windows 10 still free?

Discussion in 'Operating Systems' started by fightingfi, Sep 23, 2019.

  1. fightingfi

    fightingfi Look at Me! I need the attention.

    Messages:
    2,659
    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2008
  2. bigdogchris

    bigdogchris [H]ard as it Gets

    Messages:
    17,892
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2008
    Last time I tried it worked. And this was well after the free upgrade period ended.
     
    fightingfi likes this.
  3. clownfish27

    clownfish27 [H]Lite

    Messages:
    105
    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2010
    yes, at least for the 3 pack windows 7 upgrade license i bought years ago. i've been using the same key for a bunch of new w10 full installs of my computers.
     
  4. auntjemima

    auntjemima [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    5,159
    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2014
    I do it ALL the time. It's as free as it's always been.
     
  5. e-Killer

    e-Killer n00b

    Messages:
    43
    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2005
    ist free the Upgrade but not the license by itself.
     
  6. Newbie_52

    Newbie_52 [H]Lite

    Messages:
    72
    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2014
    Just did this yesterday, old HP desktop with win7. installed win10 and used the win7 key to activate just fine. I've also took a old win7 laptop that i had installed linux on it and used that win7 key to activate win10 on a VM and it worked.
     
  7. polonyc2

    polonyc2 [H]ard as it Gets

    Messages:
    16,890
    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2004
    I do a clean install every time a major new feature update is released and it's still free...looks like they're dropping 19H2 in October so time for another clean install...
     
  8. x509

    x509 [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,812
    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2009
    And every single time you have to re-install all your programs and restore all your data???
     
  9. polonyc2

    polonyc2 [H]ard as it Gets

    Messages:
    16,890
    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2004
    I don't mind...takes around 5 hours total...I've written down all the steps plus all my W10 and program tweaks to make it quicker
     
  10. dbwillis

    dbwillis [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    7,632
    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2002
    Yes, W7 key still works for a fresh W10 install, did one this AM, no issues at all
     
  11. pendragon1

    pendragon1 [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    14,213
    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2000
    yes and there are already a few threads about this.
     
  12. DeaconFrost

    DeaconFrost [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    11,087
    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2007
    It doesn't take very long at all, if you plan ahead.
     
  13. Executioner

    Executioner Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    326
    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2015
    I thought that It can't work on a fresh install (unless the PC has previously been activated for Win10). The Win10 installer has to see a licensed install of Win 7 or 8.
     
  14. dvsman

    dvsman 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,808
    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Did you log in the system to your microsoft / hotmail / outlook account? If so that machine / serial # has been put into your account and it should work now all the time (for that particular mobo). If you swap mobos, it will likely trigger a re-activation request. I've had no problems swapping SSDs or CPUs but as soon as the mobo gets pulled (even replaced it with another one of the same make / model) and it requested another activation / re-activation.
     
  15. primetime

    primetime [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    6,042
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2005
    Got to love win 7 pro retail serials lol
     
    x509 likes this.
  16. ThreeDee

    ThreeDee [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    10,688
    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2001
    Win 7 keys still work on fresh comparable 10 installs (ie .. Windows 7 Home=Windows 10 Home, Windows 7 Pro=Windows 10 Pro ..etc )
     
  17. B00nie

    B00nie [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    7,980
    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2012
    Heh if I had to spend 5 hours per year fixing a mess the OS left, I would dump the OS in a heartbeat.
     
  18. polonyc2

    polonyc2 [H]ard as it Gets

    Messages:
    16,890
    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2004
    I'm sure you spend more hours then that fixing the mess Linux leaves :D
     
    GoldenTiger likes this.
  19. GoldenTiger

    GoldenTiger [H]ard as it Gets

    Messages:
    18,871
    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2004
    No kidding.
     
  20. B00nie

    B00nie [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    7,980
    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2012
    You're wrong. Linux is far more stable than Windows and I can choose myself what to update and not. I put my parents on linux for the exact reason. 10 years ago I got sick and tired having to go every other week to deal with the mess of malware and other problems with Windows. After I put them on linux I do one service check per year and that's it.

    Having said that, I did refurbish a Windows10 laptop to my aunt two years ago and it still hasn't croaked.