Windows 10 slow to shut down, BIOS or new windows issue?

Tanquen

Gawd
Joined
Feb 15, 2005
Messages
996
With my newest build installing the latest downloadable image from Microsoft I get a 30-second or so pause when clicking start power shut down. My laptop and VM's shut down immediately. I just did another install of windows and before installing anything it's doing the same thing.

After a new install:

10 seconds before seeing the "Shuting Down" screen.
20 seconds to see the screen go out and another 3 or 4 for the motherboard to power off.

Before this I had seen each step take longer and seen it set with MB power for 15 seconds or so. Very odd.

When I set up the new build a few months ago I don't remember it ever doing this, so is it maybe something in the latest version of Windows?

If I do a restart I get the blue restart screen immediately but it takes just as long to shut down.
 
Last edited:

SmokeRngs

[H]ard|DCer of the Month - April 2008
Joined
Aug 9, 2001
Messages
17,053
The most likely culprit is a background process or program temporarily hanging or taking a while to shut down. I haven't been using Windows for a while now but I remember that Steam used to take a while to shut down gracefully when shutting down the machine or restarting and some other programs would also take a while to shut down. If I manually shut down Steam and other programs before shutting down or restarting the process tended to go a lot faster.
 

Tanquen

Gawd
Joined
Feb 15, 2005
Messages
996
That was my thought too and I've read some posts about similar issues but this is a clean install with no other drives connected and with or without windows updates it does this on the system. I've got a clean install on my old ASUS x79 setup I just did the other day and it doesn't do this. I'm not sure if it's something odd in the motherboard BIOS or perhaps a device on the motherboard. But again the same system didn't seem to do this before. ???
 

ThreeDee

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Sep 5, 2001
Messages
11,176
is this after fully updating windows? .. chipset/NIC/GPU/sound drivers up to date? (going to AMD.com or Intel.com for appropriate chipset/NIC drivers).. BIOS up to date? Does your PC run fine otherwise?
Does it take forever to shut down in safe-mode as well?
..anykind of group policies or similar on your network in effect?
 

B00nie

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Nov 1, 2012
Messages
8,983
With my newest build installing the latest downloadable image from Microsoft I get a 30-second or so pause when clicking start power shut down. My laptop and VM's shut down immediately. I just did another install of windows and before installing anything it's doing the same thing.

After a new install:

10 seconds before seeing the "Shuting Down" screen.
20 seconds to see the screen go out and another 3 or 4 for the motherboard to power off.

Before this I had seen each step take longer and seen it set with MB power for 15 seconds or so. Very odd.

When I set up the new build a few months ago I don't remember it ever doing this, so is it maybe something in the latest version of Windows?

If I do a restart I get the blue restart screen immediately but it takes just as long to shut down.
Unplug all your USB devices and try rebooting again.
 

TheSlySyl

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
May 30, 2018
Messages
1,205
For whatever reason, my shutdown hangup is my torrent program. Takes a good minute+ longer than anything else to shut down if I don't do it manually. Steam also hangs my system on shutdown, but not nearly by as much.
If I shut down qBitTorrent manually, it takes maybe 10 seconds to do so and then windows shuts down pretty much instantly.
 

B00nie

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Nov 1, 2012
Messages
8,983
For whatever reason, my shutdown hangup is my torrent program. Takes a good minute+ longer than anything else to shut down if I don't do it manually. Steam also hangs my system on shutdown, but not nearly by as much.
If I shut down qBitTorrent manually, it takes maybe 10 seconds to do so and then windows shuts down pretty much instantly.
The torrents also jam up your network connection, you have hundreds of clients bombing your host minutes after you close the program...
 

vick1000

2[H]4U
Joined
Sep 15, 2007
Messages
2,254
Don't use your main PC for torrents guys. Build a cheap netbox that you can redeploy quickly, when it gets compromised. Transfer the files with USB media, or seperate networking.
 

ThreeDee

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Sep 5, 2001
Messages
11,176
Don't use your main PC for torrents guys. Build a cheap netbox that you can redeploy quickly, when it gets compromised. Transfer the files with USB media, or seperate networking.
...cheap laptop with gigabit nic :)
 

AVATARAT

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jun 16, 2020
Messages
172
With my newest build installing the latest downloadable image from Microsoft I get a 30-second or so pause when clicking start power shut down. My laptop and VM's shut down immediately. I just did another install of windows and before installing anything it's doing the same thing.

Reinstall your Video Driver and after that start one 'sfc /scannow' ( as admin).
This must fix it.
 

B00nie

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Nov 1, 2012
Messages
8,983
And backing up your porn to the cloud.
I would hate to think that my bandwith could be randomly taken over by a cloud backup without my control. Like when playing a first person shooter, all of the sudden you start to lag because Windoes decides to push data to onedrive.
 

Deadjasper

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Oct 28, 2001
Messages
1,911
I would hate to think that my bandwith could be randomly taken over by a cloud backup without my control. Like when playing a first person shooter, all of the sudden you start to lag because Windoes decides to push data to onedrive.

It won't be long now before you'll have no choices at all. You'll do as MS wants you to do or you won't do at all. The Sheeple are being led to the slaughter and most are totally clueless.
 

B00nie

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Nov 1, 2012
Messages
8,983
It won't be long now before you'll have no choices at all. You'll do as MS wants you to do or you won't do at all. The Sheeple are being led to the slaughter and most are totally clueless.
Doesn't apply to me though as I don't use MS products daily. But for the masses that have been conditioned to accept only one truth... it's going to be a slaughter.
 

Tanquen

Gawd
Joined
Feb 15, 2005
Messages
996
Try unplugging the network cable before shutting down.
I've tried a number of reinstalls of Windows 10 and it still happens. It seems it's something one the motherboard. I wish the BIOS would let you disable more stuff. Can't even disable the unused WiFi and BT.
 

Tanquen

Gawd
Joined
Feb 15, 2005
Messages
996
This morning I decided to go through all the internal connections, drives, CD-ROMs everything. It turns out that the memory card reader has a USB connection to the motherboard and if I disconnect that there's no more slow shutdown and I can also go to file explorer and see all my drive much faster after boot. If I put a memory card in it it seems to be okay or better. There's a million of these 5-1/4 bay adopters out there and I mainly want it for the USB 3.2 ports but it'd be nice if the memory card reader didn't mess stuff up. They're all super cheap throwaways but I don't know if another one would behave properly or not or if there's something about my motherboard and the AMD USB issues they're currently having that's actually causing the issue.
 

Libnok

Weaksauce
Joined
Feb 7, 2021
Messages
107
As with most computer issues, tearing down the machine and adding components one by one is the best way to determine what is causing the issues. Aside from suggesting that, there would have been no way for anyone in the forum to come to the conclusion that you had such an I/O device connected since I didn't see it mentioned anywhere. Glad you seem to have it figured out though. As for the AMD USB issues, the new AGESA supposedly takes care of that and who knows, maybe your I/O issue as well. So, it's just a waiting game now.
 
Top