Windows 10 1903 Unleashed to Public

Discussion in 'HardForum Tech News' started by bigdogchris, May 21, 2019.

  1. bigdogchris

    bigdogchris [H]ard as it Gets

    Messages:
    17,831
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2008

    SOURCE

    Retail Media Creation Utility

    Academic Media Creation Utility
     
    Comixbooks likes this.
  2. odditory

    odditory [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    5,281
    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
  3. Delicieuxz

    Delicieuxz Gawd

    Messages:
    946
    Joined:
    May 11, 2016
    No worries for me, since I'm on LTSC. It will be interesting to see how this one goes, though.
     
    Lakados likes this.
  4. Lakados

    Lakados [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,449
    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2014
    I just did my work one as a test because why not, and it went fine. Settings remained the way they were no issues with domain connectivity and all my shares are still active and drive mappings are in place. No noticeable change, and it didn't take as long as I expected which meant I had to get work done that I was hoping to put off but oh well.
     
    wolfofone and Delicieuxz like this.
  5. bigdogchris

    bigdogchris [H]ard as it Gets

    Messages:
    17,831
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2008
    Just finished my 1903 update from 1809. So far so good. The right click Windows Explorer memory/cpu bug seems to be gone. Also, Firefox is no longer lagging when you close it, which was an issue I think was related to the Explorer bug on 1809.
     
  6. MavericK

    MavericK Zero Cool

    Messages:
    28,654
    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2004
    Yeah, I just found this out as I went to upgrade a new client machine from 1803 to 1809, only to find that the Windows Update Tool only does 1903 now.

    Think I'll wait, just to make sure all the kinks are ironed out first.
     
  7. Lakados

    Lakados [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,449
    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2014
    OK Small change I found when I did the update to one of my virtual machines (google print server) under 1809 with 1 cpu it ran perfectly fine, with 1903 it was pinned and its ram usage went from 2048 well into the 5000's, upping it to 2 CPU's has it again idling at 3-5% cpu and hanging around 1910MB of ram being used. So yeah single core systems beware.
     
  8. bigdogchris

    bigdogchris [H]ard as it Gets

    Messages:
    17,831
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2008
    They did change indexing around, it's possible it's just running through that. Check again tomorrow.

    I also noticed that even as far back as Server 2016, it takes a while for the OS to calm down and be usable. There always seems to be a slight responsiveness issue at first.
     
    JVene, Sulphademus, Armenius and 3 others like this.
  9. Araxie

    Araxie [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    6,344
    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2013
    ^this
     
    Lakados and LightsOut41 like this.
  10. Lakados

    Lakados [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,449
    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2014
    Yeah but in the mean time people were complaining they couldn't print so I just decided to leave it at 2 CPU's but yes I can try to lower it later as a test but I have recently decommissioned 2 VM's on that machine so I have lots of cores to spare.
     
  11. primetime

    primetime [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    5,571
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2005
    well the insider version failed to install on mine last night.....this likely do the same thing...but i can try unpluging all my other drives and see if that helps lol (shouldn't have to do that:wtf:)
     
  12. ManofGod

    ManofGod [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    10,223
    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    I shouldn't have to do anything inconvenient because, you know, my hardware is perfect. :D LOL! Dude, things happen, do you even know what it did not install? After all, the issue you are referring too would not even allow you to start the install.
     
  13. polonyc2

    polonyc2 [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    16,336
    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2004
    will this go smooth or will they pull the update like they did the last 2 major feature updates?
     
  14. ManofGod

    ManofGod [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    10,223
    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Well, it appears that most of what they did on 19H1 was fixes and very few feature updates. (Heck, you know get to choose if you want to install it or not.) In fact, 19H2 is pretty much just going to be a service pack, from what I understand.
     
  15. ManofGod

    ManofGod [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    10,223
    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    It will go smooth but, of course, if there is even the slightest issue, get ready for people to blow up the internet. :D I have been using the 19H1 since about the beginning of March or so in the fast ring and it went quite well.

    They have pretty much put the brakes on quite a bit of the features, at least until 20H1.
     
    GoldenTiger likes this.
  16. LightsOut41

    LightsOut41 Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    438
    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2017
    So do all of these fixes make their way into 1809?
     
  17. polonyc2

    polonyc2 [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    16,336
    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2004
    how is the new Sandbox feature?
     
  18. pendragon1

    pendragon1 [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    12,485
    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2000
    sure, when you update to 1903...





    ive been on it for weeks with insider and haven't had any issue. ymmv...
     
  19. ManofGod

    ManofGod [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    10,223
    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Not sure yet because I do not know how to make it work yet. :D I messed around for a couple of minutes a month or so ago but lost interest, at least for the being. Do you know how to make it work?
     
  20. Zarathustra[H]

    Zarathustra[H] Official Forum Curmudgeon

    Messages:
    27,750
    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2000
    Hmm.

    The Windows install on my moms laptop has shit the bed. I was about to do a clean install of 1809, but I guess now that this is here, I might as well use it.

    I vaguely remember that Windows 10 stores its license somewhere on the hard drive. I was going to create a new partition table so the disk is blank and start from scratch. Will I have licensing issues if I do this?
     
  21. pendragon1

    pendragon1 [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    12,485
    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2000
    not if its tied to a ms account. just install fresh and let it activate itself. if not, pull the key with magic jelly bean and enter it during install. then it will activate when install is done.
     
    wolfofone likes this.
  22. ManofGod

    ManofGod [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    10,223
    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Heck, I do not even have to have a computer tied to a MS Account and Windows will activate. (It just has to be hardware that was already activated, like his mom's laptop.)
     
    wolfofone, GoldenTiger and pendragon1 like this.
  23. polonyc2

    polonyc2 [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    16,336
    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2004
    I just read about the feature but don't have any first hand use...

    Settings > Apps > Apps & Features > Programs and Features > Turn Windows Features on or off, and then select Enable Windows Sandbox.

    To start Windows Sandbox, open the Start menu, enter Windows Sandbox and then select it
     
  24. Zarathustra[H]

    Zarathustra[H] Official Forum Curmudgeon

    Messages:
    27,750
    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2000
    I use local accounts only on all machines I set up. I refuse to have my local machine tied to an online account on Microsofts servers.

    The laptop shipped with Windows 7 though, and was upgraded to 10 at some point, so I can probably just input the Windows 7 key from the label on the bottom (if it is still legible and not completely worn off...)
     
    pendragon1 likes this.
  25. Zarathustra[H]

    Zarathustra[H] Official Forum Curmudgeon

    Messages:
    27,750
    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2000
    I tend to not trust black boxes. I want to understand how it reaches the conclusion that this is an activated machine. Mac address on network adapter + hardware fingerprint stored on MS Servers?
     
  26. pendragon1

    pendragon1 [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    12,485
    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2000
    but its your moms?! yup and the installer will select the correct version to match the key.

    wasn't sure on that one, so good to know.
     
  27. ManofGod

    ManofGod [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    10,223
    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    I know it is a hardware hash but I could not tell you what combination does it. (Probably the mainboard, specifically though.) However, once it is installed cleanly, just make sure you are connected online and it should activate immediately.

    Edit: I had to use my 250 GB Sata SSD to do some cloning a swapping of NVMe drives in 2 of my computers. Once I put the SSD back into my Athlon 5350 mITX system and installed 19H1, it activated without a MS account and without me needing to do anything.
     
    GoldenTiger and pendragon1 like this.
  28. Zarathustra[H]

    Zarathustra[H] Official Forum Curmudgeon

    Messages:
    27,750
    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2000
    WTF.

    All of the local users and accounts settings are gone.

    Windows may just be dead to me now.

    I have always been a proponent of doing all your daily tasks in a regular user account and having a separate admin account for when you need to configure stuff (even if you are the admin).

    I have two local users both admin accounts right now. I need to demote one to a regular user, but I can't find the setting. Heck, I can't even find a listing of local users. It's all gone.



    local.png
     
    Last edited: May 22, 2019
    SvenBent likes this.
  29. pillagenburn

    pillagenburn Gawd

    Messages:
    937
    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2006
    Unleashed TO the public? Or unleashed UPON the public?

    one sounds nice, the other sounds like a biological weapon attack.
     
  30. PeaKr

    PeaKr Gawd

    Messages:
    713
    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2004
  31. Brian_B

    Brian_B 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,615
    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2012
    My understanding was that on legacy BIOS it still used the hardware hash, or link to your MS account. Newer UEFI boards the key could be stored in the motherboard BIOS (very common with OEM keys to make them non-transferable).
     
    wolfofone likes this.
  32. Delicieuxz

    Delicieuxz Gawd

    Messages:
    946
    Joined:
    May 11, 2016
    My experience is that results in a hellish experience if you're a "power user". Even the normal admin account is too restricted for a lot of stuff, I find.
     
  33. OliverQueen

    OliverQueen [H]Lite

    Messages:
    94
    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2019
    Just installed the 1903 update on the new rig & no issues other than a service "Microsoft Push Notification" using almost 100% RAM after rebooting!!! Quickly got that under control by deleting the Notifications folder in "%LOCALAPPDATA%\Microsoft\Windows" under Safe Mode. Explorer feels a bit snappier now with Dark Mode on (seemed to lag a little when opening it under previous builds but it is now instant again). As yet to try reinstalling Adobe CS6 under it to see if that solves the issues I have been having with it closing as soon as a file is created/opened regardless of which program in the suite is used.
     
  34. TheOne&OnlyZeke

    TheOne&OnlyZeke 100% Irish

    Messages:
    10,217
    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2000
    Eh I'll do this tomorrow on my work laptop. If its on par with all the other Feature updates, it'll hose the shit out of the laptop and I'll have to rebuild again
     
  35. ManofGod

    ManofGod [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    10,223
    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Not on mine, just run MMC, add it in and create you own console, quite easily, actually. :)
     
  36. ManofGod

    ManofGod [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    10,223
    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
  37. ManofGod

    ManofGod [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    10,223
    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    In OEM computer, yes, in the bios. However, all newer motherboards are UEFI and at least on my computers, do not store the key in the bios. :)
     
  38. OliverQueen

    OliverQueen [H]Lite

    Messages:
    94
    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2019
    Installed it this morning & reverted back to 1809 10 minutes ago as it 1903 kept launching "Windows Push Notifications Service" on every reboot which ran the memory usage up to 95% constantly for that one service!!! Even after running the "fixes" that I found online, in Safe Mode & deleting the Notifications folder at the location stated in the fixes, it still did the same after a couple of restarts. It also stopped me updating Corsair iCue software as well along with causing CCleaner to stop running after a clean started. Rollback to 1809 & all is well again.

    Now to try to stop it installing itself again via Windows Update.......
     
  39. PeaKr

    PeaKr Gawd

    Messages:
    713
    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2004
    Judging by the downward spiral the windows UI is in its possible m$ axes MMC in some "Feature Update" down the road, right after they change the name feature update to something else. Get used to the command line, it'll be easier when you finally switch to Linux.
     
    qb4ever likes this.
  40. PeaKr

    PeaKr Gawd

    Messages:
    713
    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2004
    Currently Known Issues with Feature Update 1903 (Dumpster Fire):

    Display brightness may not respond to adjustments

    Audio not working with Dolby Atmos headphones and home theater

    Duplicate folders and documents showing in user profile directory

    Error attempting to update with external USB device or memory card attached

    Unable to discover or connect to Bluetooth devices

    Night light settings do not apply in some cases

    Intel Audio displays an intcdaud.sys notification

    Cannot launch Camera app

    Intermittent loss of Wi-Fi connectivity

    AMD RAID driver incompatibility

    D3D applications and games may fail to enter full-screen mode on rotated displays

    Older versions of BattlEye anti-cheat software incompatible​
     
    qb4ever, the901, AthlonXP and 3 others like this.