Windows 10 users fume: Microsoft, where's our 'local account' option gone?

Discussion in 'HardForum Tech News' started by naib, Sep 30, 2019.

  1. naib

    naib [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,266
    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2013
    https://www.zdnet.com/article/windows-10-users-fume-microsoft-wheres-our-local-account-option-gone/

    Microsoft has annoyed some of its 900 million Windows 10 device users after apparently removing the 'Use offline account' as part of its effort to herd users towards its cloud-based Microsoft Account.
    The offline local account is specific to one device, while the Microsoft Account can be used to log in to multiple devices and comes with the benefit of Microsoft's recent work on passwordless authentication with Windows Hello.

    The local account doesn't require an internet connection or an email address – just a username and password that are stored on the PC. ZDNet's Ed Bott argues the local account is inferior from a usability and security standpoint.

    But Windows 10 users are annoyed that Microsoft has hidden the local account option when setting up a new PC or reinstalling Windows 10. A user on a popular Reddit thread notes that the local account option is now invisible if the device is connected to the internet.
     
    qb4ever, Big_Rig_Stig, GHRTW and 6 others like this.
  2. TheOne&OnlyZeke

    TheOne&OnlyZeke 100% Irish

    Messages:
    10,306
    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2000
  3. waderunner

    waderunner [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,032
    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2013
    Just as a point of comparison, do recent versions of OSX allow local accounts? Or, is an account tied to an Apple ID required for OSX? (I'm not a Mac guy, so I don't know the answer to that one.)
     
    cyclone3d and purple_monster like this.
  4. snowcrash

    snowcrash Gawd

    Messages:
    711
    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2011
    Will still happily use Windows 10. Although at least now I know to remove the ethernet cable or not set up wifi if local account is desired when installing Windows.
     
  5. Burticus

    Burticus 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    4,030
    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2005
    It's still there, I just did 2 w10 1903 builds. You just choose the option "I don't have internet" during setup. I don't connect the internet at all until the install is done, then I hook up to let it do updates/activate etc.

    Off topic side note/fun fact, if you also choose the option "I don't have a key" during setup, and it's an old dell/HP/etc oem box, it will pick up and activate under digital license. It helps to know which version, but you have a 50/50 chance between Pro and Home. Most corporate drone boxes are Pro, but some aren't. If it doesn't like it, reinstall and choose the other option. I kind of like the fact that I don't have to get on my hands and knees to read a smudged ripped COA sticker on the bottom of these things.
     
  6. Jim Kim

    Jim Kim 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,502
    Joined:
    May 24, 2012
    I just setup a brand new dell laptop and following the standard setup, connect to wifi etc, I was able to get a local account. Might not have shipped with the latest microsoft service pack aka virus.
    Wonders 10, the gift that keeps on keeping on.
     
    Big_Rig_Stig likes this.
  7. 1_rick

    1_rick Gawd

    Messages:
    566
    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2017
    You can also just not be online when you do the installation. Can't create a Microsoft account if Windows can't reach their servers.

    The one advantage of creating a Microsoft account (and then, as comments in the article mention, go back to using a local account) is that your Windows key is tied to your account, so if you make a hardware change big enough to trip activation, you you can reactivate Windows without having to buy a new copy.
     
  8. Jagger100

    Jagger100 [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    7,490
    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2004
    What, until next year? They run on commercial products that never connect to the internet. If it wasn't for those, it would be gone. They'll cripple the local account in some way. Right now this is just 'friction' to discourage the practice until and reduce the number of people left when they finally pull the option.
     
    qb4ever and Big_Rig_Stig like this.
  9. Zarathustra[H]

    Zarathustra[H] Official Forum Curmudgeon

    Messages:
    28,433
    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2000
    I do not want anything cloud in any way shape or form. The first thing I do when I buy any device is to disable any and all cloud "features".

    I want full 100% control at all times over when my device hits the network.

    This is a non-negotiable to me. The day I have to sign up for a Microsoft account is the day I delete my windows partition.

    My computer should never communicate with the network unless I explicitly tell it to.
     
    jeffj7, Big_Rig_Stig, Lumpus and 21 others like this.
  10. Zarathustra[H]

    Zarathustra[H] Official Forum Curmudgeon

    Messages:
    28,433
    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2000

    Either this was misquoted, or the article has been updated.

    It now states that the option is "harder to find".​
     
  11. ir0nw0lf

    ir0nw0lf [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    6,319
    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2003
    Um... OK... It is still an option on all the new builds I do. And yes they see an internet connection at that point. So not sure what the entire point of the article was. Just because some people don't see the option doesn't mean a blanket Microsoft is hiding it from everyone option has been enacted. They needed to back down the tone of that article.
     
    Armenius and ManofGod like this.
  12. Zarathustra[H]

    Zarathustra[H] Official Forum Curmudgeon

    Messages:
    28,433
    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2000
    Apple probably requires it as well.

    Apple should not be the standard on any of this though.
     
  13. Loose Nut

    Loose Nut Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    374
    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2009
    But you all got it for free, so its all good
     
    Armenius, Master_shake_ and Jim Kim like this.
  14. odditory

    odditory [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    5,571
    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    The term is called dark pattern - a user interface that has been carefully and intentionally crafted to trick users into doing something they didn't mean to or didn't realize they were doing.
     
    qb4ever, Big_Rig_Stig, Algrim and 2 others like this.
  15. ManofGod

    ManofGod [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    10,907
    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    I actually have tested this a while back, when someone, I do not recall who, tried to claim that the local account option during setup is gone. However, I installed the OS multiple times after this claim and the local account option was there and not at all hidden. Unless this is something different, it is not hidden and not gone, whether your computer is connected to the internet or not.
     
    defaultluser likes this.
  16. odditory

    odditory [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    5,571
    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    You tested an older build, which isn't relevant anymore.

    The complaint here is that the Local Account option is becoming increasingly obscured with newer builds.
     
    Last edited: Sep 30, 2019
    Big_Rig_Stig, Armenius and Red Falcon like this.
  17. MavericK

    MavericK Zero Cool

    Messages:
    28,930
    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2004
    I noticed this for new Windows 10 Home installs on OEM machines - I literally had to create a dummy MS account to get past the setup screen, there was no way to actually use a local account. I guess it sounds like you'd have to boot without internet to get past it otherwise. Really quite stupid.

    Windows 10 Pro doesn't seem to do this. They push for you to use an MS account, but you can choose the "domain join" option and create a local account.
     
    Big_Rig_Stig likes this.
  18. Zarathustra[H]

    Zarathustra[H] Official Forum Curmudgeon

    Messages:
    28,433
    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2000
    It is an evil practice, and Microsoft is notorious for doing this.
     
  19. Tekara

    Tekara [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,950
    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2003
    Just installed a copy today and can confirm, there is NO use local account option if the installer detects a network connection. Had to unplug the ethernet cable in order to get the local account prompt.
     
  20. ManofGod

    ManofGod [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    10,907
    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Although that is good to know, it is also completely unnecessary.
     
  21. MavericK

    MavericK Zero Cool

    Messages:
    28,930
    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2004
    Untrue, read the replies above. You are not given an option in some cases - for me it was only with Home machines, not Pro. But I assure you, the option was not given if a network was connected.
     
    Big_Rig_Stig and Armenius like this.
  22. KazeoHin

    KazeoHin [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    7,860
    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2011
    All the new 1903 builds I do have to be disconnected from the network in order to install a fresh copy without an online account. The start up process literally does not give you an option if you have a WAN connection.
     
    qb4ever, Big_Rig_Stig and Armenius like this.
  23. ManofGod

    ManofGod [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    10,907
    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    If this is exactly the same thing as a couple of months ago, I tried installed Windows Multiple times, Home and Pro, VM and bare metal, Gateway computer and custom built, and ended up with the local account creation selection every time. Oh well, guess I must just be lucky or something.
     
    Lakados likes this.
  24. Lakados

    Lakados [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,662
    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2014
    Yeah trying using an apple product with out registering it to iCloud or iTunes and see how far that gets you...... F'ing PITA it is unless you are using a good MDM solution.
     
    Armenius likes this.
  25. odditory

    odditory [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    5,571
    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    I'm sorry but your objective reality has an anti-Microsoft bias. How very dare you!
     
    Last edited: Sep 30, 2019
    Big_Rig_Stig, Armenius and KazeoHin like this.
  26. Darth Ender

    Darth Ender Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    424
    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2018
    meh. I haven't done a local user account since the option for the alternative microsoft account was created.

    What's the use case for creating a local user account? Would be kind of odd to decide to install and run their os but not want to make a single-use outlook account.
     
  27. Lakados

    Lakados [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,662
    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2014
    Yeah that was a shit show.
     
    Big_Rig_Stig likes this.
  28. kirbyrj

    kirbyrj [H]ard as it Gets

    Messages:
    24,460
    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2005
    On the other hand, I've NEVER used the MS account when setting up a Win10 install EVER. I don't want to log into my old hotmail account every time I use my computer.
     
    Big_Rig_Stig likes this.
  29. odditory

    odditory [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    5,571
    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    None of these discussions could ever hope to be complete without the obligatory "What about Apple/Google" post :)

    And of course the whole reason most of us here have spent decades tolerating Windows - even in it's latest consumer-gaslighting incarnations - is because it's *not* OSX.
     
    Lumpus, Armenius and Lakados like this.
  30. MavericK

    MavericK Zero Cool

    Messages:
    28,930
    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2004
    I don't know what to tell you other than that I can corroborate other reports here of it not being possible to create a local account while connected to the internet.
     
    qb4ever, Big_Rig_Stig and Armenius like this.
  31. Lakados

    Lakados [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,662
    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2014
    I know right, they might all be screwing us but at least MS offers lube, I mean you have to pay extra for it and navigate their licensing options to find it but it is there after 3 or 4 ToS agreements. Say what you will but MS is all about concent.
     
    Big_Rig_Stig likes this.
  32. cybereality

    cybereality [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    4,690
    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2008
    I'm getting tired of companies pushing the cloud down our throats.

    I mean, I do like certain online services, but I want to pick and choose what I use, not have it happen automatically without my knowledge.

    Really just want to switch to Linux at this point, but every time I try I find some reason to go back to Windows. You can't win.
     
    Big_Rig_Stig, Lumpus and Armenius like this.
  33. Jim Kim

    Jim Kim 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,502
    Joined:
    May 24, 2012
    Well that explains it, the laptop i setup was running Pro.
     
  34. bigddybn

    bigddybn [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    6,939
    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2006
    Yes you can but running a Macbook without iCloud is pretty much defeating the purpose and appeal of MacOS.
     
    Emission and westrock2000 like this.
  35. Hruodgar

    Hruodgar [H]Lite

    Messages:
    77
    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2005
  36. ir0nw0lf

    ir0nw0lf [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    6,319
    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2003
    Sounds like we need a poll of which flavor (Home or Pro) people are noticing this issue with. I have done dozens of Pro installs this month and every single one saw an internet connection and allowed me to create an offline account without having to resort to drastic measures. I have not installed Home on a machine in a month or two. So it is sounding to me like this issue is coming up more on Home than Pro.
     
    Armenius likes this.
  37. thecold

    thecold Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    303
    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2017
    Yea all my pro activations didn't have this problem. Even the one I just formatted a week or two ago (and I downloaded that installer strait off the internet that day).
     
    Armenius likes this.
  38. Zarathustra[H]

    Zarathustra[H] Official Forum Curmudgeon

    Messages:
    28,433
    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2000
    Come to think of it, I installed 1903 on my moms laptop not too long ago, and it DID give me the local account option. That said I don't think I was connected to the network.
     
  39. Zepher

    Zepher [H]ipster Replacement

    Messages:
    16,892
    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2001
    It was still there last night when I was setting up Windows.
     
  40. Master_shake_

    Master_shake_ [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    9,415
    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2012
    it's not your computer

    it's only your hardware.
     
    Big_Rig_Stig and Red Falcon like this.