Win10 Pro - Unable to prevent auto reboot after update

Discussion in 'Operating Systems' started by Hornet, Oct 11, 2017.

  1. Hornet

    Hornet [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    6,638
    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2005
    Following online guides, I've disabled the Reboot task in Update Orchestrator.
    But today I found my PC automatically rebooted after some patching.:banghead:

    The Reboot task status showed it is disable, but the last run date indicated that it was run, with some error code in the last run result

    I guess there's something I missed here?

    I've seen it being mention that Windows may automatically enable this Reboot task again, which I did saw once in the past.
    But this time, it wasn't the case. It remained disable, yet it was executed.

    Would appreciate any help here. Thanks
     
  2. naib

    naib Gawd

    Messages:
    687
    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2013
    microsoft knows best with regards to the pc so let them manage that autoboot
     
    Simmonz likes this.
  3. B00nie

    B00nie [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    6,281
    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2012
    Also, windows guidelines do not include automatic state save on open software so Microsoft knows people will lose their unsaved work during the reboot. That's one of the things I love about my macbook - I can reboot it without having fear of losing my work data. And apps automatically launch back to the same state after the reboot.
     
    Simmonz likes this.
  4. jwcalla

    jwcalla 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,587
    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2011
    The only way I've been able to get around this is to disable the Windows Update service altogether. And you know what that means... but that's the only thing you can do if you actually have to do work for a living.
     
  5. AltTabbins

    AltTabbins I Post [H]ere Way Too Much

    Messages:
    16,908
    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2005
    I thought in the most recent major version they fixed this and gave periodic prompts asking the user to reboot.
     
  6. kirbyrj

    kirbyrj Why oh why didn't I take the BLUE pill?

    Messages:
    21,901
    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2005
    They actually took that away and now just reboot.
     
  7. kirbyrj

    kirbyrj Why oh why didn't I take the BLUE pill?

    Messages:
    21,901
    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2005
    I'm in the opposite boat. I'd rather some software NOT restart itself. When Windows reboots for an update, it brings up the last used programs that were running even if they aren't normally scheduled for startup. What a PITA.
     
  8. B00nie

    B00nie [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    6,281
    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2012
    There's a setting for that naturally. If you don't want them reopened they don't. I usually have 10-20 documents open on the desktop which I have to reference during work so it's extremely convenient they reopen on restart.
     
  9. AltTabbins

    AltTabbins I Post [H]ere Way Too Much

    Messages:
    16,908
    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2005
    I love how they made such a huge deal out of it like they were doing us a giant favor and listened to the public’s feedback. I’m pretty active in keeping up with windows news and this flew under my radar.
     
  10. -PK-

    -PK- [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,742
    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2004
  11. BulletDust

    BulletDust [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    5,803
    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2016
    When it comes to operating systems, my preference goes Linux, macOS, old school Windows followed by Windows 10 (by a large margin) - But I have to say B00nie, I find that auto resume feature under macOS really annoying and always disable it!

    When I boot my machine from cold I like everything 'clean and fresh' - Each to their own though! ;)
     
  12. Romale23

    Romale23 Gawd

    Messages:
    880
    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2006
    Is there some version of windows 10 that does this? because neither of my two installs reboot on their own.
     
  13. B00nie

    B00nie [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    6,281
    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2012
    I prefer to close my applications when I don't need them anymore, not when the OS decides to shut them.
     
  14. BulletDust

    BulletDust [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    5,803
    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2016
    I never turn my Mac off, I just put it to sleep. Having said that my Mac is a desktop machine, things would be different for a MacBook I suppose.
     
  15. KarsusTG

    KarsusTG 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,417
    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2010
    Same boat. In fact, not only can you not prevent the reboot, but every time I disable the auto update hardware drivers, some update will come along and change it back. Several times I have been in the middle of a project only to have my video card get uninstalled mid typing, then fail to re-install.

    I wish that Autocad worked on Linux, because it's the only reason I have to deal with windows at all.
     
  16. BulletDust

    BulletDust [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    5,803
    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2016
    Setting this correctly:

    [​IMG]

    As well as this:

    [​IMG]

    May help.
     
    Spartacus likes this.
  17. BulletDust

    BulletDust [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    5,803
    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2016
    The auto driver update feature simply doesn't work and needs to be removed. The old rule "if it ain't broke, don't fix it" applies in this scenario, especially with so little control over how the process works, especially in the case of Windows 10 Home.
     
  18. ManofGod

    ManofGod [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    8,210
    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    I have no issues with someone not liking what happened with their computer automatically rebooting. However, you are incorrect, no such thing happened.
     
  19. kirbyrj

    kirbyrj Why oh why didn't I take the BLUE pill?

    Messages:
    21,901
    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2005
    I can't find it...it just reboots and doesn't ask on win 10 pro during "inactive hours" even when downloads are occuring. It used to ask on previous builds for up to 30 days or so.
     
  20. BulletDust

    BulletDust [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    5,803
    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2016
    What version of W10 are you running? As shown in my screen shots it's definitely there.