'm pretty sure it's due to nvidia driver issue. Run VGA mode and see if you still have the problem.
     
  8. Met-AL

    Met-AL [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    7,879
    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2002
    Yep, I had this issue once. I submitted a help ticket to our corp IT helpdesk. They had one of their guys mess with it for a while and never could nail it down. It was something with a context menu going out over our network. If I would unplug the Ethernet cable from the wall, it went away.

    In the end, they just sent me a new hard disk with a fresh image on it.
     
  9. MeTaSpARKs

    MeTaSpARKs [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,149
    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2004
    Thanks but removing the nVidia context menu extension did not solve my problem.
     
  10. MeTaSpARKs

    MeTaSpARKs [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,149
    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2004
    I'm at 7100. Just downloaded the version Friday from Microsoft.
     
  11. MeTaSpARKs

    MeTaSpARKs [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,149
    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2004
    Just nVidia's, which as an earlier post suggested to remove, I did and found no improvement. Still a shitty eight seconds.
     
  12. QwertyJuan

    QwertyJuan [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    11,287
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2000
    I have an old Radeon in my 7 machines and to me, when I RMB on the desktop, it's actually FASTER than in Vista!
     
  13. MeTaSpARKs

    MeTaSpARKs [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,149
    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2004
    Thanks for the suggestion, but this did not resolve the problem. Looks like it has something to do with Windows 7.
     
  14. MeTaSpARKs

    MeTaSpARKs [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,149
    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2004
    Thanks for your post. Are you using nVidia or ATI video hardware?
     
  15. MeTaSpARKs

    MeTaSpARKs [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,149
    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2004
    Wow... just had a reply on a different forum that solved the issue.

    From
    http://www.xtremesystems.org/forums/showpost.php?p=3779134&postcount=25

    This solved my problem without need of a reboot.
    All I did was navigate to HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\Directory\Background\shellex\ContextMenuHandlers\ and that is where I found the NvCplDesktopContext key to delete. Mind you, this key was still there although through the nVidia control panel, I had unchecked to add the control panel to my desktop context menu. Once removed, instant success!
     
  16. Dangman

    Dangman Ninja Editor SuperMod

    Messages:
    46,062
    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2005
    Odd.

    Never had this issue with Win 7 Beta or Win 7 RC using the latest drivers. Specs in sig.

    Glad to see there's a fix for it.
     
  17. Chilly

    Chilly [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    2,031
    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2005
    ATi cards in all my *current* systems. All of them have various builds of Windows 7 installed on them (7000, 7068, 7077, 7100), all of the the context menu comes up instantly, I just checked it right now actually.
     
  18. bigdogchris

    bigdogchris [H]ard as it Gets

    Messages:
    17,942
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2008
    I run a GTX260 with 7 x64 without issues so this may be related to certain GPUs or maybe whether you have PhysX enabled possibly (I have it off).
     
  19. Sovereign

    Sovereign 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,080
    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2005
    The XtremeSystems fix worked! No reboot required. BRILLIANT.

    Thanks!
     
  20. Andrmgic

    Andrmgic Gawd

    Messages:
    732
    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2005
    Glad you guys got it sorted.. I wasn't seeing it on my machine with an ATI card or at work with Intel integrated.
     
  21. undermined

    undermined Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    423
    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2008
    It is a option in the control panel to toggle this setting, check the pic:

    [​IMG]
     
  22. Sovereign

    Sovereign 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,080
    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2005
    *ahem*

    The registry edit was worth it.
     
  23. Modboxx

    Modboxx Gawd

    Messages:
    521
    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2008
    I discoverd that from a fresh install of build 7077, 7100, and 7127 that there is no problem only after i install the nvidia card drivers does it come up.

    I also discoverd that if i goto the windows refresh rate window and just cancel out the problem go's away until the next time i restart.

    Hopefully they fix this before release.
     
  24. ilkhan

    ilkhan No Title for You!

    Messages:
    13,327
    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2002
    I dont remember ever having a delay prior to the RC, but its about 1/4 second for me right now.
     
  25. MeTaSpARKs

    MeTaSpARKs [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,149
    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2004
    Use the registry edit to solve the problem.
     
  26. USMC2Hard4U

    USMC2Hard4U [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    6,145
    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2003
    Amazing. I was about to Format and reinstall.

    I have the exact same issue on Vista as well with the newest Drivers 185.85. I just formatted and went to 7 RC only because of this issue.... and it was still here.

    Glad to see the Fix!
     
  27. w1retap

    w1retap [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    12,022
    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2006
    Yes.. the registry edit worked. :cool:

    I know when the problem starts to occur. It's when you install a new version of the Nvidia drivers on to Windows 7, whether it be from the Windows Update or downloading it from nvidia.com.

    I had the W7 Beta installed... I updated the graphics drivers through Windows Update, then the nvidia drivers installed causing the right click delay.

    Today I decided it was time to upgrade to the W7 RC version to avoid the time running out on me in case I get busy with other things. The initial install of the OS was fine, right click was fast. Then I downloaded the nvidia driver from nvidia.com for my setup. As soon as I restarted after the install, the right click delay started. I then applied the registry fix and it went away. Thanks. :D
     
  28. ilkhan

    ilkhan No Title for You!

    Messages:
    13,327
    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2002
    registry edit worked, but only after going in and doing it manually rather than copy/pasting what that quote shows into a reg file (stupid spaces in the quote).
     
  29. sirmonkey1985

    sirmonkey1985 [H]ard|DCer of the Month - July 2010

    Messages:
    21,716
    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2008
    the lag was nvidia's problem with 185.xx drivers.. it was fixed in the 186.xx beta's.. it causes it in XP 32bit/64bit vista 32bit/64bit windows 7 32bit/64bit.. so its not just a windows 7 problem.. i ended up going back to 182.xx drivers because i got sick of dealing with it.. im starting to lose hope with nvidia's drivers.. they just keep getting worse and worse..