Win 11 pro's? con's? opinions?

ManofGod

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Oct 4, 2007
Messages
12,512
Well, I am giving it a try on my only Windows 10 install I have at home. Since it is just a gaming computer only, I am interested in trying direct storage and Auto HDR. Oh, and I am sick of the ribbon bar and start menu tiles, both which used to be useful but now are just an eyesore.
 

Lakados

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Feb 3, 2014
Messages
4,964
lol i looked at that an hour or so ago and said "too much effort, screw it". so i put the cloudready drive back in. not gonna be able to try again as today was my last day there. unless they hire me back in the fall...
I was looking at it because I was contemplating installing 11 on a 2013 mac I have sitting here that I just replaced the M.2 on as it was blank, but I came across the posts about audio issues saw that and was all, "nah, I don't go the time for this shit"

Good luck in the fall!
 

pendragon1

Extremely [H]
Joined
Oct 7, 2000
Messages
35,983
I was looking at it because I was contemplating installing 11 on a 2013 mac I have sitting here that I just replaced the M.2 on as it was blank, but I came across the posts about audio issues saw that and was all, "nah, I don't go the time for this shit"

Good luck in the fall!
ive put w10 onto imacs and mac minis from that time without issue, and they run great with an ssd and 8GB upgrade. it was just that 2012 macbook pro that i couldnt get working. i imagine win11 would work fine, its just w10 with a new mask.

thanks! i just have to decide if i want to take part in the coming shit-show they are building, the job is basically guaranteed. nobody wants to listen to the people that know what they are talking about and they are setting themselves up for disaster. like the one, i mean ONE, guy that has full control over our jamf setup just packed it in because he couldnt take the criticism. but thats a rant for another thread.....
 

Executioner

Limp Gawd
Joined
Apr 22, 2015
Messages
507
I downloaded the leaked ISO and installed it using VirtualBox using the Pro version of 11. It actually installed about 20% faster than 10 in this VM. I like the desktop. Reminds me of a Linux distro. This installed fine in this old Dell E6540 laptop. It never complained about being not compatible (i.e. CPU or TPM).
 

BlackDragon1971

Limp Gawd
Joined
Dec 24, 2012
Messages
161
I got Windows 11 Pro Build 22000.1 installed on a 2nd SSD last night... don't mind the dual boot hijinks, I can wipe the drive later. Updated to Cumulative Update to Build 22000.51.
It works on an Intel 6850k x99 Deluxe II w/ Asus TPM-M R2.0 module. Just had to extract and build an .ISO off the MS servers instead of through Windows Update upgrade. Youtuber Enderman has a link on one of his recent videos. Mounted the ISO of Build 22000.1 and did a normal Windows Upgrade through the desktop.... worked even though my CPU is 6th Gen.
Yes, I'm a Windows Insider.
 
Last edited:

BlackDragon1971

Limp Gawd
Joined
Dec 24, 2012
Messages
161
I got Windows 11 Pro Build 22000.1 installed on a 2nd SSD last night... don't mind the dual boot hijinks, I can wipe the drive later. Updated to Cumulative Update to Build 22000.51.
It works on an Intel 6850k x99 Deluxe II w/ Asus TPM-M R2.0 module. Just had to extract and build an .ISO off the MS servers instead of through Windows Update upgrade. Youtuber Enderman has a link on one of his recent videos. Mounted the ISO of Build 22000.1 and did a normal Windows Upgrade through the desktop.... worked even though my CPU is 6th Gen.
Yes, I'm a Windows Insider.
My issue wasn't that setting Insider to the Dev Channel wouldn't state that my computer didn't meet Minimum Requirements. I tried the Windows Update Win 11 Upgrade... it tried to do the Upgrade, but on Boot the Install failed initially. So I figured I'd try it if I could get my hands on the ISO off the MS server. Found a way through Youtuber Enderman's videos to build an ISO out of the UUP directory through a command line operation... took a bit to do, but after in my Downloads Folder I had an ISO of Build 22000.1 of the MS servers.
 

BlackDragon1971

Limp Gawd
Joined
Dec 24, 2012
Messages
161
My issue wasn't that setting Insider to the Dev Channel wouldn't state that my computer didn't meet Minimum Requirements and not allow me to install... it would allow me to install. I tried the Windows Update Win 11 Upgrade... it tried to do the Upgrade, but on Boot the Install failed initially. So I figured I'd try it if I could get my hands on the ISO off the MS server. Found a way through Youtuber Enderman's videos to build an ISO out of the UUP directory through a command line operation... took a bit to do, but after in my Downloads Folder I had an ISO of Build 22000.1 of the MS servers.
 

CrimsonKnight13

Lord Stabington of [H]ard|Fortress
Joined
Jan 8, 2008
Messages
8,138
UUPdump is the best way to go if you want to build the newest dev build at any time (which I believe that someone stated earlier). They also have a local dev server package for this in case there are issues with downloading the UUP files.
 

Domingo

Fully [H]
Joined
Jul 30, 2004
Messages
20,262
I installed everything on my machine this morning and it was actually pretty painless. I joined the Dev channel and that was that.
So far I'm okay with it. I wish the start menu didn't have this huge section blocked off for "recommended" apps. I don't want the system to recommend anything - I want that real estate for more shortcuts. Disabling that doesn't seem to do anything, either.
Focus assist and Windows Defender seem to randomly enable and disable themselves after rebooting. Renaming folders that are part of your "All Programs" list takes a while (or even a reboot) to take effect. In fact, lots of things related to that start menu seem to want a reboot to kick in...including pinning things to the start menu.
Not sure if it's because I modded my Win10 install or not, but right clicking the start menu DOES allow me to get to the Control Panel in a single click.
DTS:X is now baked into the sound panel (in addition to Atmos), which is kinda neat.
Overall, I think it seems fine. I'm probably just going to keep using it unless something straight-up doesn't work. Lots of things don't seem to be fully functional, but nothing is straight-up broken yet.
 

pendragon1

Extremely [H]
Joined
Oct 7, 2000
Messages
35,983
Renaming folders that are part of your "All Programs" list takes a while (or even a reboot) to take effect. In fact, lots of things related to that start menu seem to want a reboot to kick in...including pinning things to the start menu.
restart explorer via task manager and it should make the change take effect.

but right clicking the start menu DOES allow me to get to the Control Panel in a single click
if you could remember how you did it, it'd make quit a few people happy...

Overall, I think it seems fine. I'm probably just going to keep using it unless something straight-up doesn't work. Lots of things don't seem to be fully functional, but nothing is straight-up broken yet.
everything i had installed seems to work fine. everything ive tried installing works just fine. yeah they said some things are just at the start of implementation and will get fixed/improved as they get closer to release. it is a dev build after all.

edited speeling
 
Last edited:

primetime

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Aug 17, 2005
Messages
7,166
I'm getting close to restoring my win 10 image.....had about 3 or 4 glitch's so far....it's certainly an alpha build so we'll see
 

primetime

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Aug 17, 2005
Messages
7,166
thats kinda vague...
start menu would stop working and id have to hit restart on pc or actually hold the power off all the while mouse curser was fine most times i think.....thing is this NEVER happened with win 10...idk does could restarting explorer help...but how to do that if task manager wont even come up? those kind of glitch's
 

pendragon1

Extremely [H]
Joined
Oct 7, 2000
Messages
35,983
start menu would stop working and id have to hit restart on pc or actually hold the power off all the while mouse curser was fine most times i think.....thing is this NEVER happened with win 10...idk does could restarting explorer help...but how to do that if task manager wont even come up? those kind of glitch's
ive had a couple odd mouse cursor glitches. one where it disappeared and moving quickly all over the screen brought it back. and once where the cursor and clicking point where offset by like an inch, down and to the left. again, rapid movement made it go back to normal.
 

CrimsonKnight13

Lord Stabington of [H]ard|Fortress
Joined
Jan 8, 2008
Messages
8,138
Could any of those glitches be CPU instructions related? If one were to use a below spec CPU, might there be diminishing returns?
 

primetime

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Aug 17, 2005
Messages
7,166
my system is "certified", got the upgrade from windows update
is it same build as mine or what?
Capture.JPG
 

primetime

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Aug 17, 2005
Messages
7,166
alright win update failed the insider install so i just dl the newer iso lol......yea i see more than a few changes from last build
Capture.JPG
 

primetime

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Aug 17, 2005
Messages
7,166
see how that one goes. report any glitches before you pack it in though, if you do.
start menu or explorer? still freezing up even on this new build......woke up this morning and mouse worked fine but couldnt click start menu or task manager......had it playing a movie with svp when i went to sleep with low volume....now before i manually updated to this build i tried the normal win update way and it tried 3 times by first updating amd driver first? why that first but it always gave some kind of driver mismatch error and would never install...then it would dl the newer win build and of course that said opps and failed too. lol this is the exact reason i left insider last time.

what ever issue i had with last build followed me to this one it seems. Generally speaking i like the new look and feel, and ill keep it if i can work out whats causing the start menu/ explorer freezing up.
 

pendragon1

Extremely [H]
Joined
Oct 7, 2000
Messages
35,983
start menu or explorer? still freezing up even on this new build......woke up this morning and mouse worked fine but couldnt click start menu or task manager......had it playing a movie with svp when i went to sleep with low volume....now before i manually updated to this build i tried the normal win update way and it tried 3 times by first updating amd driver first? why that first but it always gave some kind of driver mismatch error and would never install...then it would dl the newer win build and of course that said opps and failed too. lol this is the exact reason i left insider last time.

what ever issue i had with last build followed me to this one it seems. Generally speaking i like the new look and feel, and ill keep it if i can work out whats causing the start menu/ explorer freezing up.
installed any 3rd party background running apps, a/v, mobo control suites, monitoring etc?
 

primetime

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Aug 17, 2005
Messages
7,166
installed any 3rd party background running apps, a/v, mobo control suites, monitoring etc?

SVP 4.0, Both Creative newer control panels, Park Control, Netgear wifi, Afterburner and rtss, CoreTemp, and Actual Window Minimizer (never actually even loaded that one)
Guess i can try closing stuff one at a time to find what doesnt agree with 11
 

Domingo

Fully [H]
Joined
Jul 30, 2004
Messages
20,262
After tinkering with it for a day, I've found lots of little issues, mainly related to the Start menu. It's incredibly slow to refresh, certain folder names (like "Windows Accessories") don't show up in All Users vs. a specific user. With the whole "Recommended" section being forced upon us right now, it kinda makes the Start Menu pretty clumsy. Hopefully we can eventually resize this thing and add more shortcuts.

Icon-wise, my BR drive icon still looks like a Win10 icon while my two hard drives are displayed in the new style. I recall Win8 having this issue back in the day, which is the last other instance where MS changed all of the icons. I think I had to regedit to fix it back then, but this version is too new for anyone to have posted instructions yet.

The widgets menu is interesting. Feels like that the replacement for live tiles and the news/weather taskbar app in Windows 10, but it's a little clumsy to use. Lots of different interest topics (and sports like boxing and MMA) aren't available for newsfeeds.

On the plus side, gaming is 100% fine. Maybe even better depending on your setup? AC Valhalla has been running especially smooth for me and I've had no crashes, which is nice. No issues with anything else I've played, either.
 

pendragon1

Extremely [H]
Joined
Oct 7, 2000
Messages
35,983
After tinkering with it for a day, I've found lots of little issues, mainly related to the Start menu. It's incredibly slow to refresh, certain folder names (like "Windows Accessories") don't show up in All Users vs. a specific user. With the whole "Recommended" section being forced upon us right now, it kinda makes the Start Menu pretty clumsy. Hopefully we can eventually resize this thing and add more shortcuts.

Icon-wise, my BR drive icon still looks like a Win10 icon while my two hard drives are displayed in the new style. I recall Win8 having this issue back in the day, which is the last other instance where MS changed all of the icons. I think I had to regedit to fix it back then, but this version is too new for anyone to have posted instructions yet.

The widgets menu is interesting. Feels like that the replacement for live tiles and the news/weather taskbar app in Windows 10, but it's a little clumsy to use. Lots of different interest topics (and sports like boxing and MMA) aren't available for newsfeeds.

On the plus side, gaming is 100% fine. Maybe even better depending on your setup? AC Valhalla has been running especially smooth for me and I've had no crashes, which is nice. No issues with anything else I've played, either.
only "issue" ive had is interface glitchiness, everything else seems to run just fine. make sure to give feedback on issue and gripes though, thats the whole point of insider.
 

Domingo

Fully [H]
Joined
Jul 30, 2004
Messages
20,262
I think it seems to be fine for most daily use machines, even right now. But that Start Menu is pretty annoying with 1/2 your real-estate being taken up by that stupid "Recommend" section. Once they let you free that up (I'm assuming they will) and hopefully resize things, I can see it being a step up from Win10. In the Feedback Hub, the request to get rid of that section is far and away the largest thread for Win 11. Feels odd that it's even there, honestly.
I do have to admit that I miss Live Tiles for apps like Weather, Email, and Calendar, though. Live Tiles were worthless 95% of the time, but pretty helpful for a few programs. Widgets aren't really the same since you have to actively look in that section.

I think I'm going to stick this preview out unless I run into a game that won't run or something, though. I'm more or less adjusted to it, now.
 

primetime

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Aug 17, 2005
Messages
7,166
I think it seems to be fine for most daily use machines, even right now. But that Start Menu is pretty annoying with 1/2 your real-estate being taken up by that stupid "Recommend" section. Once they let you free that up (I'm assuming they will) and hopefully resize things, I can see it being a step up from Win10. In the Feedback Hub, the request to get rid of that section is far and away the largest thread for Win 11. Feels odd that it's even there, honestly.
I do have to admit that I miss Live Tiles for apps like Weather, Email, and Calendar, though. Live Tiles were worthless 95% of the time, but pretty helpful for a few programs. Widgets aren't really the same since you have to actively look in that section.

I think I'm going to stick this preview out unless I run into a game that won't run or something, though. I'm more or less adjusted to it, now.
its far from perfect for sure....but it is something new to mess around with...i agree gaming has been as good as 10 in every way so far....so at least there is that.
 

philb2

Limp Gawd
Joined
May 26, 2021
Messages
466
I used to worry a lot about pre-releases of Windows, but now I find that I am so busy with other projects, that I have no time to properly evaluate a pre-release. I'm sure that there will be many, many changes, as well as bug fixes and new features, by the time my systems are eligible for upgrade.
 

Niner21

Limp Gawd
Joined
Aug 26, 2018
Messages
394
I've been running Windows 11 on my main PC since it was available from the insider program, and I like it so far. I only notice on certain settings pages that the text goes away so I'm looking at a blank page, but moving the cursor around usually helps with that issue. Ended up doing a fresh install after swapping out motherboards and that went flawlessly as well.
 

philb2

Limp Gawd
Joined
May 26, 2021
Messages
466
I've been running Windows 11 on my main PC since it was available from the insider program, and I like it so far. I only notice on certain settings pages that the text goes away so I'm looking at a blank page, but moving the cursor around usually helps with that issue. Ended up doing a fresh install after swapping out motherboards and that went flawlessly as well.
I guess you have a very different philosophy from me. It's not about who is right, we both are. It's about what is right for YOU as an individual.
 

chithanh

Gawd
Joined
Oct 18, 2010
Messages
932
ive got it running on a 2012 macbook pro, works fine except audio, which was an issue with 10 too... its quad i5-3210m/4GB/120GB.
ive put w10 onto imacs and mac minis from that time without issue,
I know of a similar issue with late 2012 iMac 27" and it was just that the default HD Audio drivers in Windows don't work with the Cirrus audio chipset. Switching to the Cirrus drivers from Apple Boot Camp driver support packs (even if you installed Windows natively and not via Boot Camp) fixed it.

If your MacBook has a Realtek audio chipset, then you may need to download one of the older Boot Camp driver packs which still include Realtek drivers, or download from Realtek website directly.
 

pendragon1

Extremely [H]
Joined
Oct 7, 2000
Messages
35,983
I know of a similar issue with late 2012 iMac 27" and it was just that the default HD Audio drivers in Windows don't work with the Cirrus audio chipset. Switching to the Cirrus drivers from Apple Boot Camp driver support packs (even if you installed Windows natively and not via Boot Camp) fixed it.

If your MacBook has a Realtek audio chipset, then you may need to download one of the older Boot Camp driver packs which still include Realtek drivers, or download from Realtek website directly.
totally different unit

its cirrus but nothing work except starting with win7/8, getting it working and then upgrading to 10. not worth the effort when i was just playing.
 

Don_1

Gawd
Joined
Mar 16, 2000
Messages
688
I went back to Windows 10 LTSC after I was having trouble with prime video, and Windows defender would have to be restarted after every reboot, and a couple of other annoyances' of randomness'.

Will attempt again on the next dev build.
 

Domingo

Fully [H]
Joined
Jul 30, 2004
Messages
20,262
Defender was acting up for me initially, but it normalized after dismissing a warning about it not being enabled. Everything is on and working fine now, but I think they actually reversed the dismiss/enable buttons.
Tinkering with the Personalization options is another area that has issues. Nothing serious, but toggling light/dark mode and choosing accent colors can bog things down. Eventually it'll just stop responding. In fact, the settings menus in general seem to be a little slow and they get progressively slower and less responsive the longer you stay in them. Nothing huge and something you'll probably only mess with on occasion, but issues nonetheless.
It'll be interesting to see how much gets fixed between now and the release. I installed one of the Betas for Windows 10 and 1/2 the issues I remember eye-rolling in that beta stuck around for the RTM version.
 
Top