Win7 Prem upgrade - keep old vista install?

LittleMeEgo

Limp Gawd
Hello [H]ard|Forum,

I want to finally upgrade Vista Home Premium to to Win7 Home Premium. I see the upgrade edition is $90 on various places. Can I install the upgrade edition to a different partition and keep my old Vista install working simultaneously along side Win7? When I upgrade does MS somehow tie the old Vista key with the new Win7 key and deactivate Windows Update or something for my old Vista install? I know the upgrade edition will do a clean install, but I'm wondering what happens to my Vista key.

I don't want to reformat my HDD's and I don't want to upgrade my Vista install. I've been using Windows for 18 years now and am not comfortable with the upgrade process. I have tons of software & stuff installed in Vista so that's why I want to start Win7 with a fresh install, but still buy the upgrade and be able to reboot into Vista whenever I want.

Thanks!

ps. I have a partition already set aside for Win7. Well actually I have an expired 30 day evaluation of Win7 already installed on that partition. Should I just purchase the upgrade from that expired Win7 install? Will that work? It will ask me for my old Vista key?

Hello [H]ard|Forum,

I want to finally upgrade Vista Home Premium to to Win7 Home Premium. I see the upgrade edition is $90 on various places. Can I install the upgrade edition to a different partition and keep my old Vista install working simultaneously along side Win7? When I upgrade does MS somehow tie the old Vista key with the new Win7 key and deactivate Windows Update or something for my old Vista install? I know the upgrade edition will do a clean install, but I'm wondering what happens to my Vista key.
Legally you can not. Technically there is nothing stopping you from doing it. Since the Update version can be cleaned installed there is no way for Microsoft to know what you Vista key is even if they wanted to. I suggest paying $20 more for a full OEM version.